We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Condos - Repeat Visitor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Ranked #10 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
5,162 reviews
275 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,635 helpful votes
“Excellent Condos - Repeat Visitor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2014

The past few years we have been going to the Marriott - Either the Timber Lodge or its sister property The Grand Residences. The condos are well appointed and a very nice place to relax. There are activities on site. We have participated in several; in particular one Halloween we participated in making some spooky alcoholic drinks. A great way to start the evening.

Luckily, with drinking extra spooky drinks , one is able to walk to several restaurants in the area and also the South Lake Tahoe Casino Area. We enjoy also that there is shops, a grocery store, and a movie theater within a very short walking distance.

The swimming pool area here is very nice as well as the outdoor jacuzzi spa areas. We like their spa services as well. The valet parking is very good here and efficient.

The condos have comfortable beds, nice bathrooms, and well equipped kitchens. This is probably one of the best equipped condo kitchens we have stayed at.

Hotel staff are helpful.

The hotel is about an hour drive south of the Reno Airport if you take highway 395 and then either 50 or Kingsbury Grade to South Lake Tahoe.

Room Tip: All rooms are good - some come with washer/dryer which is nice if there for a week's stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,041 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    519
    358
    93
    44
    27
See reviews for
463
325
21
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2014

Very well-appointed room with classy furnishings, as has been typical of our experiences so far with Marriott Vacation club properties. All of the normal amenities (pool, hot tub, fitness room, etc) are kept in good shape. Perhaps the biggest plus is how close it's located to an area of bustling activity both night and day. The hotel is situated right next to or very, very close to: a gondola, courtyard, movie theater, grocery store, casino(s), miniature golf, cafe's, restaurant's, and many shops. Add the nightly live music to the mix and you have yourself one cool place.

A couple more notes. First, the hotel is valet parking only. I highly recommend using the "text" ahead feature to the valet's so your car will be waiting for you when you exit the lobby. Second, most of the various programs for young and old offered by the entertainment crew come with an added-cost which may surprise nobody but mentioned because at some MVC's I've perceived the opposite to be true. And lastly the gondola ride is expensive, especially for a family of 6, but we did feel like it was one of those experiences that was worth it.

Cheers!

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank BillyPenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2014

Excellent location, next to the Casinos and Lift to the top of the Mountain. Great selection of restaurants in the patio mall. The staff was terrific with many activities to keep everyone busy. The pool and fire pit was fun to spend time around.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kensington, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2014

The location is really central to everything. The room was big size but kind of an awkward space with a 6 person dining table in the living room when it was only a one bedroom. The valet service at $26/day wasn't good. Cars took longer than the 10 minutes promised. Also, when we retrieved our car when we checked out, I noticed a generic key chain with the car key. My Tiffany silver key chain was not there and nor were all my other keys. I went back to the valet and told him. He pulled out a drawer and said oh here it is, it fell off the chain. I had to ask for that? No apology. Also, the housekeeping didn't show up one day. I called at 4:00 to complain and they sent someone. They didn't clean the toilet or the sinks. Not impressed.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matts2869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calaveras County CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2014

If they didn't advertise themselves as a five start resort I would not have been nearly as annoyed. But they do, and I was. Plus their advertising lies. Not a good start.

First, they hit you up for $26 bucks to park your car. There is no other option offered. If you don't know you can park in Harrah's lot behind the property (and walk and walk to get back) they are sure not going to tell you. Oh, and you can't just go get stuff out of your car, you have to have the valet go get it. Seriously.

The only upside to getting shaken down for an extra 26 bucks before you've even checked in is that you've inadvertently paid for your NOT FREE WIFI. If you read the reviews first and managed to find your way to the front desk without getting lost by parking in another property's parking lot, then you'd get to pay for wireless. Check in at 4, check out at 10? What, they can't hire enough housekeeping staff to keep up? They will do early check in and late check out, but listening in on others they are kind of stingy about it.

Maps of the property are totally inadequate. They don't actually tell you where to find ANYTHING other than the pool. Good luck finding activities. Nor is there any customer satisfaction survey... guess I wouldn't want to know either.

Oh, and while other hotels try to be responsible about water use, this one is apparently unaware that California is in the midst of the worst drought in decades.

SMALL room. It is a good thing it was summer and we did not have a lot of luggage or ski gear. It simply wouldn't have fit with two adults and a seven year old. And it was easy to keep track of how late the other guests kids went to bed and what tv shows they were watching. Not exactly quiet.

Everything costs. Smores outside (a "resort activity") cost a buck apiece. Come on guys. No free breakfast. No on site breakfast at all, in fact.

They put us in a different room than we reserved, (A king and hide-a-bed instead of two queens) and then the hide-a-bed was not made up, so we had to make the bed. Honestly, I stayed at an airport hotel in Denver that was WAY WAY nicer, bigger more modern room actually free internet and it cost a heck of a lot less.

Do they have ice machines? We never found one. And we looked.

Front desk people were having trouble with the computers and card makers... Not impressed.

Not a five star hotel or resort by any stretch of the imagination. A pretty hotel, out to get the last stinking dime out of every "guest."

The location is excellent and the carpets are new and the pool is nice as are the hot tubs. But don't think anyone is going to tell you that some of them are hotter and colder than others, except the other guests, who were quite nice.

At least we didn't pay full price. If we had I'd be PISSED. We won't come back to ski out of here.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank travelmom061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2014

We arrived at the Timber Lodge on Sunday afternoon having started our family vacation with lost luggage (thanks United!). Before scurrying off to our 2 rooms I explained to the front desk staff the urgency in calling my room the minute the airport service showed up with our luggage, stating we had ski school for 3 in our party scheduled the next morning. This being our second ski vacation at this property we knew what to expect as far as the rooms and they didn’t disappoint. I do believe they’ve done some updating, or at least our 2-bedroom villa had been recently updated and was really quite nice. The hotel fitness area is one of the absolute best I have come across in my travels – nice commercial grade equipment, with completely separate cardio and free weight rooms, mats, towels, showers, a water dispenser, and even complimentary cheap headphones. The hallways of this hotel are bustling and very noisy at times – to be expected as this is a family resort, and we have only stayed here on spring breaks.

The gondola is right outside the hotel steps, and the hotel itself is situated in Heavenly Village – the heart of restaurants, shopping, live music, and a whole 3 minute walk to the casinos. The location of the Timber Lodge is impressive. What isn’t impressive? The hotel staff and calling them every 3 hours of the day and night for your lost luggage, finally walking downstairs to look everywhere for it, then discovering your luggage has been SITTING in the valet office. Yep, I just happened to catch a glimpse into the valet office as an employee was walking in and saw familiar bright orange ribbons hanging off my luggage handles. Thank God the ski/snowboard school let us push our $1,100 lessons further out in the week to accommodate our lost luggage. Maid service, valet, and bellhop was average at best (maids didn’t do dirty dishes and bellhops didn’t offer to help a party of 7 up or down from their rooms).

Overall, at almost $5,000 for lodging for 6 nights, I expect MUCH better service than what we received at the Timber Lodge. Other than the luggage incident, both our vacation stays at the Timber Lodge were consistent in service, or lack thereof. We stayed here because ski-in/ski-out with kids, teens, large parties is just easier. Would I recommend staying elsewhere? Absolutely. Busses run constantly off the main road and will run you between the Heavenly and California ski lodges. I love Lake Tahoe and Heavenly, but not the Marriot Timber Lodge. Happy travels!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
Level Contributor
128 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014

The Marriott Timber Lodge at South Lake Tahoe has the perfect location for a Tahoe vacation. The rooms are comfortable, offering all you could need. There are many activities right at the resort, so there is no need to go searching for what to do. Shopping and restaurants are nearby as well. This is a great place to visit!

Room Tip: The Alpine building is the best. The top floors are great, although there are no balconies there, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CWanlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Lake Tahoe
0.1 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
1.2 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
1.6 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#13 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#4 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
#1 of 9 in Stateline
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,951 reviews
23.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Timber Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Timber Lodge

Property: Marriott's Timber Lodge
Address: 4100 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6965
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#14 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's Timber Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 264
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marriott's Timber Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Timber Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Marriotts Lake Tahoe
Marriotts Timber Hotel
Marriott Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing