We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another fantastic stay!”
Review of Alpenrose Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alpenrose Inn
Ranked #14 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
Pine Grove, CA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Another fantastic stay!”
Reviewed August 26, 2010

We love this place! This is at least the third time for us, and we wouldn't consider staying anywhere else. We like that it is a 10 minute or less walk to the Harvey's Outdoor Ampitheatre- great not to have to worry about parking. When we buy tickets to a concert there, the next thing we automatically do is book a room at the Alpenrose. The cleanliness is exceptional. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank footloose19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    108
    31
    10
    6
See reviews for
92
276
24
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2010

Our Alpenrose Inn room was strikingly spacious, very clean, and comfortable. Hannah, the inn keeper, was gracious and offered us good shopping and restaurant advice. The continental breakfast was healthy and filling if not elaborate. Casinos and the gondola to Heavenly Ski Resort were within easy walking distance, as was the private beach. We never found the "indoor spa," but the BBQ deck was a very pleasant place for sunning or eating breakfast in summer. Don't count on checking in early, though; the office tended to be closed from check-out time until at least 3 pm.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rjtravelcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay City, Michigan
Level Contributor
1,279 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,384 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2010

This motel has a wonderful, pleasant, friendly owner, Hannah. She is very helpful to you, engages you in conversation, looks after you, and you just can't beat that service. Location is good, central, and you can walk to many attractions, or catch the local bus up on the main road to get to other things you may want to see. A block or two over is the beach she gives you passes to, so you do not have to pay to park or use that beach.

Breakfast does not include a large choice of items, some pastries, rolls etc. Some fruit. You can bring it back to your room, or eat out on the 2nd floor sundeck that has several tables, some with umbrellas. We actually enjoyed sitting here in the late evening.

Parking can get tight. There is room for everyone, but it can get tight!

I give it a 3 rating because of the rooms. They are large. They are pretty cute. Housekeeping does a decent job. The kitchenette areas are very nice. Long counters, with a toaster (I think), coffee maker. Frig, microwave. Bar stools to sit on. Plenty of plugs. Sink. There are some basic dishes in the cupboard, along with dish soap and a dish towel and rag. Paper towels provided.

Bathrooms. Again, pretty nice. Ours was very weird in that the toilet sat right next to the bathroom sink/counter/cabinet. I mean, if you turned a bit one way or the other, your hip, arm, shoulder, leg or bottom (LOL) is going to get jabbed by the corner of the countertop. There was some construction/remodeling spacing mistake there! Then there is this wide gap between the toilet and the shower/tub. Otherwise, there is plenty of nice towels, decent bath products, and room to store your items. Hair dryer. Open the window a bit for air circulation.

The room has an older TV, on a long two drawer counter. Two nightstands. The bed is OK, not real comfortable. Two pillows that need replacing. The sheets were not good. Torn. A very large tear across the top sheet, and your hand or arm will get caught in it. I am sure this has not gone past housekeeping's notice, so why they keep using it, I don't know. That is one of the reasons I am giving the 3 rating.

There are 3 other chairs in this room, beside the bar stools. Two are wooden, straight back kitchen table type chairs. Good for sitting on for tying your shoes, etc., but that is it. The other chair is metal. I would consider it the premier chair in the room-but it was so uncomfortable, it was ridiculous. Neither of us could get any use out of it-for reading, or watching TV. Sitting on the bed proved to be the only relaxing option. That is another reason I give the 3 rating.

Lighting-not bad, but not real good either. The bed lamps were not enough to read by, you had to have all the lights on to do this.

AC worked well, not that we needed it much. Shower pressure was good. Plugs, lights, remote etc. all worked.

Small closet in room with board/iron.

Again, I hate to give it a 3 rating, but I really think the room needs a much better, comfortable chair (or chairs) to use after a full day of activities. And that bathroom spacing problem needs fixing...lol.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tymetraveler222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgecrest, CA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2010

We were looking for a pet friendly place to escape the desert heat. We found it! A somewhat quaint place conveniently located within walking distance of the Lake, restaurants and casinos. Clean, affordable and run by the nicest most helpful staff we've encountered in years! Owner Hannah not only runs a great place to stay but she is knows where to go to eat or play. We can hardly wait to go back
Denny/Mary Jane Kline

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cldkRidgecrest_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
1 review
Reviewed July 13, 2010

Unfortunately we could only stay one night at the Alpenrose Inn. We had a very nice and spotless clean 2-bed-room on the first floor, the mattresses were excellent and it was very quiet. Additionally we enjoyed the big shower. In the morning breakfast was served in the reception area with home baked muffins. The German owner really made as feel home. She was very friendly and had plenty of suggestions what we should visit and where we could dine. We toured for 2 weeks in Nevada and California and this was the best place: value for money and the owner’s friendliness and service was the best during our tour! We will definitely return!

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HarleyRider70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2010

Cute motel. We stayed one night and were traveling with 2 young children and a dog. The room was very clean, especially considering they allow pets. Service was outstanding, very friendly. Continental breakfast was usual fare but with some homemade-y extras. There's a quaint garden in the front with gas grill available to guests. And there are nice outdoor seating areas at different locations around the motel.
Only drawback is no pool and the rooms are not very sound-proof. We were on the lower level and could hear the guests in the room above walking around.
But overall it was a good stay and we would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L2meH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calif
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2010

Let me just say that after reading all the wonderful reviews on this property, I felt more than confident I had picked the perfect place to stay. However, that thought was quickly squashed after checking in. I thought we were getting a nice romantic place with some exceptional charm. This is a realllly old place; carpeting looked to be the original thin covering from the 50's. That said, the room itself was exceptionally clean. (and because of that, I am giving it 3 stars) However, where all these absolutely stunning reviews came from one can only wonder. Quiet? No. We could hear people talking right through the walls;(on both sides) The next door shower was SO close (about 5 feet or so from our bed), we could hear water actually dripping down the connecting wall and it was quite loud at that. Special hospitality? No, didn't see or feel it. This type of place is just not for me I guess, as we were put on the 2nd floor when we had reserved a first floor room, for a reason: My husband has a bad knee injury which made it difficult for him to walk up and down the stairs, so we tried to limit our comings and goings. The bed was old and wornout; but I will concur with the person who commented on the linens~They were very soft. Thank God for the restaurant at the Best Western kitty corner to us, so I could have some good morning coffee in a real cup. Please-don't get me wrong.This is definitely not a trashy place by any means; however for the price we paid for about $20. more per night I really expected much more;we have stayed in all types of lodging, and if we could have stayed at the Embassy Suites in a 2 room suite, full breakfast, etc, we probably should have but they were booked. All in all, It wasn't horrible, but I would never return here.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank missinmaui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
1.4 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#13 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
1.2 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#4 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#15 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
0.1 mi away
3 Peaks Resort & Beach Club
3 Peaks Resort & Beach Club
#18 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpenrose Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenrose Inn

Property: Alpenrose Inn
Address: 4074 Pine Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6941
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#6 Best Value Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#10 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Alpenrose Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alpenrose Inn is known for its great value in high quality lodging: exceptional customer service and delightful unique accommodations. It is cozy, quiet and clean! Located in a friendly neighborhood of tree-lined streets, the Inn has all the amenities to make your stay in Lake Tahoe memorable and relaxing. It's an easy stroll to the lake shore (beach, marina and restaurant), Heavenly Ski Resort and Village, Edgewood Golf Course, world-class casinos, dining, shopping and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Alpenrose Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpenrose Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Alpenrose Hotel Lake Tahoe
Alpenrose Motel Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing