We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Place To Stay in Tahoe” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Timber Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott's Timber Lodge to your Saves list
Marriott's Timber Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4100 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi For Members
Ranked #12 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
Pompano Beach
Level Contributor
69 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“The Place To Stay in Tahoe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Having stayed next door at the sister resort the previous two years, The Grand Residences, I figured I'd give the Timber Lodge a try.

For all intents and purposes, it was the same experience. It's like comparing a Chevy and a GMC. One is just a tick higher than the other in terms of refinements and appointments, and in this case the Timber Lodge is the Chevy that just slightly lacks in what it's sibling brings to the table.

Having traveled to Lake Tahoe every season for the last 15 Yrs, It's still by far one of the nicest place to stay on the south shore, and in a perfect location at the base of Heavenly's newest gondola and village.

A 2 br condo for 6 nights ran about 3k, which isn't cheap, but as they say, it's location, location, location.

Even with that relatively great location, stocking up on groceries still needs to be done by car if you're buying supplies for a week's stay, as the grocery store, even though its in the plaza next door, is too far to schlep bags upon bags of food back.

The only real complaint was the location of the room. It was a bit of a hike from the lobby to the room,and there's no easy way to get there even with an entrance on either end of the building. AND, if you have ski or boarding gear you're taking back upstairs, it makes the walk all that much more daunting.

Would I stay here again? In a minute if for nothing else than the ski in ski out convenience, I'd just request a room that isn't a 5 minute journey from the lobby.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Concord, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We had a week banked with our timeshare trading company and ended up trading for the Marriott Timber Lodge. It's smack dab in the middle of the shopping and restaurant area and Heavenly Gondolas, so within walking distance to all that and the casinos. They had a heated pool and about 5 hot tubs. Food and beverage service by the pool. A kids club for 4+yrs of age, then a teenage club, then a retreat for adult and all age activities. GREAT for the family - everything was great, the service and staff were friendly and helpful. The activities and pool area were great that we almost never left the property.

Room Tip: Rooms are built well enough that you don't hear a lot of noise from other areas and rooms. Soli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 456Debi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, FL
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Visiting here in the "between" season for them. Skiing has finished and summer doesn't begin until the end of the month for them. The property is very nice with lots of activities for the kids and teens and adults can always walk a block to the casinos :-). Driving around the lake is beautiful and there are plenty of opportunities for walking and hiking. We were excited to be right next to the Heavenly Gondola, but unfortunately it is shut down until May 27th, that between thing again. Lots of little restaurants and shops and groceries within walking distance. Timber lodge villas and facilities are wonderful! Had a great time!

Room Tip: You really cannot go wrong with a room, although the mountain views are somewhat blocked by the surr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fidgmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wine Country,Ca
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We decided to go to South Lake Tahoe for our 20th Anniversary because it had been over 20 years since the last time we were there, we usually go to the North Shore. Very nice Hotel which is also a Time Share, but they do not pressure you at all to listen to their sales pitch. Excellent location, within walking distance to casinos, right in the heart of Heavenly Village with shops and restaurants all around. On the California side so no gambling which was nice. Liked that you needed your room key to activate the elevators and the gates to get in the hotel grounds. They do have mandatory valet parking at $26 per day, a little steep but actually very convenient. The staff everywhere were extremely friendly and helpful. We had one of the studio rooms over looking the pool and mountains. Very clean and well decorated. Small little kitchenette with microwave, coffee maker, toaster and refrigerator. This will be the place we stay when we go back..

Room Tip: Depends on what you prefer. We originally were given a room in the back, but you had to go out of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kcpritch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed at a 1 bedroom unit with full kitchen & washer/dryer during MLK weekend holiday for 2 nights. Overall we like the convenient location next to heavenly ski resort. The only complaint is thin walls the next door neighbor called security to knock on our door and front desk called us to keep our voices after 10 pm because they cannot sleep. We do not know that walls are so thin that they can hear our conversations. So much for vacation to catch up with friends or family. We paid almost a thousand dollars on this trip they should at least let us know when we check in the house rules. We regret to have book this lodging and will not come back again unless they advertise walls are sound proof no need to whisper at night to disturb your neighbors.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cherry_zam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalton, MA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stayed at the Timber Lodge the first week of April with our son and daughter-in-law. Had a 2 bedroom unit with full kitchen and washer/dryer. The units were a bit smaller than usual and we were disappointed that the fireplace in the living area was fake..but it was still nice to have it going for the atmosphere. The lock-off unit could have been a bit cleaner - the comforter on the bed was a bit dirty at the bottom as was the coffee maker. The main unit was in pretty good condition. Beware the loud toilets! No one wanted to flush during the night for fear of waking people up...even with a closed door they were incredibly noisy - kind of like an airplane. They don't deliver weekday newspapers but have them in the lobby of each building for free. The valet service for our car was excellent - very prompt - never had to wait the 8 minutes they tell you and very courteous. We are owners at another Marriott Resort so the $26/day parking fee was waived for us, otherwise we may have used the supermarket parking lot across the road. Having the Heavenly Gondola right outside the door along with shopping, movie theaters, restaurants was wonderful - you really didn't need a car except for getting to and from the airport and sightseeing. We really enjoyed the Stateline Brewery and Base Camp Pizza. The supermarket next door has everything you could need, including alcohol although we did find several liquor stores along Lake Tahoe Blvd that were a bit less expensive and had some unique brews. Our daughter-in-law has relatives who work at the Heavenly ski area so that is were my husband and son did their skiing and snowboarding. Since it was the end of the season they were told the conditions might not be great, but they ended up being pretty good and we even got 4 inches of new snow on the 3 day. One day the gondola was closed due to high winds on the mountain so my son had to take a shuttle to the ski area - didn't seem to faze anyone as everyone seems very organized and helpful. The gondola ride is AMAZING! I'm not fond of heights so I was a bit worried, but it moves at a nice pace and views are unbelievable - you have to do it at least once (costs $36). It stops at the observation deck on the way up so make sure you get out and take in the views and check out the gift shop before getting back on for the ride to the ski area or back down as it doesn't stop on the way back. The drive around the lake is incredible...the ride to Virginia City and Genoa is incredible...switchback roads, drop offs, mountains...it is hard to describe. We enjoyed the Timber Lodge's outdoor heated pool and hot tubs which always seemed to have people in them. The resort had tons of activities and everyone was very friendly. The casino's are within walking distance too so you don't have to drive all the time. All in all this was a great resort in a perfect location for families or couples. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: We were in the Alpine building which is separate from the main lodge. You needed to walk outside to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Merryweather60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
middleton wi
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Recently returned from a week long stay at this property. The valets were wonderful and provided great customer service. Yes, they said there would be a 8 minute wait and to call first. We did call and our car was always ready. The front desk staff were accomodating and professional.

The location is great for the gondola and casinos. We did have an issue with heater making a funny sound, called for service and it was taken care of right away. The gentleman who took care of problem was very professional too.

Hope to return next year for spring skiing.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smillermiddleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Lake Tahoe
0.1 mi away
Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe
Marriott Grand Residence Club Ta...
#9 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 707 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#2 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 649 reviews
1.5 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#19 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
#1 of 8 in Stateline
4.0 of 5 stars 1,811 reviews
0.9 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#6 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 175 reviews
23.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Timber Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Timber Lodge

Address: 4100 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#15 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's Timber Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 473
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Marriott's Timber Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Timber Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Marriotts Lake Tahoe
Marriotts Timber Hotel
Marriott Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing