We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overnight concert getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Alpenrose Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alpenrose Inn
Ranked #13 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“overnight concert getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

The staff were friendly and helpful if needed. The location was perfect for me. I was attending a concert at Harvey's outdoor amphitheater and was able to walk there, which is great. The decor in the room was nice. The bed was comfortable, which is key for me. Felt comfortable there. They offered breakfast, but it was only one kind of cereal, boiled eggs, and wrapped bear claws. However I definitely will stay here again.

Room Tip: The average king room doesn't have a fridge, so u have to get a deluxe for that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    107
    31
    10
    6
See reviews for
92
272
24
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

For the longest time we have been coming to Tahoe and not only the Lake offers beauty and comfort but also this little quiet, clean and comfortable makes everything so convenience, and the days are priceless moments of joy. The name of our place is "ALPENROSE - IN." Try it once you will be hooked, the helpfulness from all the "new" and "old" personal is outstanding, not like on the other big hotels. John is personal and the information tucked away that he owns, shares it with everyone and because of this; our times have been beautiful memories of today.

Room Tip: Room # 10 is the best ()our room of course)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jesus A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahaina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

This past weekend I stayed 2 nights at the Alpenrose Inn in South Lake Tahoe. The staff were very good and attentive, Hannah, Ruth Ann and John. The unit was spotless and well kept up. We would certainly stay again. A couple of issues: The room rate was pretty high for this type of unit with no swimming pool and our room had no refrigerator or microwave which is pretty much accepted today. But the room is super and the bed was very good.

Room Tip: Ask for room with refrigerator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FredAlvarez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

We were so happy to find this little gem. Spotless and so comfortable. The staff was friendly and did everything they could to make us feel at home. It was so nice, even during the summer to have a fireplace. We will certainly come back and will also let our friends know about our fine

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Grace A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

This newly remodeled inn a few blocks off the busy main street is a wonderful find and one we hope to return to many times. Hannah, the owner goes out of her way to make sure her guests are comfortable and have everything they need for their stay. Her staff are efficient, courteous and friendly and keep the rooms spotless. It is a close walk to the beach, stores, grocery store, restaurants and casinos. Our room for the 3 night stay was very comfortable and we also really appreciated the sun deck and the other outdoor seating areas. On arrival, Hannah pointed out on a local map the places of interest that we might like to include in our stay. The Alpenrose is a rare find and one worth returning to many times.

Room Tip: Call Hannah, she will advise you as to which room will fill all of your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

Stayed in room 8, a beautiful suite, newly refurbished with the most comfortable bed and a very good sofa bed. It is upstairs so pick a downstairs room if you couldn't manage to carry a suitcase up. Nice quite road between the main road and the lake and very close to the gondola rides. Lovely simple breakfast (freshly toasted bagels, various cakes and pastries, hard boiled eggs, juice, cereals, fruit and coffee) lovely staff and owners too: an oasis in a very touristy and busy place.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

This was out first stay at Alpenrose and we'll be back.

First of all, the Inn was located at a great location - a couple of blocks away from the main streets so we didn't hear any traffic noise, but was still close enough walk to restaurants and Raley's. A semi-private beach - when the teenagers were there to man the gate - was only 5 minute walk away. The best part was that being hotel guests, we had free passes to the beach for the duration of our stay! It would have cost us $5 per entry otherwise.

The hotel check-in was no hassle. Hannah was there and she tried to multi-task a lot. Funny thing was that she loved Lake Tahoe so much that she moved there to do more outdoor activities. Maybe someone forgot to tell her that running an Inn was probably not the best way to go about it...

The lobby was cozy and nicely decorated. There were huge pine cones (some the size of pineapples) lining the lobby with some indoor plants dotting the surroundings. They were building a new stairwell leading to a new upper deck when we were there.

We booked a double room and it was ready when we arrived early afternoon. The toiletries were mostly organic products so we appreciate the nice touch. We were on the second level and our neighbors were quiet and considerate. The beds were nice, not too soft.

Continental breakfast was included in the stay. John was at the front desk in the mornings and he was a character. He was very friendly and took the time to show us some places we could visit around the lake. I could tell that he loved the outdoors and encouraged us to visit other national parks.

All in all it was a pleasant stay that didn't cost us an arm or leg.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Straits V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
1.4 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#14 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
1.2 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#4 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,045 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#15 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
0.1 mi away
3 Peaks Resort & Beach Club
3 Peaks Resort & Beach Club
#18 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpenrose Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenrose Inn

Property: Alpenrose Inn
Address: 4074 Pine Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6941
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#4 Best Value Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#10 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alpenrose Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alpenrose Inn is known for its great value in high quality lodging: exceptional customer service and delightful unique accommodations. It is cozy, quiet and clean! Located in a friendly neighborhood of tree-lined streets, the Inn has all the amenities to make your stay in Lake Tahoe memorable and relaxing. It's an easy stroll to the lake shore (beach, marina and restaurant), Heavenly Ski Resort and Village, Edgewood Golf Course, world-class casinos, dining, shopping and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Alpenrose Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpenrose Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Alpenrose Hotel Lake Tahoe
Alpenrose Motel Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing