We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful stay-hate no balconies!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Ranked #9 of 65 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We stayed here in July and it was a very nice week. Great location. The room was perfect for our family of five. We had a two bedroom unit. Very nice ground floor. But, I think a very big flaw in their design....no patios or balconies to enjoy an outdoor area in a place like Tahoe!!! Mistake!!!
But, we used the kitchen for almost every meal. It was nice to be able to just walk over to the grocery store too!
Hate that you are forced to use the valet.
They had a "waffle breakfast" one morning. Don't do it. Very expensive and it was in the lobby....no where to sit with plastic plates of waffles with dripping syrup.
They have a kids club which is great. The property has miniature golf which is fun and of course you can just walk over to the gondola.
Overall, great place to stay. Pools and hot tubs are awesome.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HBsurferwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,103)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

728 - 734 of 1,103 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

Me, my wife and our 3 teen boys stayed here for our summer vacation. We love the outdoors and Lake Tahoe was a great choice. Anyone familiar with the Marriott Vacation Club properties will know what to expect. We had a two bedroom unit which is ideal for 3 teen boys that would never dream of sleeping together! The second bedroom has a sleeper sofa besides the king bed and the living room between the two bedrooms has a sleeper sofa as well so all were happy. Have to note that the sleeper sofas were more comfortable than your typical paper thin sofabed mattresses. We had less fighting over the king bed because of this!
We don't cook dinners on vacation, but having the full kitchen is ideal for breakfasts, lunch and snacks if you don't plan to eat out for every meal. Pool and hot tub area was really nice. Would have liked to see a ping pong or pool table or shuffleboard like some of the other Marriott's we have stayed at.
There are plenty of restaurants and shopping within walking or a short drive of the Timber Lodge. The casinos are walking distance as well. The parking is valet only, which we thought would be annoying, but they would good about having the car waiting if you call 10 min before walking down to lobby.
The unit was clean and modern and the grounds well maintained. The Heavenly Ski resort gondola is right next door. There is another Marriott property, the Grand Residences, right next to the Timber Lodge - Seemed similar but didn't get to see a room.
All in all, was pleased with this choice.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JetskiNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

I would not stay at a vacation rental property again.
First impression--valet As we drove up he saw us but did not greet us or ask if we needed help.
We checked in early 1:00 and they advised that they would call when our room was ready--4:00 it was ready as was the crowd at the front desk waiting to get their keys
Front desk--asked for a late check out and was granted an 11:00 and then he asked if we needed something else and basically dismissed us. Room was fine and dinner (pizza) and base camp was good--servie there is great!
Upon leaving again no valet and the fronbt desk said tehy were sorry about the wait for the room and that I could not check out later than 11: So stay there is you want to have no flexibility to get into your room earlier or leave later. Also if the $26 valet fee for no one to help you is OK

Room Tip: inside away from teh street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deege520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

Stayed three days after Labor Day. On the upside, the location is great and sitting by the outdoor fire pits at Fire and Ice is a wonderful way to spend an evening. On the down side we arrived at. 1:15 and were told our room was not ready (expected) but was told housekeeping would make it a priority. Check back several times and room was finally available at 4:45 pm. Some priority. Other than that I would stay again for the location.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobgek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I accidentally booked the Marriott Timber Lodge when in my mind I was thinking of the Marriott Grand Residence which is next door and where we have stayed before.
Despite their connection, I find the Marriott Grand Residence to be a far superior experience. I would not recommend the Marriott Timber Lodge. When we checked in at 4:30 I was told that our room would not be ready for 1-3 hours as they were at capacity the night before and running late in getting the rooms cleaned. The clerk could have cared less and said that I could “take it up with his manager”. Fortunately our wait was less than an hour. Our one bedroom was smaller than the one bedrooms at the Grand Residence and had one less bathroom. There were four of us in our group and the accommodations were tight. The living area had a funky set up. Thank goodness it was only for one night. So not worth the $405.00 that we paid after taxes and valet. The valets do not provide the level of customer service that I’d expect or are accustomed too at The Grand Residence. They just pointed to a spot and said park over there.

Anyway, I would not recommend the Marriott Timber Lodge. It was too over priced for what you get. Stay at the Marriott Grand Residence.

Room Tip: Just because they saw the room will acomodate 4 people does not mean it does so comfortably. Check t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JRDuesing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Guest Relations Manager at Marriott's Timber Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2012

We are sorry to hear that you did not have a positive experience at Marriott's Timber Lodge. This is not typical of the guest experience at our resort and we would appreciate an opportunity to personally address your concerns. Please contact us at customer.care@vacationclub.com or at 800 860 9384. We look forward to hearing from you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

The location is great; it has quite a hectic pace, though - both inside and outside the lodge. The staff was nice except for the front desk clerk who seemed to have an extremely haughty attitude. Seems like if you weren't a timeshare guest, you did not rate his attention. I booked here for one night - would not do that again. You need to stay longer to enjoy the amenities included in the price.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denman123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

While not as upscale as the Grand Residence Club the Timber Lodge provides the same base camp for all your activities in the South Lake Tahoe Area. Many of the rooms have just recently been refurbished and are first quality. The one bedroom one bath was very well laid out and we had a view of the auto show over the Labor Day weekend. Room comes with a washer and dryer so you can take care of laundry if you are there for an extended period of time. The staff was helpful and there is always assistance if you need to know what activities are happening. Short 5 minute walk to Stateline and the casinos. As with the Grand Residence Club, you cannot go wrong.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimbokli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#8 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
915 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#13 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
225 reviews
1.5 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#10 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
493 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#5 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,166 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
#17 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Timber Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Timber Lodge

Address: 4100 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6965
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#14 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range: $148 - $735 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's Timber Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 264
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Marriott's Timber Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Timber Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Marriotts Lake Tahoe
Marriotts Timber Hotel
Marriott Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing