We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable rooms at great prices.”
Review of Apex Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Apex Inn
Ranked #42 of 65 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Reviewed September 7, 2011

Great restaurants nearby. Friendly service. I will definitely come back.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nestor F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (68)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 68 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2011

We stayed at apex inn. This summer time. We enjoyed our stay.apex inn provide very clean and nice room.wi fi works great .

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krishie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2011

This was one of the best Budget hotels I have ever stayed at, anywhere. I am a travel writter so I have a lot to compare. The reception staff was nice, the room was clean, smelled good, everything worked. The have in roon coffee maker and fridge. The best thing after the good rate is... they plough the snow out of the parking lot and provide you with brushes to get your car out after a snowy night. The room's size could be classified as cozy. This is exactly what you need if you are skiing during the day and need a place to sleep, that is pleasant, clean, quiet and affordable!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim_AJ_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2010

Stayed here over the weekend. Arrived late with no problems checking in. WiFi available but was slow. Booked a 2 double-bed room which came with a small TV, microwave, mini-fridge, small table, and one chair. No problems with the heater. The room is supposed to fit upto 4 people, but felt it would be too small for 4 adults. The bathroom was small, had only a small shower stall (no bathtub); the inn provided shampoo packets, lotion packets and facial soap. Other reviews had mentioned thin walls, but it's hard to tell since no one was staying in the room next to us or below us. Overall, it's a very basic inn with a convenient location.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bayareagal2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2010

Small but friendly, clean and neat. The Apex was a wonderful solution for our family vacation. Half of our family was camping at the Encore RV Park, but we didn't have camping equipment. We were able to stay at the Apex Inn and walk a very short distance (1/10 of a mile) to the campground. Best of all, our rooms had AC, so in the evenings, we could get away and cool off. Next door to a wonderful Italian place and across the street from the best pizza I've ever had.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erinautical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2010

rooms are small, but very clean. location a bit off from heavenly, but convenient if you ski at kirkwood. for the money paid definitely a good deal, and there is restaurants in walking distance!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BlaSchwafel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2009

We had stayed in South Lake Tahoe from Christmas thru Jan 2nd and on our way out of the Tahoe area we got car problems. Our snowchains broke and ripped the brake line. No fun, especially not with a 3 year and 9 month old.

We were towed back to South Lake Tahoe and tried to find a hotel for the night. The hotel we had stayed the week was full and it appeared very difficult to find a hotelroom with 2 beds that night. We called the Apex Inn and they had one room available. What we didn't know was that it was such a busy night that we should have made a reservation when we called. Because when the tow truck dropped us at the hotel one hour later, that last room was taken.

Well, the owner of the hotel was super super nice. He showed us the last room he still had available. Unfortunately, that room had only one queen bed and that was not enough for the four of us. The room however, was very nice for the rate it was going for and super clean.

So although we didn't spend the night at his hotel, he let the four of us sit in the lobby where he gave my son a breakfast pastry and let him use his private bathroom. He went above and beyond to find us another room at another hotel. He called tens of other hotels to see if they had availability. He also called a cab for us after we had found one. And when the cab company told him that it would take 2-2,5 hours for the cab to come (it was such a busy and snowstormy night) he offered to bring us to that hotel himself.

The owner of this hotel made our rough afternoon/evening into an uplifting one. Thanks so much!!

Although we didn't spend the night, this hotel is a very nice and affordable hotel for people who come to Tahoe for the weekend to go skiing/boarding or hiking. You won't be dissapointed.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Redondoredondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
4.2 mi away
National 9 Inn - South Lake Tahoe
National 9 Inn - South Lake Taho...
#41 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
20 reviews
4.5 mi away
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
#22 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
234 reviews
4.6 mi away
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
#31 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
The Trailhead
The Trailhead
#47 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
47 reviews
1.0 mi away
Motel 6 South Lake Tahoe
Motel 6 South Lake Tahoe
#51 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
166 reviews
4.7 mi away
Alpine Inn & Spa
Alpine Inn & Spa
#34 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex Inn

Address: 1171 Emerald Bay Rd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6273
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 65 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range: $48 - $673 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Apex Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Apex Inn is conveniently located on Emerald Bay Road, Hwy Fifty-Eighty-Nine. in beautiful South Lake Tahoe. We offer clean, quiet non smoking rooms in a serene Alpine setting near the campgrounds. We are also near restaurants, shopping, ski resorts and other Lake Tahoe activities. Come stay with us and enjoy South Lake Tahoe in comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Apex Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex Hotel Lake Tahoe
Apex Motel Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing