We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Alpenrose Inn
Nearby Hotels
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe(South Lake Tahoe)(Great Value!)
$269
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel(South Lake Tahoe)(Great Value!)
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Hotel Azure(South Lake Tahoe)(Great Value!)
$252
$244
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe(South Lake Tahoe)(Great Value!)
$220
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
3 Peaks Resort & Beach Club(South Lake Tahoe)(Great Value!)
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $126/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites(South Lake Tahoe)(Great Value!)
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marriott's Timber Lodge(South Lake Tahoe)(Great Value!)
$349
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Landing Resort & Spa(South Lake Tahoe)
$299
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $353/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe(South Lake Tahoe)(Great Value!)
$429
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$999
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (502)
Filter reviews
502 results
Traveler rating
341
112
33
10
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
341
112
33
10
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscontinental breakfastheavenly gondolagas stoveprivate beachsmall kitchenwithin walking distancecomfortable bedquiet locationbagelswould definitely stay here againwonderful stayking roomheavenly villagemotellaketahoemicrowave
Filter
Updating list...
234 - 239 of 502 reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Once again this year my husband and I stayed at the Alpenrose Inn. We enjoyed the Inn very much. Hanna, the owner, is wonderful and very accommodating. If something is not to your liking in the room, Hanna will try to fix the problem. The pillow was uncomfortable the first night for me. I told her and she brought 3 different pillows to choose from which were very comfortable. Our room was one of the larger rooms with a wet bar and king size bed. She has updated and remodeled the bathroom since our last visit and is in the process of remodeling most of the rooms. As always, everything was very clean and pleasant. We had a very relaxing, quiet stay. Wonderful place to stay. Close to everything in South Lake Tahoe.

Room Tip: Stay on the second level. The English Tea Room is wonderful.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OraLee20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpenroseInn, Manager at Alpenrose Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

It was our pleasure hosting your annual stay in Lake Tahoe. Thank you for your kind review. The photographic tour is a wonderful way to see new, beautiful sights. We look forward to seeing you next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

This small independant has an eye for detail. They paid extra attention to the fact we visited the beautiful South Lake Tahoe for our honeymoon. We loved the suggestions the front desk staff has presented us with. The rooms are all differently decorated. We had a free upgrade and stayed in room 1. Nicely decorated Tahoe Style with in room coffe maker, cutlery, dishes, refrigirator etc. We had a wonderful stay thanks to the "Alpenrose Inn".

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Dennis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpenroseInn, Manager at Alpenrose Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Congratulations on your recent marriage and thank you for letting us host the Tahoe portion of your honeymoon. Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay; we look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Stayed here for two nights a few weeks ago. Friendly, easy going people (Hanna, Karen and John). Quiet, low traffic, mellow street. Stayed in one of the larger rooms with king bed. Wet bar (small sink, microwave, coffee maker), small (two-three person sitting table) smallish but okay bathroom, good shower. Actually, quite spacious room. Look at their website for some good photos of place. Continental B'fast: cereal, bananas, granola bars, muffins, etc. Limited in size and variety, but very well chosen and tasty. Small sitting area in office-b'fast area. Large window looking out on small garden w/fountain and morning birds in for drinks. Excellent coffee (this from a reviewer who frequently brings his own coffee maker and coffee on longer vacations). Nice, large deck on second floor. 3-4 tables, umbrellas. Great for sitting with a bottle of wine and a few friends. Did not see hot tub, used only in winter, so I can't comment on it.

This place is in an absolutely excellent location, both summer and winter. A quiet, restful street, but still two blocks from everything. Two blocks to Nevada state line (back parking lots of large casinos}, two block walk to main shopping area and Heavenly Ski Lift, two block walk to nice, private, lake shore beach (free beach pass for guests). Leave car parked and just walk around. We will stay here again.

Room Tip: Look at their web site.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank downtheroader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpenroseInn, Manager at Alpenrose Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

We appreciate your kind review, and are very happy that you enjoyed the Inn and all of the nearby amenities. We look forward to hosting you in the future. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

This little inn was highly recommended with great reviews. We did not find our experience to be that awesome. Our room was clean and it is close to the beach. On the negative side, the room was furnished with stools that were very uncomfortable. Other rooms may be more user friendly as each room is decorated differently but this is an unknown and we would not stay again just to find out. When we left at 7:00am the office was locked and there no sign of the breakfast that was advertised. It was adequate but not the great experience we had anticipated from the reviews. We will shop around for different accomodations the next time we are in Tahoe.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 12 which has very uncomforable stools as the only seating area.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunshine35507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpenroseInn, Manager at Alpenrose Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

We are sorry to hear that your stay was not what you expected, but appreciate your time writing a response. We always hope that our guests will notify us immediately of any issues with their room, as we will do all we can to make a room change or whatever it takes. With several rooms available we would have been glad to move you to a room with a table and chairs. Also, we apologize for the misunderstanding regarding breakfast, which is served each morning from 7:30 until 10 a.m. Again, we are sorry that your visit was not satisfying.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Picked this wonderful inn because of Tripadvisor ratings and boy we were glad we did.Very quiet but only a couple of blocks from casinos and beautiful private beach.Very friendly and helpful owner.Room was pretty and bed was awesome.Our little dachshund loved it also.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grandma4646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpenroseInn, Manager at Alpenrose Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Thank you for your review; it was our pleasure hosting your stay in Lake Tahoe. We hope the drive home went well and that we will see you in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews