We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Ranked #10 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

Honestly I was unsure when I book it, but since the arrival I totally change my mind. Cost vs benefit was huge, you will get everything to forget about travelling issues and just enjoy your stay. Room was great and quite (even though the pool area was under improvements we never get bothered), the resort is full of things to do an near everywhere (emerald bay e.g.) you can kayaking walking distance, bike, hike, eat, and enjoy an incredible sunset and sunrise. For sure we will back for ski season.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jose Rodrigo I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,092)
There are newer reviews for Marriott's Timber Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

497 - 503 of 1,092 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

Jenny was great at the front desk! It's always nice to have a friendly face to check you in! Very impressed! The hotel itself is very nice as well, couldn't be happier! The fitness center is a plus and we did beach yoga with Stephanie the fitness instructor who was very friendly as well and we enjoyed our session! It's nice to have the different options when on vacation!

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank mrsabbylarson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

This is second time we've stayed here in the last year. It's an attractive resort with very friendly and helpful staff. The location is incredible. Steps from excellent restaurants, shopping, skiing, beaches, boating and more. Activities also offered all day long at Timber Lodge. We especially enjoyed learning to make Mojitos in Mojitos 101. This is just an overall wonderful place to stay for many reasons! You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CLA333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Timber Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Thank you for visiting Marriott's Timber Lodge! We appreciate your feedback on your recent stay with us. The mojito class is certainly a great way to have fun in the hot summer weather! Thank you again for visiting and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for two nights prior to a business training even in Minden, NV. Obviously it was worth the drive across the mountain range ~45 minutes. The rooms were very large and accommodating. The location to the Heavenly mountain cable car is the best in the area since its at your doormat; i.e. ski in/out concept. All of the south lake Tahoe entertainment and restaurant options are within walking distance.

The only con would be that the room was $225/night in the summertime. Kind of pricey compared to Harrah's, Harvey's, and Montbleu casino's.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tluehr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Timber Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

We are happy you could join us on your recent business trip to Minden! Thank you for the positive review and we hope to see you again at Marriott's Timber Lodge!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

so my wife and i were booked at the howard johnson, after checking in an seeing our room we immed left and found this hotel. thinking its a mariott, we couldn't go wrong.

the rooms and property are very nice. the service face to face is awesome. and great location

the maid service is horrible, and when you call to say anything about it, the staff on the phone is rude.

i wouldnt come here till after the pool area construction is done, i wish we would have known this was going on before we booked. our first room was on the first floor right by the pool, and we had workers staring in on our room. we requested to move and we got another side on the 3rd floor, only to be woken up at 7:02 this morning by construction.

fyi as well. there is a $26 resort fee that includes valet. this hotel does not have self parking, only valet.

UPDATE:

day after we get home i check the AMEX, we paid through priceline $358 for 3 nights. i see that the timber lodge has also charged us $322 on our AMEX. this was without letting us know our credit card would be charged, except for incidentals.

now i have to go through a hassle of removing this double charge.

it has been over a week and nobody has gotten back to us after numerous voicemails, we have opened a investigation through AMEX.

Room Tip: avoid construction area.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank scottf398
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Timber Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Thank you for providing us your feedback on TripAdvisor, Scott. While we are glad the villa and resort met your expectations, our team apologizes the housekeeping service and construction impacted your stay. It is also concerning that there was a double charge on your credit card as this can be frustrating. When you have a moment, please contact our Customer Care team at 800-860-9384 or by email at Customer.care@vacationclub.com. Thank you again for your review and for providing us your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We exchanged a week to stay at the Timber Lodge. They are re-doing the entire pool area but that did not detract from the experience. The rooms are spacious and well appointed. They are clean and the staff is always friendly. The concierge desk was most helpful. Parking is valet only and costs $26/night if you are not a MVC participant. Otherwise it is a free service. We could go to the other Marriott just next door to the pool and it was fine. The location is right by the Gondola for the Heavenly Ski Resort and you are right next to Heavenly Village...shops, restaurants, movie theater, etc. Very convenient and only one block from the state line and the casinos. They had many free activities during our week. This is a great property.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Rick_Sue1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Timber Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Thank you for your five-star TripAdvisor review, Rick! Pool renovations are never fun, but we are happy to read that this did not detract from your stay. Our team looks forward to your next stay at Marriott's Timber Lodge!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

From the time you check in until you leave the staff was always smiling. Helpful with any questions you may have. The rooms are perfect - we stayed in the one bedroom suite. It was well stocked with plates and pots & pans. Pool closed but will reopen, I think in July, and it will be fabulous. BBQ pits, fire-pit and hot tubs. It will be a very nice area. For the time being you can use the pool at the Marriott next door.

Room Tip: Try and get buildings around pool.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank retiree508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Timber Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Thank you for visiting Marriott's Timber Lodge! It's great to hear you had a lovely stay with us on your recent trip to Lake Tahoe. We are sorry you didn't get to enjoy the pool during this visit, but hope you can join us again soon in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Lake Tahoe
0.1 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#8 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
900 reviews
1.5 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#11 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,078 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#5 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
#1 of 9 in Stateline
3,617 reviews
23.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
22.4 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#2 of 5 in Olympic Valley
1,874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Timber Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Timber Lodge

Address: 4100 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6965
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#14 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range: $131 - $379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's Timber Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 264
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TravelUp, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marriott's Timber Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Timber Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Marriotts Lake Tahoe
Marriotts Timber Hotel
Marriott Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing