We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great resort and location for all”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Ranked #10 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
oxnard, ca
1 review
“Great resort and location for all”
Reviewed January 22, 2009

We traded our timeshare unit for Lake Tahoe. Couldn't have been more pleased with the location. Awesome location due to it being right next to the Heavenly Gondola. Very convenient if you have kids. The resort stands up to the Marriott name. The rooms are spacious and clean. We had a 2 bedroom on the 5th floor. Later found out that floors 1-4 have a nicer bathroom since the jacuzzi baths are much larger then the 5th floor. Actually the rooms are bigger on the 1st thru 4th floor but I'm not complaining because our room had plenty of space for 4 people. Also the 5th floor rooms do not have a balcony so keep that in mind. Again, not that it really matters. The pool area is beautiful and yes, people use it in the winter time as well since it is heated to 85 degrees. Don't forget your bathing suit like we did. You rarely have to get into your car since Heavenly Village is 2 seconds away. We saw a movie at the theatre, ice skated at the rink which is right in the middle of the village.
The kids also enjoyed the activities center within the resort. All in all we had a great vacation. I highly recommend this location and resort. We hadn't even left Tahoe and the kids were already asking to come back next year. I also have to mention the staff at the resort, they are all awesome and willing to help you out with anything.

  • Liked — clean and spacious
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank luvtotravelOxnard_Ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,053 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    527
    359
    94
    45
    28
See reviews for
468
330
21
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bay Area, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2008

Very close to the lake! Beautiful site. Literally right next to the gondola for Heavenly resort for skiers and riders. The lobby is very lovely.

One downside to our trip was that the room next to us was extremely loud for hours on end (it seemed like the hotel spent all the insulation money for the windows but neglected the walls in between rooms). It was after midnight in the middle of the week, and when we called the lobby to ask them to tell the room next to us to be quiet, they obviously did nothing because I was lying in bed two hours later still wide awake, hearing extremely loud laughter and talking from next door. My mom had to get out of bed in the middle of the night to go complain to the lobby - they finally sent a security guard to go shut that room up.

Oh yeah, bring extra cash with you because parking is expensive and it's valet only.

Eats - Fire and Ice restaurant inside the hotel looks amazing. Very cool place to hang out at night.

  • Liked — Perfect location in Heavenly Village
  • Disliked — Expensive parking
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank longboardcruisin86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2008

Just got back from a quick trip to South Lake Tahoe (November 23-26). First time to visit this part of the country...went with husband and three kids (ages 14, 12 and 9). Such a beautiful place with the mountains and the water - it is not to be missed!

We own a couple of weeks at Marriott Ocean Club in Maui, so we knew what to expect regarding timeshare resorts. For the most part, this property met our expectations. The room was clean and comfortable, with one major exception! Since we had five people staying in the room, we assumed that we'd get the larger one-bedroom room. Instead, we received the hotel-room lock-off upon check-in. This meant that we had to cram 5 people into a pretty small area. Not fun, and definitely not what we thought we had arranged prior to our visit! The room itself was very nice, though. It would be fine for families of 4 or fewer, and even better if those families include younger children than ours.

We selected our dates based on the opening of ski season at Heavenly, but Mother Nature did not cooperate. The opening was delayed and we were unable to ski at the resort while we were in town. This was a major bummer for us, since it was our first ski vacation. As it turns out, our timing was particularly poor since nothing was open on the mountain - not even the things that are normally open in the off-season like the gondolas. In case you are wondering...yes, we did ask about this before we booked and we were told that, yes, all of these activities would be open during our stay. I can't hold that against the Marriott folks, since they based their comments on the schedule and everything was indeed scheduled to open on 11/21. They can't make it snow!

On a brighter note, they did have the ice skating rink available in the adjacent village so our kids took full advantage of that, and on our last full day in Tahoe, we drove 1 1/2 hours up to Mt. Rose one day to do some skiing up there, so the trip wasn't a total bust.

The location of the hotel is perfect - right next to the casinos and right in the middle of all the shopping (and presumably skiing) action. There is a grocery story and a movie theater one block away + lots of convenient restaurants to grab dinner.

We were blown away by the lake and the mountains, and we'd love to come back during the summer.

  • Liked — Location and quality of resort
  • Disliked — Size of our room
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Searchgirl44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dixon, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2008

The hotel at first appearance is beautiful, upscale lodge feel. Valet galore to assist us when we arrived, no waiting, and friendly as well. Great location, a block from Harrah's/Harvey's. Front desk employee was also friendly and acomodating. The room was beautiful, we stayed in a (suite?), unsure of the type of room, my boyfriend booked it. Full kitchen, living area, king bed and jacuzzi tub.
Check-out is 10 AM, which is quite early, especially after a night night at the casinos.
I was turned off by the 9AM call asking what time we were planning on leaving....Not customary in any other hotel I have stayed at, especially when check-out is already abnormally early. May seem minor, but I felt it to be a bit rude.

  • Liked — Although we didn't take part, there were numerous family activities available. Nice touch, resort feel.
  • Disliked — 9AM call asking what time we were leaving
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Kari76Dixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2008

We booked the hotel at the last minute and found it just outstanding. It is off season and perhaps this was the way to go. We booked a studio room but apparently there are three extra large studios and we had one of them. The room incredibly large, with a fireplace and jacuzzi tub. We love the surrounding area and thought that this hotel is perfectly suited to all attractions. We would stay there again with out a doubt.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelsWorldwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2008

We (3 couples) just returned from a wonderful get away week in Lake Tahoe. We had a 3 bedroom unit at the Timber Lodge over looking the pool and many jacuzzi's (which we enjoyed every night). Each bedroom has a king bed, flat screen television, and bathroom. Our unit had a full kitchen, living area with fireplace, balcony, and free wireless interent. We stayed in the Alpine building on the 5th floor and couldn't have been happier. We flew into Reno and made a grocery run at Costco before heading to the lake. Lake Tahoe is one of the most beautiful places in the world! The Timber Lodge is located on the south shore just next to Harrah's casino. There are movie theaters, specialty boutique shops, a grocery store and many restaurants within walking distance. The ski gondola is connected right to the hotel complex, but as this was off season, it was closed until November 21. One day we rented bikes from a vendor (Anderson Bike Rental) on the road that leads to Emerald Bay. The bike trail is paved and takes you winding through the pine trees, along Pope and Baldwin beaches and through the historic estate areas. It was fantastic! The salmon were running, which in itself is fascinating, but we also spotted a bear getting his fill of the jumping fish. Wow! Another day we drove to the Emerald Bay lookout. Very nice views of the lake from a high vantage point. We had a wonderful meal at the Chart House, Edgewood Country Club and at Naked Fish Sushi. We would go back to all. We ate breakfast at Heidi's down the road from the Timber Lodge and thought the food was yummy. Other days for breakfast, we purchased THE BEST cinnamon rolls from a bakery on site. On the way back to the Reno airport, we made a stop in Virginia City. Very fun step back in time. Great museum and great burgers at the Palace Restaurant. We loved the Timber Lodge and Lake Tahoe and highly recommend both.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank PBO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2008

We spent a wonderful fall weekend at the Marriott Timber Lodge. Our room was exceptionally clean and very well maintained. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. I would recommend using the concierge desk, they were terrific! The pool was very nice and not too crowded this time of year, despite the weather being beautiful. We also ate lunch at the restaurant on the grounds, "Fire and Ice", which was very good and reasonable (for lunch, may be more for dinner?) I would not, however, recommend going there for just the bar...$8 dollar draft beer!! The restaurant at the Embassy Suites next door was also good ("Echo's). The area immediately around the Marriott is nice for shopping and eating. I would definitely recommend riding the Heavenly Gondala up for the view. They had the ski slopes open for "hiking" at the top...no snow yet.
South Lake Tahoe is very built up...if you're looking to have a quiet Tahoe wilderness weekend, I would stay somewhere else. But, we drove to Emerald Bay (about 15 min) and did some hiking around there....beautiful!!
We had a terriffic time at the Timber Lodge and would definitely recommend it!

  • Liked — clean; comfortable bed; the staff
  • Disliked — wouldn't change a thing!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SteelersFan27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Lake Tahoe
0.1 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
1.2 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
1.6 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#13 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#4 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
#1 of 9 in Stateline
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,035 reviews
23.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Timber Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Timber Lodge

Property: Marriott's Timber Lodge
Address: 4100 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6965
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#14 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's Timber Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 264
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Vacatia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Marriott's Timber Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Timber Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Marriotts Lake Tahoe
Marriotts Timber Hotel
Marriott Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing