We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“TERRIFIC VALUE!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Apex Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Apex Inn
Ranked #48 of 68 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Sausalito, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“TERRIFIC VALUE!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

I stayed at the Apex Inn for a few days for the Fall colors in South Lake Tahoe. You can't bet the location.. well placed to get up early for dawn over Emerald Bay, or a short drive down to Hope Valley for the Fall colors at their best. It is extremely inexpensive for what you get.. I had a nice clean room with two beds, fridge, microwave, table and chairs, kitchen supplies and coffee maker. very quiet as it is a bit back off the road. Also - next door to the best Italian restaurant in the area and great pizza place across the street. After a long day of driving around, being able to walk to dinner is a real plus. Very nice family from Western India run it and keep it quite clean and cozy. Highly recommend the Apex Inn!

Room Tip: ask for one of the rooms in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RudiDundas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    16
    14
    6
    6
See reviews for
12
22
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gilroy, CA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

This is our second time staying here. Totally love our room. Same room as last time. A love the location and everything about this room. . We love the upstairs rooms because you get a mini fridge, microwave and coffee put in your room. We will be back again next month.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GilroyBikerGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

A nice clean room - I had a king size bed which was very comfortable. Everyone associated with the motel was friendly and very helpful. The price was very reasonable and I thought it was quite a bargain - half what I would have paid at other places I looked at. When I arrived my room was warm - it was about 93 degrees outside - but the A/C cooled off the room in no time.

I could not hear any outside noise nor noise from the rooms next to mine - TV had plenty of channels to choose from -

I would stay here again -

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wabeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern NV
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

We needed a cheap room for a quick overnight stay in South Lake Tahoe. Apex was listed on booking.com and was $20 less than the neighboring Motel 6 so I booked a room. We found the room to be clean. There was fresh paint on the walls of our room and a recently renovated bathroom. The bed, however, was horrible. The outside of the hotel is typical motor lodge but the ownership has provided a nice outside area with clean common areas, a spa, a common BBQ and a nice patio area with benches and chairs. I found the front desk service to be lacking and am always disappointed when you have to haggle over a pre-booked reservation.

Room Tip: Hotel is close to several very good restaurants. Try to get rooms towards the back near the spa to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freedog96150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these South Lake Tahoe hotels

Gilroy, CA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

I wanted to go away for Memorial Day weekend and I knew everyplace was expensive. What a surprise when I found this place right on Hwy 50. It's not fancy but it's nice for the price. There is a great Italian restaurant next door.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GilroyBikerGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2011

Beware of the Continental Breakfast- one of those packaged pastries you buy in a huge box at Costco. The hotel is really an old motor court with tiny rooms. The price was too high for such a tiny place and such weak breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 843traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2011

Great restaurants nearby. Friendly service. I will definitely come back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nestor F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
4.2 mi away
No photo provided
National 9 Inn - South Lake Taho...
#47 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
4.0 mi away
Econo Lodge Heavenly Village Area
Econo Lodge Heavenly Village Are...
#53 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
3.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
4.6 mi away
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
#35 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Matterhorn Motel
Matterhorn Motel
#29 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
1.0 mi away
Motel 6 South Lake Tahoe
Motel 6 South Lake Tahoe
#40 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
3.3 mi away
Days Inn South Lake Tahoe
Days Inn South Lake Tahoe
#50 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
3.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex Inn

Property: Apex Inn
Address: 1171 Emerald Bay Rd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6273
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 68 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Apex Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Apex Inn is conveniently located on Emerald Bay Road, Hwy Fifty-Eighty-Nine. in beautiful South Lake Tahoe. We offer clean, quiet non smoking rooms in a serene Alpine setting near the campgrounds. We are also near restaurants, shopping, ski resorts and other Lake Tahoe activities. Come stay with us and enjoy South Lake Tahoe in comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Apex Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex Hotel Lake Tahoe
Apex Motel Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing