We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Ranked #9 of 65 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 25, 2013

The Marriot Timber Lodge in South Lake Tahoe, California is just beautiful. What an amazing place and just about 30 feet from the Nevada border...... and another 10 feet to Harrah's casino with access to four major casinos within 15 minutes walking. The hotel and grounds are spectacular. The pool is heated and there are 3 outdoor hot spas to use. The hotel room I had included a living room, full kitchen, a desk area, bedroom, full bath room and extra bathroom area with a Jacuzzi style tub. There were 2 knowledgeable people at the concierge's station and lots of counter help at check in and check out. Lots of segregated activities if you have children. Fire and Ice bar and restaurant was great.

Room Tip: Don't worry about the weather. You get lots of updates via your room phone about events, weathe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,100)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

588 - 594 of 1,100 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2013

spent 7 nights in a beautiful condo. Washer and Dryer were included in our unit. Very nice decor with a fireplace. Close to restaurants and shopping. Grocery within walking distance too. Nice pool. If you are not a marriott owner, though, be prepared to pay a hefty fee for valet service. concierge was very enthusiastic and helpful with all of our questions. Only complaint - on our last night there was a wedding party staying on our floor. They were partying in the hall and were very loud all night long. We had a 6 am flight,. My husband opened our door and asked them to go in one of their rooms. They swore at him. We called the front desk to ask them for some help at 1:30 AM, 2 AM, AND 3 AM - - no one answered the phone! This was a little disconcerting, because if there had been a health emergency, or the party people decided to become physical as well as verbal - we would have been in trouble.

Room Tip: there are rooms with a pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sue r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We came to South Tahoe for a family wedding. My in-laws are Marriott timeshare owners so they booked three suites in this location. The service here, as far as the concierge, front desk and valets, is great. The people working here are energetic and very friendly. They work very hard.

We did not pay for the rooms, because my in-laws have timeshare points. Apparently, you can also get regular hotel rooms and suites, so I checked the price. At this time, the price was about $260 (plus taxes and fees) for a three room suite, which is where we stayed. When you consider that this suite sleeps at least 8, it's a good deal, actually. The only concern I have with "value" is that people who do NOT own timeshares pay a $26 a day fee for valet parking. There are absolutely no other options on the property. Of course, we didn't have to pay for our room, but if you are paying for a room, then adding $26 to the top of that per day, it is quite expensive. That's more than we paid when we stayed in New York City! I will share that there ARE options for those who are really creative when it comes to parking. You CAN find parking for free, but it's a bit of a walk, and can be a pain. However, we figured it was silly to pay the parking, so we did just that. I'll be happy to share with any curious travelers who are headed that way.

We slept extremely well. The bed was SO comfy and the rooms were really comfortable. The sleeper sofas had "memory foam" so our children slept very soundly. There's not a lot of outside noise, which makes it nice, and the window curtains are heavy to keep out extra light. The beds feel fresh and clean.

The rooms are very clean upon check-in. However, if you are in a timeshare unit, you do not get daily maid service. They have you place trash in the hallway. You can call for clean towels, and they will bring them within about 10 minutes. In addition, you need to ask for things like shampoo and such, after your first ones are gone. I didn't mind that, but if you're there for several days, it can get a bit messy.

The location is perfect! It's right at the base of the skiing mountain, where you find the gondola. There is all kinds of wonderful shopping, and there are many, many restaurants. There are great views of the streets, and once you go outside, you get some nice views, as well after walking around. It is close to Harrah's, with its casino...right in the center of the town. My girls enjoyed checking out "Sock City" a store that sells socks, and is very close by. I refused to buy them socks for $7.99 a pair, but they loved looking. They also liked the candy and soda store. You can get all kinds of weird sodas and there are lots of interesting candy choices as well. It's a fun place for the kids to go or for adults who are looking for a favorite childhood treat. The pool is very nice, not enormous, but a nice big size, and there are hot tubs, as well. You get great views from the pool area.

We did not use the kids activities, but they do have them available, for three different age ranges.

We did not use room service either, but there are a few different restaurants. We actually ate at other places, though.

The rooms are the highlight of this hotel. They were updated in the past year and are very nice. The full kitchen (yes, FULL, with an oven, dishwasher, etc) has stainless appliances, and lovely granite countertops. There is a closet in the kitchen with stackable front load washer and dryer...very convenient. The bathrooms are nicely updated (there were two in our suite, one was very, very large with a separate shower and tub). The center area, with the kitchen, has a table and chairs, along with a nice sitting area with pullout sleeper sofa. My girls LOVED the window seats and had fun looking out at the hustle and bustle. Our bedroom was fairly large, with a comfy king bed and sleeper sofa for the girls. There was a huge walk in closet, and a wet bar with frig, toaster and coffee maker.

This is a wonderful, lovely property. I would have rated it at the highest rating if it weren't for the parking fees. That made it tough for people...you either pay $26 a day to park, or have the hassle of parking elsewhere and going back and forth. I know, I'm cheap that way, but it just seems unnecessary! So, seriously, if you need a really wonderful place to stay, and don't mind the parking fee, I highly suggest that you book a place at this resort.

Room Tip: corner suite was huge! don't book above the Base Camp restaurant because there is live music ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MommyTess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed at this location a couple years ago, and I don't remember any problems. This time, several things could have been better.
The pros: The valets are quick and courteous, no problems there. The check-in people were nice and friendly, as were the concierges. Great location - short walk to the casinos and some (overpriced) shops and restaurants.
The cons: the door of the women's restroom off the lobby was very sticky. In our room, the ice bucket was sitting in a puddle of filthy water. There were dirty fingerprints on one of the doors. The bathroom was somewhat dusty. There was no sugar or cream for the coffee. We did not get maid service. We left our room around 10 a.m., and noticed the cleaning cart 2 doors down. When we returned around 3:30, they were 1 door down, and our room had not been cleaned. The cart stayed at the room across the hall for an hour plus while we were showering and getting ready to go out. The next day the cleaning people couldn't seem to figure out which rooms they were supposed to clean. Lots of back and forth on the walkie-talkies.

The next issue is not the hotel's fault, but I would ask to stay far away from the elevator next time. Some drunk guys came in around 3:30 a.m. and went in and out of their room and the elevator several times, while talking loudly in the hall. Lost an hour of sleep in the middle of the night.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room away from the elevators. If possible, get one closer to the lobby; otherwise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caliblue75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Marriott's Timber Lodge is an excellent vacation place! The best place to stay in beautiful South Lake Tahoe!!! Excellent guest service and staff from front desk, housekeeping, management to the fabulous "Fire & Ice restaurant... Great food and EXCELLENT guest service and gorgeous villas and place! Perfect place and the name of the village is perfect... "Heavenly Village" A new favorite resort and destination for all!!! I strongly suggest this as the #1 place to stay in South Lake Tahoe!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank myscshell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I've stayed at Marriott's Timber Lodge almost every year since it was built. It just keeps getting better and better!

I'm not sure how they do it, but the management of this beautiful property finds the nicest people in the world to work for them. Valets, front desk, house keeping, engineering, management, Fire & Ice staff... All super friendly, helpful, nice, polite, and patient.

Pros: Amazing rooms with all the amenities of a luxury condo - Perfect Location for skiing, hiking (check out the Van Syke state park just behind the property for excellent hiking), gaming, fine food, mini-golf, beach access, and more! - fast wireless internet - excellent beds - Jacuzzi tubs - super insulated windows, floors, walls.

Cons: Very popular so plan well in advance, yet sometimes they have a few of the studios at a decent rate if you book online with Marriott.

Looking forward to my next stay!!

Room Tip: high floors facing the mountain are usually the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kassey22000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

What a wonderful place to stay! Located in the middle of everything-- this place was pretty fantastic. We stayed in a studio suite which was just a tad dark in the room, but when you think about how often you are in the room, it didn't make any inconvenience at all.

There was a good sized refrigerator and a standard microwave in the room-- as well as a toaster and coffee pot as well-- plus a little bar area that was great for washing up the dishes and such.

The ONLY downfall was that the hotel does not have room service-- which definitely would have been nice a few of the mornings and late nights!

Room Tip: I had a top floor room with a view of the alley between the hotels-- not the greatest, but it was qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roadtripper7823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#8 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
912 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#13 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
219 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#5 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#11 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,128 reviews
1.2 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
488 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
#17 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Timber Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Timber Lodge

Address: 4100 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6965
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#14 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range: $147 - $570 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's Timber Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 264
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marriott's Timber Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Timber Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Marriotts Lake Tahoe
Marriotts Timber Hotel
Marriott Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing