We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless, from start to finish.”
Review of Alpenrose Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alpenrose Inn
Ranked #14 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
152 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Faultless, from start to finish.”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Alpenrose was our home base in South Lake Tahoe for three nights during a recent Sierra road trip, thanks to an unexpected change of plans, and it ended up being one of our best stops in two weeks, not just in terms of comfort, service and location but value as well.

We stayed upstairs in Black Forest, which was a 2 queen room with wet bar. There was a bit of foot noise occasionally from other visitors passing along the veranda en route to their own rooms but hardly enough to bother about.

Service was spot-on; the room was large, immaculate and comfortably appointed and although South Lake Tahoe could not exactly be described as pedestrian friendly (not enough street lights, lumpy sidewalks – take a flashlight at night!), we could easily walk to whatever we needed.

The property itself was meticulously maintained and presented, and we appreciated the professional, friendly, low-key vibe. These people know their stuff, and it shows.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coastfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpenroseInn, Manager at Alpenrose Inn, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for your very kind remarks. We are glad you stayed with us and felt welcomed and at home. It is a beautiful time of year here in Lake Tahoe. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    110
    32
    10
    6
See reviews for
93
279
24
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grants Pass, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We like to stay in small, family-owned inns, and Alpenrose was the perfect choice. On a side street, and with no pool, it was very quiet. The location was within walking distance of nearly everything we wanted to do. We received a complimentary pass to the beach, an unexpected treat. Continental breakfast consisted of great coffee (and hot water of course) and delicious home-baked goodies. Room rates are very reasonable, and we stayed in the English Tea room, which was very clean, smelled fresh, and had a comfy bed, great towels, and very nice toiletries. Communication before and after our visit was good and made us feel personally recognized and welcome. We encountered 4 staffers, and all were very nice. Karen was terrific--funny, helpful, efficient, and attentive. We felt like long lost friends. There are an astounding number of places to stay in SLT, and we've stayed in 5 star suites, and 2 room inns, but to avoid noisy, hoity toity high rises, Alpenrose Inn is a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Consider upstairs (nobody walking above you) and away from the sun deck (where early risers might vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3M29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpenroseInn, Manager at Alpenrose Inn, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
It was our pleasure hosting you all for the weekend. Thank you for taking to time to post your review and your very kind remarks. We hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

My boyfriend and I were passing through from Napa to Yosemite and needed a bed for the night. After reading mixed reviews on Trip Advisor I was a little bit nervous, however I was pleasantly surprised. The room was clean, bed comfortable and the staff were friendly. Breakfast was tasty and plentiful. The hotel is located near the beach and they provide you with a complimentary pass to get on the beach which was a nice touch.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wilts2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpenroseInn, Manager at Alpenrose Inn, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
We appreciate your time reviewing your stay, and are very glad that you enjoyed yourself. Tahoe is a nice stop between Napa and Yosemite. Thank you for letting us know that you were comfortable, well-fed, and got some needed relaxation! Enjoy the rest of your vacation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manteca
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

I was so pleased with the room!  Especially for the value of the money. The bed was perfect, nice and firm yet so comfortable. I was surprised to see light sage green sheets! Posh pillows. I slept like a baby.  The towels smelled so clean and refreshing. Hannah (the owner) is from Germany and she seems so nice and friendly! I'd definitely go back!!!

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank dodile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpenroseInn, Manager at Alpenrose Inn, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
We appreciate the opportunity to host your stay in Tahoe and are very glad to hear that you enjoyed yourself, were comfortable and felt welcomed. It is really important to us for our guests to know how much we appreciate them. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Not sure why this is so highly rated. I tried to enjoy it.
Pros: Clean room, location was great. Halfway between beach and shopping/restaurants. You get a pass to a nice private beach.

Cons: OMG the beds are SO hard. I slept terribly. Squeaky floors, a bit outdated, AC didn't work properly, ceiling fan wobbled, I could hear all my neighbours, tiny bathroom, no pool, breakfast was only cereal and some muffins & pastries (in packets). Coffee and tea only and I don't drink either.

I'm glad other people loved it, but I'll try somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ozcanbyrnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpenroseInn, Manager at Alpenrose Inn, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write; we sincerely apologize that your stay was not completely satisfactory. We will certainly check on the a/c and ceiling fan and make any needed repairs or changes. Regarding the continental breakfast, although it is simple we try to make it healthy with fruit and granola. Again we are sorry that it was not what you were expecting. It is very important that our guests are comfortable and we will do our best to correct any deficiencies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We needed a clean reasonably priced place to stay in SLT for 3 plus a dog. Found the Alpenrose Inn on Trip advisor and called the Inn for details. The desk staff was super helpful in explaining room details, its quiet location & nearby areas to enjoy with our pet. An added bonus for staying here is that we were able to take advantage of a "discount" for using trip advisor. The room was perfect, clean and comfortable. The morning coffee delicious and the continental breakfast was a great start to our day. Staff were friendly (true animal lovers) and helpful in providing recommendations for activities, dining places and sunset set views. A couple we met while staying at the Inn were return customers and recommended we come again in winter for snoshoeing and frolicing in the snow with our dog! Sounds like a plan and a perfect reason to return to this cozy little place!

Room Tip: If traveling with large dog, ask for t Dutch Country room. Its on a corner with a nice bistro table...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaFam_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpenroseInn, Manager at Alpenrose Inn, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
It was a pleasure having you and your family and of course the pet stay with us. Hopefully we will see you this winter--its true that dogs often love playing in the snow. Thank you for taking the time to write a review, and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis CA
1 review
Reviewed September 9, 2012

I've stayed twice at the Alpenrose, once with my husband and two 15 year olds in the fall of 2011, the second time in late summer 2012 with my grown up daughter. Both times, everyone loved the rooms, the breakfast (continental, with nice fruit, wonderful coffee, and scruptious home-baked muffins), and the local beach--clean, quiet, and with good swimming and boat rentals. The hotel itself was super clean and quiet. Hannah gave helpful advice about local eateries, and I just wish I could have stayed longer. Prices very reasonable, garden and balcony spaces an unexpected addition to overall pleasure.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpenroseInn, Manager at Alpenrose Inn, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you for your kind review, and especially for staying with us again. We are so grateful for the opportunity to host your stay in South Lake Tahoe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
1.4 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#13 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
883 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#4 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,059 reviews
1.2 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
870 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#15 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
831 reviews
0.8 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#7 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpenrose Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenrose Inn

Property: Alpenrose Inn
Address: 4074 Pine Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6941
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#10 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Alpenrose Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alpenrose Inn is known for its great value in high quality lodging: exceptional customer service and delightful unique accommodations. It is cozy, quiet and clean! Located in a friendly neighborhood of tree-lined streets, the Inn has all the amenities to make your stay in Lake Tahoe memorable and relaxing. It's an easy stroll to the lake shore (beach, marina and restaurant), Heavenly Ski Resort and Village, Edgewood Golf Course, world-class casinos, dining, shopping and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com and HRS so you can book your Alpenrose Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpenrose Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Alpenrose Hotel Lake Tahoe
Alpenrose Motel Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing