We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel - great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Ranked #9 of 65 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 13, 2007

Very nice hotel in an excellent location.

The reservation staff canceled my entire reservation when I was simply canceling only one day. But the front desk staff on check in recovered from that mistake. Staff were generally helpful and friendly. The TV repair tech arrived within a 1/2 hour of our call.

Rooms were clean and comfortable, but daily housekeeping was not available under a regular stay. We were instructed to leave our trash bags out in the hall way. That wasn't too pleasant walking around the halls and seeing trash. I would not qualify this as a four star hotel because of this and upkeep in general. There were a number of common/public area places where the carpeting was stained, walls with nics, scratches, construction flaws, etc. But overall, a clean place in general and no serious complaints.

A one bedroom suite is a significant step up from a standard studio room. The suites are very large, like a small condo room with everything including an oversized jacuzzi tub. Daily parking rates are $17, which seems odd because the casinos and surrounding hotels are free.

The surrounding amenities are the high points for this hotel. A wide variety of restaurants, shops, movie theater, Heavenly gondola, etc. were within the same complex. Within walking distance is everything else. Plenty of kids and teens stuff to do. (Hint: Pay attention to this if you want a quiet hotel!!)

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank 4cees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,100)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,003 - 1,009 of 1,100 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2007

We stayed for 3 nights as part of a Marriott preview package. So we stayed at a great rate over the 3 nights. This hotel is in the MIDDLE of a busy growing retail establishments, and the interior rooms face the gondola. The hotel is a 3-4 star in terms of quality. It was built 'en masse' probably efficiently but not lasting quality. I could see it in the jacuzzi, which had a frame that was popping off, and the baseboard moldings were separated from the floor. Upkeep is spotty, carpeting is frayed already, and the steam bath in the women's gym looked like it was never cleaned.
On the plus side, nice touches include the fireplace in the suite and a small eat-in kitchen. Furnishings are stylish. The King size bed was pretty comfortable, but the kid's pull out sofa was very soft, standard quality sofa bed. The suite accomodated 2 adults and 2 kids nicely, with room for skiis and boots. I would recommend going off the beaten path for meals. We found some nice local restaurants (non-tourist).

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank KCSIG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2007

We stayed at the hotel for our annual ski vacation and had a great time. The location is awesome-right next to the Heavenly gondola & village and really close to the casinos too. The staff were really friendly and helpful, especially the concierge. She recommended Black Tie Delivery Ski Rentals, who brought us our ski rental equipment right to our room and then picked it up again when we were done! The service is awesome! Really nice staff and the equipment was all brand new. Their prices were even less than the area rental shops. The concierge also had some great restaurant suggestions-all within walking distance.

This was our third trip to South Tahoe in the past 5 years and this was by far our favorite hotel. I highly recommend the Timber Lodge!

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank susieski26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2007

Just returned from a five day four night stay. We had it booked for many months. Was sent a Marriott time share offer so the price was very good. As far as their marketing or reservation people go, it seems like the right hand does not know what the left hand was doing.

We had written confirmation from one office/person, then get a phone call from another telling us "we were confirmed" for dates or times we did not set. This went on for two or three back and forth calls. My wife, a customer service expert, was aggrevated when one such call came only a day or so in advance of our flight from Austin, TX to Reno, NV changing our stay days and time of presentation. Got the stay right but not the presentation time.

Time of presentation was a big deal as we went to SKI a full day, not stop early, after paying the big dollar lift price at Heavenly Ski area. In addition we had reserved a spot for our one year old at Heavenly's day-care center, so had to take her out early, also a big dollar expense but costs you less if you book ahead. We were pleased with their day-care FYI.

In addition, ask for their "baby-sitter" list as some of their staff work jobs on the side. Our's came right after her shift at Heavenly day-care and stayed with our child and our friend's child (two for one money)while the adults got to experience some Lake Tahoe night life. Did this two nights and she was fine, even brought some of her own children's DVDs.

We stayed in a fifth floor one bed/one bath condo. What a hike from the lobby! Only one elevator for the entire place too. Outdoor pool in the high wind weather there this past weekend was not too cool for us. Prefer "indoor/outdoor pools.

Condo looks 'okay" on the surface but close inspection uncovered many flaws and things needing maintenance attention. (I do construction defect cases so I can spot potential issues/problems). Moreover, on our presentation tour we were grouped with another couple as they were "busy" and did not have enough reps, it was fine with us and the other couple were very pleasant to meet. He is in construction in CA and he stated to me "man, this place is going to have some maintenance problems in the future" then on our tour of the model he pointed out many of the same things I had seen in our condo unit. Being a time-share owner in Whistler BC, we know how expensive maintenance and special assesments can be as a property ages or is not kept up as time goes by. (Warning). Our rep was professioanl and courteous and had no control over our previous Customer Service issues. However, they wanted about $35K for a 2/2 and $56K for a 3bdrm unit. (That is prime ski season week, only thing we want) Thus, we passed as we may go with a Marriott another place but Timber Lodge did not blow us away. In addition we have seen their units for sale other places like e-bay, red-week, TimeShareOnly, etc. for less $$. Rep claims you lose ability to trade within Marriott system or get points for your traded week. Neither may be true, that is, my deed has to say the same thing everyone else's does, and we are not interested in buying a prime ski location for trade or points, we want to go there year after year to ski, board, hang out, etc. We may buy a unit there at some point for less money, we'll see. More interested in Vail or Park City now than Lake Tahoe.

Mariott's location is good, parking is going to cost you. $11/day if you are staying there $14/day if not. Plus tips to valets and bellmen. Forget barrowing the bell cart for your gear. They have to haul it for you each and every time you come and go. We came and went a lot so it was a PAIN.

Gondola is right outside but did us no good as we had to "drive or shuttle" around to the CA base lodge for the Heavenly day care. Moreover, on a high wind day it is closed. We had lots of snow and wind while there! Thank goodness it snowed soooo much for our trip! down-side if there was one, we had to leave too soon, missed even more snow, and had to buy snow chains (Raleys groc. store for $33, for 16" mini-van wheels, for the rental car to drive back to reno airport.

(Warning Thrifty rental is not located at the airport and they currently don't have a working computer desk inside the terminal) IT Took forever to get out of the Thrifty rental lot. We arrived by AA at 2PM, got out of Thrifty after 4PM.
Only two people to wait on a huge line. TIP: If you do go with Thrifty rentals let one person go get the rental and then drive back to airport curbside for pickup of the others and ski/board gear, luggage. Try and do the reverse and everyone be patient. Tell that to an infant with no place to sit or play.

Hey, Marriott needs to build a better place and work on training for customer service. Let's face it Marriott not the Ritz Carlton at Bachelor's Gulch, CO and costs much less but there are much better Marriott properties.

Alternative place: Our AZ friends have an inexpensive place at The Ridge Tahoe. (NV side right by Stagecoach lodge/lift). Now it is NOT a Marriott but it cost them a couple of grand from a re-sale place there in Lake Tahoe. In the end we go for the skiing so we may end up with one of those units for a fraction of the Marriott unit. Down-side with those units are you have to drive down Kingsbury grade to town for dinner out, shopping, food supplies, casinos, and a long drive around to the CA Heavenly day-care or ski school if you need that for the kidos.

Stayed: February 2007
9  Thank TallTex_Austin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2007

This hotel is extremely conveniently located right next to the gondola to the Heavenly ski area. You can store your skis just outside the foyer and pick them up the next day and walk about 30 meters to the gondola entrance. The Heavenly ski area is a good size, unfortunately their snow hasn't been so good this year so we were only able to ski about 50%. The views from the California slopes are breathtaking. You can ski both sides of the border California or Nevada. The restaurants and casinos are only a minute or two's walk. The conciege was excellent and gave us some good tips for dinner. LouMarNar's(about 10 mins walk from hotel) was a lovely intimate restaurant which include a cheese fondue and salad in the price and their steaks were the best we'd ever tasted. We tried the Saumuri (Japanese resturant) about 10 minutes drive from hotel, again, a very good meal and great sushi bar.

If you like ski-ing try Kirkwood too - and excellent smaller resort about 30 mins drive from hotel. We also skiied Sierra-at-Tahoe but the snow was not so good but still a nice little resort.

Lake Tahoe would be great for summer or winter and the lake and the views around the lake are probably the most beautiful I have ever seen. The hotel is a short walk to the lake, I would say about 10 minutes.

The rooms in the hotel are a good standard and the studio we had was sufficient - plenty of room but be prepared to eat most meals out, the kitchen facility is only really good for breakfast.

The swimming pool was a little on the cold side, only children were brave enough to get in. The hot tubs however are advertised as being 105 degrees but we found them to be too hot (I know this sounds silly as it is supposed to be HOT) but it was almost scalding if you got your legs next the the lower water vents they could easily be burned. We still used the tubs but only for a few minutes (and we came out like lobsters!)

All in all though, a great hotel, great staff, great location and would go again.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marcine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2006

As usuall Mariott offers mediocre services, watch out for Mariott's hands in your packets. They charge for everything - parking, room service. No breakfast options...
Cable TV interferred with Managers Radio :) It was funny for awhile... But then became very anoying to here "Room 6334 needs more towels. Room 2344 need more shampoo. Room 3452 guests arriving... Fourth floor stinks, can somebody take the trash out", and so on every 5-10 minutes.
Services were very average, even Comfort Suites does better, and Hilton's Hampton Inn would get all stars compare to Mariott. :(


SCAM SCAM SCAM
Time share no preassure, except that they have these weird ideas to sell you their rooms 11 times more than the market value and that when you get older (hmmm I am only 26) you don't need room services, ha and I don't need Mariott then. And also Mariott charges 30% comissions if you decide to sell your time share, if you do it on your own, without Mariott's generous help, then you would loose all the services time share includes otherwise (which are points, timeshare exchange, etc.), according to the agreement. So resale value of the time share is very poor, and costs too much, with real estate prices going down. In South Lake Tahoe realestate magazine you can find 1-2 year old cabins fully furnished for around 100K, to own it 100%, not just 1/52 weeks a year. So don't buy it, it is very over priced. Just multiply the price they give you for a week by 52 (number of weeks a year). We were offered 22K for 1 bedroom 1 week a year. 22x52 = 1144K
The same amenities and size cabin on the open market in South Lake Tahoe go for about 100K, so Mariott sells it for 11.4 times the market value. Plus add interest, and home owners association fees and property taxes, which you will pay as a partial owner of the place.
Do your DD before accepting this SCAM.

Stayed: December 2006
6  Thank tpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2006

Used my girlfriends Timeshare again and was not disappointed.

Although the South Tahoe Express Shuttle doesn't stop here directly with Embassy suites the nearest, this hotel has everything we wanted.

A great grill (Fire + Ice) and friendly front desk personnel and concierge(connie) who was very helpful in questions etc even advising against buying stuff from the nearby shops if we didnt mind the 3 min walk to Raleys!

Located just next to the Heavenly Gondola and necessary shops for those who came here to ski. Check out the Fire+Ice grill for the energy and drinks.The food was alright..

The room has everything you need.It was clean and the fireplace+jacuzzi was a nice addition to the kitchen+hall+room+toilet.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank BryanHuangPFS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#8 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
912 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#13 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
219 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#5 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#11 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,128 reviews
1.2 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
488 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
#17 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Timber Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Timber Lodge

Address: 4100 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6965
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#14 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range: $147 - $570 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's Timber Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 264
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marriott's Timber Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Timber Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Marriotts Lake Tahoe
Marriotts Timber Hotel
Marriott Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing