We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Number one in South Lake Tahoe”
Review of Alpenrose Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alpenrose Inn
Ranked #14 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
Burlingame, CA
1 review
“Number one in South Lake Tahoe”
Reviewed February 13, 2009

I stayed here last week with some friends and this is probably the best inn near Heavenly Village. The price is comparable with other places. You could find cheaper motels, but it's not wort it to deal with rude innkeepers, dirty rooms, and the extreme lack of customer service. These problems seem to be rampant in the inns of the area, but definitely not at the Alpenrose. This place is a gem for sure.

Hannah & the staff were superb. They are very friendly and understand value of customer service. They put the needs of the customer first and are happy to make you happy. The rooms are immaculately clean and the bathroom even had a double shower - something to consider for you lovebirds!

The inn is also walking distance from Heavenly Village, so no need to drive or taxi when you are go to & returning from Heavenly & the casinos. I will be back soon. I was so happy with this place, that I signed up on trip advisor today to spread the good word to my fellow snowboarders (ok, skiers too).

Thank you Hannah!!!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snowboard307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    110
    33
    10
    6
See reviews for
94
279
25
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2009

I stayed at the Alpenrose Inn last February (Feb. 3, 2008) and forgot to write a review on this great little gem at south Lake Tahoe. Last weekend (Feb. 7-8, 2009), I stayed again at the Alpenrose Inn with two friends. We are so glad to come back to this quaint little inn at south Lake Tahoe. We stayed a night in Room 6 -- the room on the second floor with the newly replaced French doors. A very nice addition!

Our room was recently renovated with very nice double-headed showers, new tiles on the bathroom floor, large decorated mirror, and two very comfortable beds with comforters that feels a bit like down feather on the inside and suede cover on the outside. We had two beds, and on each bed there were interestingly decorated pillows. The air conditioning was excellent -- we used the heater since it's February and about 25 degrees F outside. We found the room cozy, quiet, and comfortable. The microwave, refrigerator, and coffee maker are new and clean. Also a big plus -- the closet was huge (walk-in with a separate door).

The breakfast (free) consists of coffee, milk, cereal, bear claws, baked danishes, and fruit. It's a really nice touch for a small motel/inn.

The location of the Alpenrose Inn is on a quiet street right next to Heavenly Village. We walked to the casinos and Heavenly resort in about 10 minutes. There is plenty of free parking at the inn.

We found the owner of the Alpinerose very helpful and friendly. We'll definitely come back here again.

  • Liked — Great location, quiet street, free parking, free breakfast, friendly service
  • Disliked — If you don't have a car, it is hard to get to the other Tahoe resorts. You can only walk to Heavenly resort and the casinos. Also, no elevators --- this makes it hard to carry snowboarding and luggages up the stairs.
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank zelivskeho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino, CA
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2009

The Alpenrose is within walking distance from the Heavenly Gondola, so you don't have to worry about driving and parking to go to Heavenly or the nearby shops. The inn keeper is a lovely and super friendly Swiss German lady who did everything she could to make our stay pleasant.

The rooms were simple and clean, bathroom was properly stocked with shampoo/soap (not all motels are), linen were above average and internet worked.
There is a simple, but adequate breakfast (cereal, milk, coffee, fruit, above average pastries).
End price is on par with many motels that were inferior in amenities, cleanliness, or location. The owner's kindness and welcoming were a very nice bonus on top.

This was my second time there, and plan on going back each time I'm in South Lake Tahoe.

  • Liked — good location, very friendly owner, very reasonable pricing
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank marcmerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2008

My friend and I spent one night here as part of a 3 week trip around California. Considering it was the cheapest night of our trip, we couldn't have expected anything better than what we got.

The room was fairly basic but had a quaint atmostphere and was comfortable & cosy considering it was fairly chilly outside. The Alpenrose is easy to find and is located conveniently close to local restaurants and bars.

Also, the lady who manages the Alpenrose couldn't have been more helpful in advising us on what to see (and how to get there) considering we had such a short amount of time to spend in Lake Tahoe.

Highly recommended for those looking for character and on a budget.

  • Liked — Value for money
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Misspotatohead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverview, FL
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2008

We discovered the Alpenrose on TripAdvisor. Thank you for the wonderful reccommendation!! We were not dissappointed.

Yes, the motel is older. Big deal. For us, that was part of the wonderful charm of the place. If you're looking for the Hyatt, Marriott, or the Ritz, then no you won't like it! There wasn't a day that we were there that a workman wasn't doing something to keep the place looking nice and shiny.

The owner was equally charming and gracious, and most helpful.

The price was more than fair, especially considering that it included a room with a small kitchen.

The motel is located on a very quiet street. So you can have the windows open and not hear the hustle and bustle of the main road through town. Also,if you have your windows open, then yes, we could hear other people going back and forth and talking very easily, but had absolutely no problems with noise when the windows were closed. There's also an air conditioner, so if you want the 'white' noise sound at night while you sleep, then, it's even better.

The bed was amazingly comfortable. The sheets were heavenly to get into at night. They smelled so good and were so soft. The cleanliness of the room was exceptional.

On the side of the hotel that we were on, we had a quaint view of a little pond with ducks in it just outside our kitchenette window. If it's been very dry weather however, the pond is also dry.

The motel has a lovely deck with grill, tables and chairs that me and my husband used almost every afternoon for wine and cheese after our daily sightseeing trips. And, in the morning while we drank our coffee. You get a peekaboo view of the lake and mountains. Nothing spectacular, but still nice.

For anyone looking for a place that oozes old Tahoe's charm, and doesn't want the cookie cutter sameness of the new chains, then you'll be delighted with the Alpenrose Motel.

  • Liked — Very nice and quite adequate for the price paid.
  • Disliked — No complaints.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barivickers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrsac
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2008

I dont know what the other people are raving about but the place is very outdated and the prices are very high for the area. The manager/owner is terrible and overberring to guest that complain about anythihg.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank mrsac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2008

My husband and I stayed at Alpenrose Inn for 2 nights in September 2008. We were initially pleasantly surprised by the decor and cleanliness. The beds were not hard and stiff like most hotels/motels but were very comfortable. The motel also had nice olive green sheets that were very soft -- not rough and starched like most other motels.
The thing we were not fond of was how we could hear the words being spoken by both neighbors through the walls -- when they were on their phone or when they were talking amongst themselves. It was amazing -- I have never been able to actually hear the words being spoken through the walls of any place we've stayed. It was disappointing and we were glad that we were only staying for 2 nights.
Otherwise, the motel was maintained very well. It would be a perfect South Lake Tahoe place to stay if perhaps insulation or soundproofing could be added in the walls between the rooms.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, friendliness of owner
  • Disliked — NOISE through the walls between guest rooms
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Piglet_California
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
1.4 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#11 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,012 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#5 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,110 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#13 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
880 reviews
1.2 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
433 reviews
0.8 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#6 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpenrose Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenrose Inn

Property: Alpenrose Inn
Address: 4074 Pine Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6941
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#10 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Alpenrose Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alpenrose Inn is known for its great value in high quality lodging: exceptional customer service and delightful unique accommodations. It is cozy, quiet and clean! Located in a friendly neighborhood of tree-lined streets, the Inn has all the amenities to make your stay in Lake Tahoe memorable and relaxing. It's an easy stroll to the lake shore (beach, marina and restaurant), Heavenly Ski Resort and Village, Edgewood Golf Course, world-class casinos, dining, shopping and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Alpenrose Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpenrose Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Alpenrose Hotel Lake Tahoe
Alpenrose Motel Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing