We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“What a view....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Heavenly Valley Scenic Gondola Ride

Heavenly Valley Scenic Gondola Ride
Ranked #10 of 26 Tours in South Lake Tahoe
Attraction details
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
237 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“What a view....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Spectacular views... just do it!! This was a fantastic family experience. The first stop was an observation deck and needless to say the views were awesome. Take a jacket. We went in mid-september and it was chilly on the observation deck. The next stop was at the basin where the lodge is located. There were activities for kids (paid) and a playground (free). We also paid for the ski lift ride to the top of the mountain. Again, fantastic views. We did not do any trails, we just soaked in the beautiful surroundings.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank AJG35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    23
    6
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Amazing Views! So glad I went in spite of my height phobia!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We decided to take the gondola ride even though I have difficulties with heights. Am so glad I did! The ride was not scary as I thought. Get off at the platform about half way up on the ascent, since it does not stop there on the way down, because that is where the most gorgeous views are. They have set up a very nice observation deck with tables and chairs that even I was able to enjoy. There is a gift shop that also sells beverages and souvenirs. I had left my bottle of water on the ticket counter down below and went into the shop to pay an outrageous sum for another bottle. THEN I noticed that there was a water dispenser outside the shop on the platform. There is also a snack shop around the other side of the platform. Didn't buy anything there so can't comment. We paid the additional $8 for the gondola ride/lunch combo ticket for the Tamarack Lodge at the next stop up the mountain which was a nice savings. We did continue on up to the Lodge. Nice alpine setting and lovely LEED certified building. Food was very good (including gluten free bread options!). Don't expect Taco Bell prices, but definitely not outrageous. The savings from the combo ticket helped. Nice bar as well. Got a Starbucks coffee with "flavorings" that you don't find at Starbucks. ;^) All in all it was a wonderful way to spend an afternoon at Tahoe. It was warm the day we went, but suggest strongly that you anticipate cooler temps then at the basin and take along a jacket or sweater.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank CaMmmtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lift to the top of the world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

I love it, truly just an amazing awesome viewed. I totally recommend this, take a ride to the top and just sit there and enjoy the ride and the view.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank hiketilludrop3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yakima, Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic views and plenty to do.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

The observation deck at 9123 feet is really fantastic. There is lots of room for lots of people and benches and tables to just sit and enjoy the mountain scenery and the views of Lake Tahoe below. On up at the top is the Tamatack Lodge - a great resturant and bar thats a beautiful structure in it's alpine setting. We visited on Labor Day Weekend and there is lots to do in the basin.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan-Insur3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Iowa
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful views!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Great ride, beautiful views. It stops along the way and you can walk around the observation deck (make sure you take your camera) and then check out the gift shop or beverage shop. Then continues on to the lodge where there are many activities. Grandsons enjoyed the tubing and rock climbing and for those that like to hike, there are several trails to go on. If you plan on eating at the lodge it would be better to buy the package deal when you purchase your ticket to receive the $15 voucher for food/beverage. The food was good but very expensive. You can continue further up the mountain but you will no longer be in the enclosed lifts. Would imagine in the winter it would even be more beautiful. For those that may have height issues, you can face the mountain going up and coming back down as my daughter did. Would defintely recommend this to anyone visiting the area.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank alibisal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heavenly Valley Scenic Gondola Ride also viewed

South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Heavenly Valley Scenic Gondola Ride? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing