We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Decent, could be better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Timber Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Ranked #10 of 72 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Decent, could be better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed at this location a couple years ago, and I don't remember any problems. This time, several things could have been better.
The pros: The valets are quick and courteous, no problems there. The check-in people were nice and friendly, as were the concierges. Great location - short walk to the casinos and some (overpriced) shops and restaurants.
The cons: the door of the women's restroom off the lobby was very sticky. In our room, the ice bucket was sitting in a puddle of filthy water. There were dirty fingerprints on one of the doors. The bathroom was somewhat dusty. There was no sugar or cream for the coffee. We did not get maid service. We left our room around 10 a.m., and noticed the cleaning cart 2 doors down. When we returned around 3:30, they were 1 door down, and our room had not been cleaned. The cart stayed at the room across the hall for an hour plus while we were showering and getting ready to go out. The next day the cleaning people couldn't seem to figure out which rooms they were supposed to clean. Lots of back and forth on the walkie-talkies.

The next issue is not the hotel's fault, but I would ask to stay far away from the elevator next time. Some drunk guys came in around 3:30 a.m. and went in and out of their room and the elevator several times, while talking loudly in the hall. Lost an hour of sleep in the middle of the night.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room away from the elevators. If possible, get one closer to the lobby; otherwise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caliblue75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

964 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    480
    336
    83
    41
    24
See reviews for
430
301
19
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Marriott's Timber Lodge is an excellent vacation place! The best place to stay in beautiful South Lake Tahoe!!! Excellent guest service and staff from front desk, housekeeping, management to the fabulous "Fire & Ice restaurant... Great food and EXCELLENT guest service and gorgeous villas and place! Perfect place and the name of the village is perfect... "Heavenly Village" A new favorite resort and destination for all!!! I strongly suggest this as the #1 place to stay in South Lake Tahoe!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank myscshell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I've stayed at Marriott's Timber Lodge almost every year since it was built. It just keeps getting better and better!

I'm not sure how they do it, but the management of this beautiful property finds the nicest people in the world to work for them. Valets, front desk, house keeping, engineering, management, Fire & Ice staff... All super friendly, helpful, nice, polite, and patient.

Pros: Amazing rooms with all the amenities of a luxury condo - Perfect Location for skiing, hiking (check out the Van Syke state park just behind the property for excellent hiking), gaming, fine food, mini-golf, beach access, and more! - fast wireless internet - excellent beds - Jacuzzi tubs - super insulated windows, floors, walls.

Cons: Very popular so plan well in advance, yet sometimes they have a few of the studios at a decent rate if you book online with Marriott.

Looking forward to my next stay!!

Room Tip: high floors facing the mountain are usually the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kassey22000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

What a wonderful place to stay! Located in the middle of everything-- this place was pretty fantastic. We stayed in a studio suite which was just a tad dark in the room, but when you think about how often you are in the room, it didn't make any inconvenience at all.

There was a good sized refrigerator and a standard microwave in the room-- as well as a toaster and coffee pot as well-- plus a little bar area that was great for washing up the dishes and such.

The ONLY downfall was that the hotel does not have room service-- which definitely would have been nice a few of the mornings and late nights!

Room Tip: I had a top floor room with a view of the alley between the hotels-- not the greatest, but it was qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roadtripper7823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I was very pleasantly surprised at how well-maintained the hotel was considering the amount of skier-related wear and tear it gets.

Other reviewers have covered all the points i would've made, except for one: the ability to text the valet parking staff when you are ready for your car. I texted my ticket number, checked out, and drove off without missing a beat!

Room Tip: Some "2nd floor" rooms are really on the ground level - hard to explain, but the way the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doreesey_pooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
104 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This was our second stay at a Marriott Vacation Club site in the past 14 months. Staffing is polite and professional. The room was recently updated, and as we have come to expect, clean and well appointed. Plenty of places to eat or shop located on the property or nearby. We really like the range of activities offered by the resort. We were able to choose activities ranging from sushi making to fly fishing. Over all a great place to stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fc42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Marriott trains their employees the right way. Everyone associated with this property is professional, courteous and goes out of their way to make your stay amazing. The property is gorgeous. The location is perfect.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mikey689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Lake Tahoe
0.1 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 798 reviews
1.5 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#14 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 717 reviews
1.2 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
5.0 of 5 stars 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#8 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 866 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
#1 of 8 in Stateline
4.0 of 5 stars 2,365 reviews
0.9 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#7 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Timber Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Timber Lodge

Property: Marriott's Timber Lodge
Address: 4100 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6965
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#15 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's Timber Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 473
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Marriott and Jetsetter so you can book your Marriott's Timber Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Timber Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Marriotts Lake Tahoe
Marriotts Timber Hotel
Marriott Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing