We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alpenrose Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Alpenrose Inn
Ranked #14 of 68 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
Morro Bay, California
Level Contributor
131 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Great value!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

We were way off-season, so having some construction/repair work being done on the property with accompanying noise was to be expected. Considering the inconvenience, we were upgraded to a beautifully decorated suite with a central fireplace and wonderful bath. The owner/manager, Hannelore, couldn't have been more friendly or helpful. The location is perfect--easy walking distance to the lake & beach, and the casinos across the state line. Add to that a delicious cold breakfast with plentiful hot coffee and a fair price. What more could we ask for?

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2bears93442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    103
    31
    10
    6
See reviews for
88
266
23
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

My wife and i stayed here for four nights.The hotel is 2 minutes off the main road through south lake tahoe.Its so quiet at the hotel.Hannah the owner made us very welcome and had maps and marked were to go for walks and what to see in the area.Our room was really clean and comfortable.Others have stated the breakfast room is small and yes it is,but building work was just starting to extend the breakfast room.The breakfast itself didnt have much choice but was adaquate.
We really enjoyed our stay here while visiting lake tahoe and the scenery is really breathtaking

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gerard q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emerald Hills
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Alpenrose Inn, just a few blocks off the main drag.
Close enough to walk but not all the noise associated with town.
Absolutely charming individually decorated rooms, many with gas fireplace/stoves.
Not the rubber stamped rooms of the chains.
Fabulous beds, perfect after a soak in the private hot tub...
Microwave/mini fridge/wet bar, complete with real china, silverware, and wine glasses.
Extremely friendly attentive owner and staff.
Three nights wasn't long enough at the Alpenrose Inn!

Room Tip: Any room would be comfortable! There are also suites available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine M E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antelias, Lebanon
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

Nice looking place, very cozy in a quiet area just off the main road. Visited it for 2 nights with my wife. We absolutely loved our stay, very friendly reception, with our hosts quickly (at arrival) giving us maps and pointing out what to visit, etc.
Our room was spacious, shiny clean, with a nice flat screen and comfortable beds.
We wished we could stay longer but were off to continue our US vacation tour.
Only minor thing, the breakfast was kinda poor and the breakfast area is very tight (reception roomd). Would go again tho in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: If you have luggage, take a ground floor room, upper floors don't seem to have elevator (or at l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
87 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

The Alpenrose is literally 20 seconds drive from the Nevada state line and the massive casino hotels, and just minutes away from Heavenly village and the main highway through South Lake Tahoe, but it's situated on a very quiet back street, one block from the beach (which is excellent, and the Alpenose gives guests a beach pass) and is very quiet and peaceful. The rooms seem to have different facilities - one of ours had what looked like a recently remodelled modern bathroom with a very large shower and shallow sink, but no fridge - and were clean and comfortable, with coffee machines, flat screen TVs and free WiFi. As other reviewers have noted, the breakfast lobby is very small and can only seat two or three guests at a time, which is fine in the summer when it's warm enough to sit on the roof terrace or in the peaceful little garden. We found the breakfast fine, with excellent coffee, hot water for tea, cereal, pastries and some fresh fruit, and John (?) at breakfast was very friendly and full of good tips about laces to visit and good, cheap places to eat. Would happily recommend the Alpenrose, which is very convenient for visiting all the Lake Tahoe attractions.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DSandJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McMurray, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

Stayed one night at the Alpenrose Inn on September 11 during a 16 day California road trip. Everything about the room no. 1 was perfect. Comfortable bed, very clean, quiet, and lots of room to spread out. Read some negative reviews about the breakfast, but I found it to be perfect. Cereal, an assortment of muffins, and bananas. I find bananas a rare find for a complimentary breakfast and kudos to John. During our road trip, our lodging included several National Park Lodges and an expensive Inn on Big Sur, but the Alpenrose Inn was just as good, if not better for far less money. For those who want a mega breakfast, I would suggest the IHOP just a few blocks away.

Room Tip: Room No. 1 is on the first floor and has a king size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JOE A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vermont
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

This is a good little basic motel, on a quiet street, away from the steip.Tahoe was a sleepy town in September anyway.
We had a room on the second floor which means lugging you suitcase up the stairs, a pain.
The room was fine,, small with a drab bedcover but very clean . The bathroom had a great large shower.The hearing system was somewhat noisy , we turned it off at night.
The room also had a small refrigerator but no iron or ironing table.
At night you had to unplug your bedside lamp if you wanted to boil some water in the microwave to make some tea.
I downgraded the motel because breakfast is downright awful.
There is no breakfast room ( one is in the planning) so the braver of you goes downstairs and comes back with a tray carrying corn flakes , very bad orange juice, weak coffee and worst of all one of these prepackaged pastries... These things should be banned they are a menace to your health.Plain toast would have been welcome.
Since we were hikers we ended up buying brekfast outside , a nuisance and so did our friends.
Too bad, those early mornings tribulations spoiled some of our otherwise wonderful stay.

Room Tip: My only advice is to go out for breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laberlugane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
1.4 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#13 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
1.2 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#10 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#8 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#9 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Landing Resort & Spa
The Landing Resort & Spa
#2 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpenrose Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenrose Inn

Property: Alpenrose Inn
Address: 4074 Pine Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6941
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#10 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alpenrose Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alpenrose Inn is known for its great value in high quality lodging: exceptional customer service and delightful unique accommodations. It is cozy, quiet and clean! Located in a friendly neighborhood of tree-lined streets, the Inn has all the amenities to make your stay in Lake Tahoe memorable and relaxing. It's an easy stroll to the lake shore (beach, marina and restaurant), Heavenly Ski Resort and Village, Edgewood Golf Course, world-class casinos, dining, shopping and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Alpenrose Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpenrose Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Alpenrose Hotel Lake Tahoe
Alpenrose Motel Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing