We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An update on 3 Peaks”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
3 Peaks Resort & Beach Club
Ranked #20 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Palm Springs, California
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“An update on 3 Peaks”
Reviewed March 31, 2008

We’ve been to (South Lake) Tahoe often enough to have a fair idea of what’s what with hotels of different categories.
There are a several places rated one-star which are adequate but basic. This time there were two of us and we really wanted a restful getaway with decent sleeping and cooking facilities.
It was on the weekend at the end of the ‘spring-break’ ie the weekend following Easter and we reckoned to be able to get that at a reasonable rate. We did check sites like Expedia before traveling and so we knew that there were plenty vacancies all over SLT.

We had also previously been to 3 Peaks with somewhat mixed results but my traveling companion wanted to give it another try.

The most immediately obvious change is the reception area with a new bright clean look. It has a much more business like feel and echoes some of the modern lines seen in Palm Springs boutique hotels. No big surprise then to discover that 3 Peaks is under new management and that Chris Oliver the new manager has very recently arrived from …. guess what, a boutique hotel in Palm Springs.
The young, mainly male, reception staff create a fresh dynamic atmosphere at 3 Peaks and Chris exhibited his potential as a good manager by personally working through a series of options with us till we negotiated a deal on our exact requirements ie a two bed suite with full kitchen and large lounge facilities. It was very clear that he has his focus firmly on the bottom line and was just not about to let a decent two-night booking walk out the door.

As an aside, - or rather downside- there is a snooker room adjacent to the reception area but not isolated from it.. These things rarely attract the type of clientele that this hotel ought to be seeking but they do take up a lot of space and generate a lot of noise. Chris might do well to consider getting rid of the table which hogs so much space and instead provide some comfortable chairs to make a quiet pleasant lounge setting for guests.

Our rooms were made ready within the hour and were clean with all kitchen cutlery, utensils and details down to a small bottle of dish-wash detergent in place. Towels were good quality, plentiful and replaced by a cheery chambermaid the following day. Our suite had 3 big TV's all with a full range of channels plus a DVD player in the lounge - all electrical items were in good working order.
The new management has a major task ahead in upgrading the very dated furnishings in a wide variety of room styles and designs at 3 Peaks.
There are some 4 blocks of rooms, all different- and in common with much of the building in the district they are of wood construction with robust floor coverings on stairways etc to cope with heavy ski boots and wet snowboard style equipment being carried in and out daily.
For this reason as well, allowance has to be made for a lot of noise, often early in the morning, as people ready themselves for a day on the slopes.
Similarly, room furnishings are all quite dated and heavy in style with carved wood fixtures (right down to horrendous toilet roll holders) and heavy, but comfortable, armchairs and settees. Pretty much a maintenance nightmare I would have thought and it will require a lot of imagination, time and money to update the hotel.
We left 3 Peaks having had two comfortable nights and with an optimistic feel that this new management can bring dynamism to a property in a great location and with year round potential but which is beginning to show its age

  • Liked — Clean, good facilities- everything worked
  • Disliked — Wooden buildings and stairways can be very noisy
  • Stayed March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David82605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,099 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    564
    268
    117
    68
    82
See reviews for
290
447
63
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
new mexico
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2008

We went on a week long ski trip with a group- renting a total of 5 rooms from 3 peaks. The beds were super comfy, however, you couldn't get any sleep. The fire alarm went off twice (in building 5) in the early hours of the morning. The last time it went off about 4:30 and there was no one in the office to shut it off. One of the guys in our group had checked out that day because we were leaving early in the morning. He tried to call 911 to have the fire department shut it off and his phone had been disabled to outside calls since he had already paid his bill. Someone else called on their cell phone. When the fire dept. arrived they said that this alarm goes off all the time. When we tried to talk to the manager about it, they did not care at all... did not offer anything to us. Too bad because we come here often and we won't ever stay here again. There is alot to be said for good customer service and this place doesn't have any.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank faachick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
much to see
1 review
Reviewed March 5, 2008

The three peaks is a place worth checking out. I stayed over the weekend with some friends of mine and we had a blast. They were all so nice (when we were at the hotel). There was so much to do we barely stayed in our room. Whenever we did need something the help was there, fast. I'm glad to have stayed at this hotel and hope to be back to tahoe soon!

  • Liked — Nice people
  • Disliked — no lake view
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank hurtmit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
1 review
Reviewed March 2, 2008

While getting told at your destination hotel isnt accepting your reservation isn't anyone's idea of starting off the weekend right, getting set up at a nicer place is! The hotel is clean, close, and friendly. The management staff is a kick and were very very accommodating. Debbie is fantastic! The new rooms are great, particularly the honeymoon suite. I highly recommend it and will be going back and asking for Debbie by name when I do. :)

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
Thank chrisb75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed February 25, 2008

I love the outdoorsy feel of this place. The room with the two queen size beds. You get it all here, and a great deal. The staff was amazing. I didn't want for anything, and if I needed something or had a question, I didn't have to wait to get it. Thank you so much for making my first vacation of the year a huge success!

  • Liked — How well I was treated, and how reasonable everything is.
  • Disliked — I couldn't stay longer
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank airwavs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithton,Illinois
1 review
Reviewed February 23, 2008

This was the second time that I have stayed at The 3 Peaks.

Both visits have been great. The rooms and service have been more than I expected.

The management and front desk staff couldn't have done anymore to make our visit more enjoyable.

I will be staying at The 3 Peaks each time I vist South Lake Tahoe.

I will also be recommending The 3 Peaks to everyone that I know.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank zman0603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San
1 review
Reviewed February 21, 2008

I very much enjoyed my stay at the 3 peaks hotel. It was a very nice, small, resort. The jacuzzi was perfect, the room was perfect, the overall expierience was perfect. I truley apprieciate that everything went so well, as it was a special occation for my girlfriend and I. We were in a room with a kitchen, fireplace, and separate bedroom. It was like a nice apartment, really. Thanks for great time 3 Peaks!

  • Liked — Everthing
  • Disliked — We had to leave. :(
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BillBro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
1.3 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#12 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
939 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#15 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
859 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#4 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
881 reviews
0.7 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#7 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
459 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 3 Peaks Resort & Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 3 Peaks Resort & Beach Club

Property: 3 Peaks Resort & Beach Club
Address: 931 Park Avenue, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6974
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#7 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#12 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#16 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — 3 Peaks Resort & Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your 3 Peaks Resort & Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
3 Peaks Resort And Beach Club Hotel South Lake Tahoe
3 Peaks Hotel And Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing