We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed”
Review of Alpenrose Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alpenrose Inn
Ranked #14 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
Tomball, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

At first this looked like a charming, smaller hotel with tastefully decorated rooms, fully equipped kitchenette, and within walking distance to the casinos. Unfortunately sound insulation is non existent. We had a downstairs room and it sounded like a herd of elephants was stampeding in the room above. Any doors opening and closing on our floor created loud bangs. The bed was rock hard, the remote for the TV didn't work, and the breakfast consisted of packaged pastries and a banana. I could forgive most of this if this had been a cheaper hotel, but at $200 for the night (including tax to be fair), I was hoping for a more comfortable stay.

The staff were very pleasant and it does not give me any pleasure to give Alpenrose Inn only one star. Perhaps if we had an upstairs room it would have been better but this place did not provide good value for the price.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CalTexan51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    108
    31
    10
    6
See reviews for
92
276
24
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Neots, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Very lovely hotel . Facilities were very good in the rooms which were comfortable and clean .
The location was excellent and the owner was very helpful .
My only critasism would be the breakfast . It's a shame there wasn't a better choice .

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorri69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stayed here after backpacking in Yosemite for 3 days. Our room was above the office and it was clean and modern (different from photos I had seen online). Hannah was very kind and accommodating. The patio next to the room was pleasant, we brought back dinner and spent the evening outside. It was more than I expected and I was very impressed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed0nalds0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emporia, Kansas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stayed at the Alpenrose Inn for four nights while in Tahoe for a wedding. The location could not have been more perfect. We were able to walk to most locations, yet it was away from the noise and traffic of the main strip and casino's. Hannah was extremely welcoming. She went out of her way to accommodate us when we arrived earlier than the check-in time. She was very helpful with suggestions for dinner and made us feel like we were at home. The room was very nice and the bed was the most comfortable of our entire trip. When we travel, we always look for accommodations owned or managed by someone of Swiss/German ancestry as we find them to be the cleanest. This was certainly the case with Hannah and her inn. We would definitely stay at the Alpenrose if we ever return to Tahoe

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nanccEmporia_Kansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, California, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We have now had the opportunity to stay three times over a couple of years at the Alpenrose Inn- each trip has been wonderful. Hannah and the rest of her staff are always cheerful upon our arrival and ready with helpful advice about the area. Their recommendations have been "on target" each time. The rooms are CLEAN, comfortable and beautifully decorated. Despite being across the street from a "chain" hotel, theirs is quiet and has a feeling of privacy. We enjoy the light breakfast they have available, my husband especially likes the "granola" type of bars. You can eat in the office area, take it to your room or enjoy the deck area that is over the parking area looking at trees etc. Its an easy walk to the beach (included in your stay), the South Lake Tahoe shops, as well as restaurants. We look forward to staying there again, as soon as we can.

Room Tip: Its a two story hotel, outside entrance's, no elevator- keep in mind for folks with wheelchairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedro Wooley, WA, USA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

My friends and I have stayed at the Alpenrose Inn twice. The motel is in the perfect location for access to the town. They are friendly, clean, and competitively priced. The room was clean, and well appointed. The amenities, internet connection, etc...were all flawless. They even had organic sundries in the bathroom. That was a nice touch. The breakfast offering is meager, but if you can get by on a light snack, you will be happy. The rest of the motel's charm will have won you over.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeport, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 21, 2013

This was our first stay at the Alpenrose Inn. We found the reviews on Trip
Advisor helpful in choosing this location. The room was very tastefully decorated, with updated furnishings. The bed was very comfortable and the location of the hotel was perfect. Just a short walk up to casinos and restaurants or down to the beach. Friendly, helpful staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tami C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
1.4 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#13 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
1.2 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#4 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#15 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
0.1 mi away
3 Peaks Resort & Beach Club
3 Peaks Resort & Beach Club
#18 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpenrose Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenrose Inn

Property: Alpenrose Inn
Address: 4074 Pine Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6941
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#6 Best Value Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#10 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Alpenrose Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alpenrose Inn is known for its great value in high quality lodging: exceptional customer service and delightful unique accommodations. It is cozy, quiet and clean! Located in a friendly neighborhood of tree-lined streets, the Inn has all the amenities to make your stay in Lake Tahoe memorable and relaxing. It's an easy stroll to the lake shore (beach, marina and restaurant), Heavenly Ski Resort and Village, Edgewood Golf Course, world-class casinos, dining, shopping and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Alpenrose Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpenrose Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Alpenrose Hotel Lake Tahoe
Alpenrose Motel Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing