We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings about this one”
Review of Apex Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Apex Inn
Ranked #49 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings about this one”
Reviewed August 14, 2008

Unfortunately, we needed to stay in South Lake Tahoe at the last minute and we needed to be there the weekend of Hot August Nights. So all lodging was outrageously expensive, if you could find an open room. Apex Inn was no exception. The room was tiny and old but basically clean. We paid a very, very high price for a room of this type and it's not in a great location. It's right on Highway 50 coming into town and on the opposite side of town from most restaurants, casinos, Heavenly, etc. And because it's on Highway 50, it can be a tiny bit noisy. Also, they advertised a hot tub and discount coupons but the hot tub was turned off and they told us it wasn't available to guests. The coupons were available during the off season only. Also, we went to get an extra pillow in the evening and the office was closed. Not very helpful. Again, clean, decent room and probably it's very cheap when there isn't an event going on. We probably won't go back.

  • Liked — clean
  • Disliked — not very convenient to anything and rooms were just so-so.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walnutcreekgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    16
    15
    6
    7
See reviews for
12
23
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2008

After reading all the reviews on here, my boyfriend and I decided to stay here for one night on a snowboarding trip. You can't beat the deal. It was freezing cold but the heater worked great.
The room is a decent size for what you pay for, nice big bathroom, microwave and fridge in the room. Very clean.
I saw a lot of the reviews mentioned the walls being thin, so we brought ear plugs, but we couldn't hear too much noise. Just the neighbors tv in the morning.
The staff was very nice and kindly held my pillows for me until some friends could pick them up because I left them there.

I would recommend this place to anyone, especially those on a budget. Can't beat the rate for Tahoe!

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmberRiot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin_M_J
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 29, 2008

I read some other trip advisor reviews about Apex Inn and they were all very positive. In addition the price was amazing for Lake Tahoe so I decided to book it. First of all I'd like to say that the staff was extremely polite, helpful and eager to help. Please believe the reviews that say the walls are paper thin and you WILL get noise "bleed through". If you are a light sleeper you definitely need to look elsewhere. The room however, was very clean, and had a good sized microwave and refrigerator. The heater was a bit tricky but it worked at least half the time. Not an issue in the spring, summer and fall...but oh boy...in winter! All in all I appreciate places like the Apex Inn; they make ski trips affordable for everyone.

  • Liked — The price made it a fantastic bargain.
  • Disliked — The heater did not work through the night.
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin_M_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, AZ
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2007

My wife and I liked this motel, but only because of the inexpensive rate we paid. The room is small, the bathroom clean, and the front desk very helpful, but sounds carry between rooms, so hope you have quiet neighbors. Neither my wife or I liked the bed, but of course bed comfort is a matter of individual taste. The front desk recommended the pizza place across the street and we enjoyed dinner there. The motel does not provide breakfast.

  • Liked — Cost
  • Disliked — Thin walls, small room
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank flagtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2007

After having a terrible experience last year booking a room at the last minute for my annual President's Day weekend snowboard trip (without consulting TripAdvisor), I made sure to check TripAdvisor well in advance for a nice and inexpensive place to rest my head and I found it at the Apex Inn.

The staff are friendly and accomodating. I really do not think I have ever met a hotel staff more friendly and willing to accomodate any reasonable request I might have had (more coffee, towels, that kind of thing). I really sincerely enjoyed dealing with them.

The room I booked was small and very simple but it was clean. In fact, despite the age of this highway side motor lodge, it was obvious that the owners cared about making sure the rooms did not show that age. My room appeared to be freshly painted and carpeted and the bathroom also had fresh paint, linoleum and tile in the small shower. The sheets and bedding were fresh and soft and clean. The windows in the rooms do face the parking lot so if you are a light sleeper (I'm not) then you might want to bring along some ear plugs to keep from being woken by the early risers.

If you are looking for luxury accomodations, head over to the fancy casino hotels and pay their price. But if you want someplace clean and friendly at a reasonable rate to rest your weary head after a long day on the slopes and you want to be near the mountain and near South Lake, this is the place for you.

  • Liked — It was clean and inexpensive!
  • Disliked — I wish I'd booked another night!
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san jose ca
1 review
Reviewed February 4, 2007

nice and clean room room nice and wram heater works very good and family are very nice good price we got to go to this motel.wi-fi wireless internet work very good.bed was very nice and clean.bathroom very clean and good bath supply nice and clean towel.

  • Liked — nice
  • Disliked — nice
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mmmmmmmmmmmmmmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
benicia,calif
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2007

Long time since my family was in tahoe but how great it was to pick this place. We were on our first ski weekend in a long time, and our friend told us to stay here. Rooms was great and very clean espically the bathrooms, and the sheets & pillows, were just like home. Room was warm & cozy and just far enough off the beaten path to get a great night's sleep. I can't say enough about the staff they were so kind & nice to us and we were treated just like family something you never see at other motels, they really made this place a place you want to stay at, unstead of some of the other motels in downtown south lake tahoe. We of course used tripadvisor before we made our 2 day reservation's like we always do when we our going away. I would recommend this place to all as this is one of the best places our family has ever stay at., we will be back again. Thank You

  • Liked — Very clean rooms & great staff
  • Disliked — Heater sometimes was noisey & but we could live with it as it was very Cold
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank nickent55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
4.1 mi away
The Trailhead
The Trailhead
#46 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
4.0 mi away
Econo Lodge Heavenly Village Area
Econo Lodge Heavenly Village Are...
#52 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
3.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.7 mi away
Matterhorn Motel
Matterhorn Motel
#30 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Motel 6 South Lake Tahoe
Motel 6 South Lake Tahoe
#37 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aerie Lodge
Aerie Lodge
#10 of 17 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
0.2 mi away
High Country Lodge
High Country Lodge
#16 of 17 in South Lake Tahoe
3.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex Inn

Property: Apex Inn
Address: 1171 Emerald Bay Rd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6273
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Apex Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Apex Inn is conveniently located on Emerald Bay Road, Hwy Fifty-Eighty-Nine. in beautiful South Lake Tahoe. We offer clean, quiet non smoking rooms in a serene Alpine setting near the campgrounds. We are also near restaurants, shopping, ski resorts and other Lake Tahoe activities. Come stay with us and enjoy South Lake Tahoe in comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Apex Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex Hotel Lake Tahoe
Apex Motel Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing