We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“In the Center of Everything” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marriott's Timber Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Ranked #10 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
Laughlin, Nevada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“In the Center of Everything”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Have stayed at Timber Lodge 3 or 4 times in the last three years. Great place, although it is hard to get a 2BR unit when exchanging, even from one Marriott to another. However, we have bought two units here so now we won't have a problem. Great location and in the center of everything. Easy walk to the beach, hiking trails, casinos, shopping and dining. The lodge has daily activities such as hiking, biking, wine tasting, BBQ's around the pool, and much more. Everyone is very helpful and always have a smile and greeting for guests. Rooms are fantastic ... Stayed on the 4th floor overlooking the gondola this year and then came back and stayed on the 5th floor. I loved that room as the ceiling were dormered and the bedroom had a little sitting area with a chair and it overlooked the pool. However, it only had one sink in the bathroom, but I would still request the 5th floor in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SugarKnuckle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,030 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    514
    354
    91
    44
    27
See reviews for
457
323
21
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Want to be close to everything in South Lake Tahoe? This is a great property for that reason. Walking to the lake is about a 15 min walk, where you have a "private beach" in which you can rent all sort of aquatic equipment for a day of fun. Unfortunately, food at the hotel wasn't the greatest, but restaurants are all over in very close proximity. We don't gamble, but having the border with Nevada just two blocks away gives you the flexibility to go to a few casinos.

The villas in the hotel are very spacious and well mantained. A large pool, two hot tubs and plenty of daily activities around the pool area make for a very fun time. The lift to the mountain is literally outside the hotel doors. Overall, a very good experience with the exception of the hotel food.

Room Tip: Rooms on the northwest wing of the fifth floor are spacious, but have a view of the back of the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dario_Espinoza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Bethpage, New York, USA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Took family to LT for the first time...and it will not be the last. The Marriott location is perfect. The Heavenly Village has all anyone needs for an enjoyable summer (and winter/ski) vacation. The Marriott Timber Losge itself is all you would expect from a Marriott Vacation Club propert. We had a 1BR which included a washer, dryer and full kitchen. Bathroom was big with a double sink. Our room faced the pool which also allowed us to see the mountain tops. The room was a bit of a hike from the main lobby thru the hotel but once we knew our way around it was easy to maneuver. As an owner there is no fee for valet parking - send them a text and the car is there in 10 minutes. Worked every time. The staff were all helpful at all times of the day. We will be back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gerald K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TEMPE AZ
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

This resort is located in a very busy area in South Lake Tahoe.

It would have been perfect for winter due to the proximity of the gondola & ski slopes, however, during the summer months, the area is crowded, the traffic is heavy and the lake is about a 15 minute walk, past 2 casinos and numerous tee shirt shops.

Valet parking is required, so it's a bit of an effort each time you want to leave the property.

But....the villas are well appointed, nicely furnished and the Marriott staff was wonderful. It's definitely up to Marriott's high standards.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DOT2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, California
Level Contributor
100 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

This property is a perfect spot for families with children, young and old. They have great daily activities for kids, teens and even adults. The pool is great and the three hot tubs. Located right at the base of Heavenly's Gondola, you can't miss any of the action and great shopping too. The hotel has friendly staff and offers hot cookies in the lobby during the late afternoon.

Summer or winter this is the place to stay to be a part of the action or to just relax and get away for it all.

The rooms are great with full kitchens. Including dishwasher, refrigerator, microwave, toaster, and plates, cups, utensils and cookware. You don't even have to go out if you just want to fix a simple meal or snack inside. There is also a washer and dryer in the unit. This is great for drying swimwear or ski socks and gloves.

The kids loved the outdoor movie night by the pool. It was fun for the adults too.

I will definitely be back in the winter.

Room Tip: I would probably request a room from the 2nd floor up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank StellaPL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

I want you to know that you are not going to be disappointed with this resort! All the services they offer and amenities are the very best. The resort is well located and you can walk to restaurants, shops, salons, ice cream parlors, coffee shops, etc. The valet parking is a plus. You car will be available at the time of your request. The Marriott employees are friendly and helpful! Give them a call to satisfy any request!

Room Tip: We stayed on the third floor in room 7305. It has easy assess to the pool, the main lobby, and the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ofelia847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pordenone, Italy
Level Contributor
100 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

My husband, 4-year-oldson and I spent one week at Marriott's Timber Lodge. And on our last day my son wouldn't stop crying and crying... the idea of leaving the resort made him so sad! And so was I, since our stay was simply AMAZING.
The resort itself is stunning and perfect. From the moment you get there, you get free valet service if you are on a timeshare program (as we were). The lobby is just perfect, alpine style. We stayed at connecting rooms 6305 and 6303, that together made a huge flat with two bedrooms, two bathrooms (one with hot tub), fully equipped kitchen, laundry facilities, three flat screen tvs and a fully operational fireplace which was lovely to use on Tahoe's chilly nights. The furniture was brand new and elegant.We reallly couldn't ask more. We enjoyed the nice outdoor pool too.
And what to say about the resort destination of South Lake Tahoe? The heavenly Gondola starts steps from the resort, and there is a varierty of shops and dining options just steps away at heavenly village. There is also a nice cinema (that we tried) and a huge Raley's supermarket which is very convenient for your shopping.
Plus, the lake itslef is simply beautiful and there are several day trips to make in both California and Nevada. For instance we took the steam train from Carson City to Virginia City and our son adored it.
So I would be back for sure and suggest Marriott's Timber Lodge to everybody!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Francesca-DM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Lake Tahoe
0.1 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
1.2 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
1.5 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#14 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
#1 of 9 in Stateline
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,831 reviews
23.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
0.1 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#4 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Timber Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Timber Lodge

Property: Marriott's Timber Lodge
Address: 4100 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6965
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#14 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's Timber Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 264
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Marriott's Timber Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Timber Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Marriotts Lake Tahoe
Marriotts Timber Hotel
Marriott Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing