We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice but a bit tired”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Alpenrose Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alpenrose Inn
Ranked #13 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
82 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Nice but a bit tired”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2008

We stayed here for 3 nights during our 3 week tour of northern California and chose it because of the good reviews on Tripadvisor. It has some good points - the room is well equipped with fridge, microwave and coffee maker and the price and location are good for Lake Tahoe. However it has a few problems: we phoned ahead to book our room and agreed $75 plus tax per night. On arrival, after a long drive, we were told that the price of our 3rd night (a Friday) was to be $105 plus tax, take it or leave it. At that late stage finding alternative rooms for a Friday would not have been easy so we felt we had no choice. No apology was given for the rate hike. The room was an average size, the decor a bit tired and it smelt a bit of old dog. The shower cubicle was peeling and the toilet flush broke. To be fair this was repaired on the day we reported it and we were given a $10 discount - not enough to match the price increase - and were told that the bathroom is due to be renovated. The complimentary continental breakfast was basic with the same prepackaged danishes appearing every day. There are some nice individual touches here but it needs some updating.

  • Liked — location and price (as originally agreed)
  • Disliked — tired in need of updating
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank muletrains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    107
    31
    10
    6
See reviews for
92
272
24
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2008

I totally agree with the previous review. When we went with my parents (60s), they couldn't sleep well because of noise of the floor.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Smell of the room, noise
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank pico5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Molenhoek
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2008

i agree with all the positives i have read. But what i have missed in the reviews and if i had known i would not have booked this hotel is the noise of the rooms above and next to us.

Woken at 6.30 with a sound like a stampede of elephants is not my idee of vacation. It would not have supprised me if they came through the roof and woke up the guy in the neighbouring room who was snoring noisly the whole night. But yes the owners are very nice and the location is great.........but the noise

  • Liked — freindly owners
  • Disliked — noise
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank dutchMolenhoek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
67 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2008

At the tail end of a two week road trip that included stays at a five star hotel in San Francisco, and four stars in Napa and Carmel....

We were looking for something where we could park outside our room, and have some peace and quiet away from the large hotels, with their indifferent staff and cookie cutter rooms. We found exactly what we were looking for at the Alpenrose!
Many of the properties in this older part of S Lake Tahoe looked pretty tired, and a bit shabby. But it is obvious that the owner Hannah takes a lot of pride in your business.
Although we were in one of the smaller rooms, everything was spotless, and the little personal touches made it feel like we were in someone's guest room in their home. Really!
My goodness, even the parking lot is spotless!

A five minute walk to the beach, and five minutes the other direction to all the hubbub of Heavenly Village, casinos, shopping, restaurants, etc.

While I give the Alpenrose top marks, let me be clear that this is NOT a high end chain type property. It is a small owner operated "motel", reminiscent of what we stayed in forty years ago as kids traveling with our parents (but better)

If you want the big hotel experience, don't come here. Try the Embassy Suites or one of the big Casino hotels a couple of blocks away on the Nevada side.

But if you want a gracious owner, a spotless room with personal touches, and all the laid back charm of a European Bed & Breakfast, at a cost of about a third of the other guys, then stay with Hannah at the Alpenrose. She will make you feel like a guest in her home, and you really can't beat that.

  • Liked — Feeling like a guest in Hanah's home.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Goodchip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2008

This is one of those Inns where the owner makes that much of a difference with her warm welcome, travel tipps, wonderful coffee. In addition to that, the Inn is perfectly located: Near to the beach, next to the casinos, but in a quiet street.

The Inn is very well maintained, the rooms have a nice touch of individual decorating, there was kitchen/microwave in our room.

We enjoyed our stay a lot, highly recommend it and would love to come again.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank MunichMoira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, NJ
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2008

The check in tells the whole story about this motel. We arrived late in the day and were booked for 1 night. The owner, Hannah, asked if we were familiar with the area. We said no and she immediately started telling us what sites to see in our limited timeframe. She also sent us to the Edgewood golf course sports bar for dinner. We ate outside on a patio that overlooked the lake and golf course during sunset. The food was fine, the price was reasonable and the atmosphere was fantastic.

The room was very clean, spacious and well decorated. The ceiling fan kept the room comfortable. The internet worked well. The continental breakfast was fine. This is one of the few places that had hot water for tea that did not taste like coffee.

Hannah takes pride in the property and does everything possible to make your stay enjoyable. I will definitely come back for a longer stay.

  • Liked — Very helpful owner
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Alapitka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2008

We just returned from a 2 week trip to northern California we stayed 3 nights at the Alpenrose .The hotel is very clean and comfortable the location great 5 minutes walk to the beach on the lake and also walking distance to great shopping and restuarants
Also Hannah the owner a mine of information and very kind and helpful.. overall excellent value for money

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
4 Thank julieramsay58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
1.4 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#14 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
1.2 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#4 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,045 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#15 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
0.1 mi away
3 Peaks Resort & Beach Club
3 Peaks Resort & Beach Club
#18 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpenrose Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenrose Inn

Property: Alpenrose Inn
Address: 4074 Pine Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6941
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#4 Best Value Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#10 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alpenrose Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alpenrose Inn is known for its great value in high quality lodging: exceptional customer service and delightful unique accommodations. It is cozy, quiet and clean! Located in a friendly neighborhood of tree-lined streets, the Inn has all the amenities to make your stay in Lake Tahoe memorable and relaxing. It's an easy stroll to the lake shore (beach, marina and restaurant), Heavenly Ski Resort and Village, Edgewood Golf Course, world-class casinos, dining, shopping and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Alpenrose Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpenrose Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Alpenrose Hotel Lake Tahoe
Alpenrose Motel Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing