We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice as expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Ranked #10 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
Lake Worth
Level Contributor
125 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Nice as expected”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Nice property well located as we have come to expect with Marriott vacation properties. We were only here for a quick overnight, so did not really get to experience the property. Room was spacious, clean and well appointed.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 800BarbaraH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Timber Lodge, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you for staying with us at Marriott's Timber Lodge! We hope you will have a chance to spend more time with us on your next trip and thank you for you review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,053 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    527
    359
    94
    45
    28
See reviews for
468
330
21
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anaheim California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Great location next to gondolas and heavenly village. The village is great with good entertainment and food. Location is also close to all the major casinos. Room was good size and kitchen was well equipped.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ardleh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Timber Lodge, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
It is always rewarding to hear when we have exceeded our guest's expectations! We appreciate your positive review and thank you for your kind words. Please visit us again soon at Marriott's Timber Lodge!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

My small family has been going to this property for the last 4 winters and we have thoroughly enjoyed every stay. The property is surrounded by many shops, restaurants and activities. I highly recommend this property, as it caters to adults and children. We have typically stayed in the 1-Bedroom Villa, which was plenty of space for my husband, young daughter and myself. The only downfall is that the pool/Jacuzzi area is outdoor, deeming it unusable in the winter.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VZ F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
238 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

You can't beat the location. Located right on the gondola this place is a skiers dream. Sure you have to valet your car, but don’t worry you will not need it. Everything is within walking distance ( gondola to the Heavenly ski lifts, restaurants, shops, ski rentals, grocery stores, Starbucks and even a movie theater! The result is a very social hotel. Great after après-ski scene in the areas around the gondola. Lots of live music. If you like this kind of thing get a room on the gondola side. If you don’t want to hear live music till 9pm get a room on the far side of the hotel.

The rooms are well appointed, although they are a bit narrow. The kitchen is well appointed and we made most of our meals here. Only thing we found lacking were measuring cups which we purchased at the grocery store. There is a free ski valet so no need to drag gear up to the rooms nightly. The pool was nice as were the hot tubs. Athough post ski they do become kid city!

South Lake Tahoe is a very real town. Also if you gamble The casinos are less than a block away. Loved this place and I will be back!

Room Tip: The gondola starts turning at 0730 so if you are a light sleeper avoid that side of the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldensign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Timber Lodge, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you for the great TripAdvisor review! It's great to hear you loved the resort amenities including the Starbucks coffee! It is certainly needed after a long day of skiing. We hope to welcome you back soon and thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
123 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Great place for family fun. Rented a one bedroom villa that was outstanding for the price. Jacuzzi Tub, large living area, kitchen, clean and not much wear at all. These places were renovated two years ago from what one employee told us. Pool is very nice and heated to 84 degrees, 3 outdoor Hot Tubs heated to 104. Very nice grounds. Gondola is 50 feet away as well as restaurants, shops, rental places. Just a short drive or bike ride to the lake. Great places for the kids on the property. We loved it. One note to Marriott elites, don't be surprised that these folks don't acknowledge you or offer anything, they don't seem to care about that.

Room Tip: The buildings away from check-in and on the other side of the pool are a little difficult to get to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
95 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

This resort is top notch! When you walk in you are greeted by a comfortable lodge with beautiful decor and fireplaces. The check in desk is large & staffed well, which comes in handy during peak check in times. My husband, two small children (2 & 4) stayed VERY comfortably in their one bedroom suite. The room was great with a modern lodge feel. The kitchen was grand with a large breakfast bar and full kitchen table. The bathroom had a large jacuzzi tub, which my kids loved.
There is a Kids Club where little ones can play while chaperoned by their parents or if they are 5 years up to 12 (I think) you can reserve a play date where staff will supervise their actives. Great for parents who need some alone time. There is also a teen club for your older kiddos.
The pool is incredible! It is enormous and there is also a wading pool for your little ones. The shopping & restaurants at Heavenly are excellent & are just a short walk right outside the resort doors. The gondola for Heavenly is directly outside the resort too so it is very convenient if you're feeling adventurous.
Highly recommend you consider this resort for your next visit to Lake Tahoe.

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mecruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
Level Contributor
69 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We stayed in the Marriott Timber Lodge after much searching. There is a similar property of Marriott also available, but we chose this. The Room was pretty big and i think more than 800 sq ft. Had a fireplace (which we did not use). The staff was helpful. We skiied and came back to the Hotel to enjoy the warmth of this place.

What made special was the view from the room.

Would definitely love to come back here

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ntpasari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Timber Lodge, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
We appreciate your five-star review of Marriott’s Timber Lodge! As loyal Tripadvisor contributor, we take great pride in providing you with an exceptional vacation experience. We hope to welcome you back soon and thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Lake Tahoe
0.1 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
1.2 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
1.6 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#13 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#4 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
#1 of 9 in Stateline
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,035 reviews
23.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Timber Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Timber Lodge

Property: Marriott's Timber Lodge
Address: 4100 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6965
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#14 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's Timber Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 264
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Vacatia, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Marriott's Timber Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Timber Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Marriotts Lake Tahoe
Marriotts Timber Hotel
Marriott Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing