We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, great location....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Timber Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Ranked #10 of 72 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
PNW
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, great location....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

....just steps to the Heavenly gondola, restaurants and shopping (casinos are appx 2 blocks away). The hotel is decorated lodge-style, rooms fairly spacious, free wi-fi, and the beds/pillows comfortable. The staff are attentive and helpful. Lots of activities (cost extra) such as yoga, wine tasting, etc for adults and crafts for kids. Very family-friendly. Only downside: cost. Rooms are a bit spendy IMHO and they ding you again for parking. Still, the location can't be beat. This is our third time here and we'll come back again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marywileydore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

927 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    459
    323
    81
    41
    23
See reviews for
414
285
19
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Loved this hotel - the location made it ideal for skiing. Our villa was very clean and modern and the bed was very comfortable. I will definitely stay here again. The staff was nice and helpful. The hot tubs were relaxing and clean. Great stay!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MLE04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
83 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I came back to Tahoe in January after a great Dec experience, this time I stayed one night here and several in the Grand Residences next door. I had a unit of extended family with me and they stayed in the Timber Lodge the whole time. So I got experience myself in a one King bedroom (non-villa) and also spent time visiting the family in a villa suite with fireplace etc.

Location - The best in Tahoe as it is 10 feet away from the Gondola.

Facility - The building has been recently renovated and is quite nice.

Rooms - very spacious although the standard bedroom does not appear to include a full kitchenette - eg, no oven, no cooking range/surface, etc. just a microwave and minibar fridge. The full villa includes a full kitchen that was very nice. The fireplace is nice but its not a real fireplace - its a light of some type that looks like fire. The fireplace gives off zero heat.

Amenities - a complete set of amenities in good condition including 4 Hot Tubs (different sizes), a hot water pool, steam rooms in each locker room, a full gym, etc.

Service - Service is good although somewhat disorganized. Everyone here will try to make your stay more pleasant but on multiple occasions there were instances of confusion. Checking in, the Front Desk could not explain why my room was not ready by 6pm - they promptly grabbed me another room although the Desk had to call over some people to make it happen. There was no argument, just confusion over how to do things. The valet and bell service are different people and struggled to coordinate.

Ambiance - it has a busy, bustling feel with people (guests, staff, etc.) rushing all over. Heck, they were busier than a major hotel on the Vegas Strip I had just stayed at two days prior (no joke). This is in stark contrast to the Grand Residences next door, which has a laid back, easy going feel where everyone is chillax, staff included. This can be a positive or negative depending on you. Timber Lodge was definitely a more "happening" type of place than G Residences.

All in all, its good for a ski trip, I would return here or GR in a heartbeat for a good snow storm, although I like the laid back atmosphere of GR a little bit better for my tastes. Plus I prefer co-ed Steam Rooms and Saunas at GR. My $0.02

Thumbs up for the property, suggestion to management is to manage a little bit more so that services are better coordinated.

Room Tip: Go for the villas if available, they are huge and beautiful rooms that offer full kitchens (will hel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dracop9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Karan greeted me at the front desk and very welcoming. He explained that as we were early we may have to wait. Through small talk, he found we had a baby and were travelling with my inlaws.

He got on the phone to see what was available ... through a few attempts, he explained maybe half of the room was going to be ready (had the 2 bed villa) but could still check us in.

In the end, something was available and checked us into our rooms - great job Karan. I really appreciate when people try and try, vs looking in a system and just saying no.

Thank you too for your genuineness and its always great to find.

Location is perfect to the snow and lifts - and the restaurants around.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stephenday50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salinas, CA
Level Contributor
91 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

They charge $26 a day for parking, valet only. Plus the tips, that really adds up and is quite excessive, in my opinion. Or, you can park literally in the next state at the casinos and walk a lot. But this is a great location, right in Heavenly Village at the bottom of the gondola. Pick up your skis at the ski valet (this is free), and you are off. There are lots of restaurants and shops in the Village, and a movie theatre. There is a shopping center nearby with a grocery store. We stayed in a lockout unit of a larger timeshare, sort of a studio with a mini-fridge, a microwave and a small sink. It was cramped to prepare food and there was no stove at all, but it was OK. I learned how to poach eggs in a microwave. There was also a toaster and coffee maker with filters. The room was clean and nice but needed air freshener. There is no mid-week housekeeping visit, which I sort of expect. We had to call for towels and other things. They will come in and clean for a charge. There was wi-fi (no charge) but the signal was weak. The fitness center was very nice. We were close to the lobby but some rooms can be a hike. The heated outdoor pool and four hot tubs are open all year. There is a steam room in the fitness center but no sauna. The one restaurant in the building is a Mongolian BBQ type place, all you can eat for $26.95. You can try it once for the experience. Service was quick and friendly. Checkout time is a very early 10 AM and our request for a late checkout was refused. But even an hour after that there was no housekeeping in sight, so we really should have stayed. I would return for the right deal.

The timeshare deal is not pitched hard at all but there are places in the Village that will try to suck you in by offering excursions. Beware especially of Diamond Resorts International. In my opinion, any timeshare is a sketchy deal these days, and I own two.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Raroach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Although a Marriott owner for many years, I'd never stayed at the Timberlodge (funny since it's technically closest to where I live). For South Lake Tahoe, you can't argue the central location of the Timberlodge. Heavenly Village and the gondolas are literally attached to your hotel. A short walk to the major casinos for night time activities also add to the appeal.

Fitness center and pool/hot tubs are top notch and usable year round which is nice. Service was also pleasant and mostly speedy, minus right around check-out when it got terribly hectic.

Room amenities (stayed in a 1-bedroom) were standard to the quality of Marriott Vacation club. Definitely a nice touch having the fireplace. I do have to knock off a star for the air unit since it was noisy and inconsistent in how it heated/cooled.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gbabigurl84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orinda, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

The hotel is perfectly located in south shore, the staff is friendly and efficient. We had a party of 8 rooms and 18 guests and the staff worked with us to get the rooms close together. We rented a 2 room suite to have a catered party and the room was able to comfortably fit the event staff and our guests. The rooms are clean and the beds are comfortable. Did I mention the location? The gondola to Heavenly Ski Resort is steps away and we had a great choice of restaurants within a short walk and the casinos are 1 block away. The hotel has great kid club and the hotel is very family friendly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarrySF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Lake Tahoe
0.1 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#8 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 773 reviews
1.5 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#15 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 603 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#5 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#6 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 292 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
#1 of 8 in Stateline
4.0 of 5 stars 2,147 reviews
23.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Timber Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Timber Lodge

Property: Marriott's Timber Lodge
Address: 4100 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#15 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's Timber Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 473
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Marriott's Timber Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Timber Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Marriotts Lake Tahoe
Marriotts Timber Hotel
Marriott Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing