We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ski Heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Ranked #10 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Ski Heaven”
Reviewed May 27, 2012

This was our first time in Lake Tahoe and Marriott Timber Lodge did not let us down. All the rooms were in good condition for our group of eight with a great views of the snow covered pool area. We made good use of the kids club and gym area. The ski resort also did not disappoint. Even though we arrived on April 13 during one of the worst seasons, we were lucky to receive a huge dump of snow just before arrival so we could ski all weekend. With the Gondola, ski rental and storage area just outside our front, door, we could not ask for any more than that. The gondola ride and the view from the top of the ski fields displayed some of the most spectacular views anyone could ever see. I found that I just couldn’t put the camera away with so many great sights around the lake itself and hike down to Emerald Bay. We enjoyed the buffet dinners nearby at Harrahs Forest Buffet and Mont Bleu Buffet which we thought was good value.

If there was any criticism, it would be the renovation of our room which involved the changing of the locks and room keys while were still in the room, thermostat change and the excessive phone charges for what we thought should have been local calls. It was all resolved in the end and overall a very positive experience.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andysa8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,069 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    535
    363
    97
    45
    29
See reviews for
475
336
21
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saginaw, MI
Level Contributor
157 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2012

This resort has a terrific location with the Heavenly Gondola basically "on property", and it is surrounded by trendy shops and a few cafes. We visited in what we knew was "off season" but did not realize that the gondola would not be running at all (it closes down for maintenance for 2 weeks in May and again in October), so we were disappointed to not be able to ride it up and see the view from the top of the mountain.

The locale is beautiful, although it is difficult to actually see much scenery from the resort itself. Half of the units face inward toward the pool area. The exterior view of one building is directly on the gondola base, which is interesting, but comes with the noise of gondola operation.

Our biggest disappointment was the arrangement of the living room. We were in one of the newly remodeled units and found the living room to be very user-unfriendly. There is a 3 cushion sofa bed that faces the front door (90 degree angle from the TV/fireplace) and a very uncomfortable leather chair that faces the fireplace directly. It is a stretch to think 4 people can sit comfortably in this living area. While the attached studio also has a sofa, it was frustratingly tight for 3 people to try to sit in the living area comfortably at the same time.

The kitchen and bathrooms are pretty much Marriott standard, although the master bath has no sink external to the shower / toilet area, as some Marriott villas do.

This resort has very few balconies, so you would have to be very lucky to get one. Overall, the villa was a bit claustrophobic with the small living area and absence of a balcony.

For skiers, all of these concerns might be overlooked considering the availability of the lift. The main pool is heated to a delightful 84 degrees and the 4 whirlpools were spacious and sparkling clean.

One restaurant right next door that we really enjoyed was State Line Brewery. In the course of the week we tried 6 different selections and they were all exceptionally good.

There is a grocery in walking distance.

We did a drive around the lake, and this is a good way to see lots of pretty scenery. Be aware that you want a very alert driver if you go to the beautiful Emerald Bay section of the lake. There is one section of road with steep drops on both sides of the road. The views are spectacular from this area and there are several areas to pull off including one picnic spot.

Valet parking was delightful and easy (and we do not normally like to use valet parking), and, of course, be prepared to tip.

The front desk staff was very helpful and it was refreshing to see a Guest Relations Manager sitting at a desk in the lobby readily available.

All in all, the experience was a good one.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a pretty view. If walking is an issue, ask for one near the elevators as the ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janet48603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

We had a fabulous time at Marriott Timber Lodge. Beautiful room, lots of activities, shopping close by, also Harrahs and Harveys within walking distance. Love the fire and ice restaurant on premises also the courtyard to sit and have a drink or ice cream. The parks are all close by and be sure to visit Taylor creek visitors center for relaxing hikes. We also did some serious hiking and got high enough to see a view of Lake Tahoe and Fallen Leaf Lake in the same picture. Too many breathtaking sights to name. Bring your walking shoes for sure.

Room Tip: stayed on the second floor above the entrance and did not have any problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dellshar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Located at the Heavenly tram station, in the center of all commercial activity on the highway. Plenty of shopping and dining within walking distance. Finest property in the area. We stayed in the summer. A luxuriously experience, rustic and beautiful, furnished and maintained well. We stayed in a king room, the master of a divided timeshare unit. A bit small, but so well presented that it felt cozy, not cramped. A timeshare property that we felt at ease in.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IYHO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2012

Our stay at the Marriott was relaxing and comfortable. We had a 2 bedroom suite with 2 bathrooms. The master bathroom was sizable and the master bedroom included a whirlpool tub. the The living room/dining area is smallish but adequate and the full sized kitchen has lots of amenities and includes a washer/dryer. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful and allowed check-in 1 hour early.

This facility is being renovated and we had been warned about noise but didn't encounter any. The beds were very comfortable. The linens, however, for the sofabed were extremely torn. Housekeeping services are not included in the cost of the room and the charge is $60 for cleaning the entire 2 room suite. This is outrageous. For a 2 room suite, overnight parking is included for 1 car with an additional charge of $26/night for each additional car. Park elsewhere to avoid this charge.

Despite the negatives, this was a relaxing stay at a lovely place in Tahoe close to shopping, casinos, and Heavenly gondola.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shell1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wantagh, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2012

When we first checked in to the Timber Lodge, they placed us in a room below ground level, where our windows looked out upon a brick wall about three feet from the window, and we could see only the feet of the people walking around outside, which were well above our heads. Obviously, we requested a new room, and as Marriott owners, they obliged happily.

Our second room overlooked the pool, which was a great view. However, the room was much smaller and colder feeling than most Marriott Vacation Club suites. It wasn't really an issue, although the Master bedroom was very compact. As I said earlier, we had a nice view, but the windows were tucked away in the corner of the room, and we had to climb onto the large platform in front of them in order to really look out.

That was really the only issue with the hotel, as the Timber Lodge is in a perfect location. We were just steps from the Nevada border, so the casinos in the area are easy to walk to. The beaches were just a short drive away, although it was hard to find parking as it was a holiday week.

The best part about the hotel is that it is the center of the Marriott Village, which has everything you might need in Tahoe. The ski lifts are right there, and while we were visiting during summer, they are still active. There were restaurants right in the village, which was perfect, and when we wanted to eat elsewhere, the concierge was very helpful in making reservations.

We had a small problem with our bathroom doors not locking, but Marriott did their best to help us with that issue.

Maybe we had an unusual room, but apart from that, there were no problems. If you're looking for a nicer room, the Marriott right next door is much nicer, but a bit more expensive. Either way, the Timber Lodge was part of a fun trip!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelSantino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2012

Let me start off by saying that perhaps coming from the Hyatt Residence in NorthStar to the Marriott Timber Lodge in Heavenly was not the best idea. The quality went down, down, down. If our path had been reversed, maybe I could give this hotel a better rating - hard to say. Our two bedroom unit at the Marriott was TINY. Our family of four could barely move around without running into each other. The carpeting throughout our unit was stained. When we pulled out the extra linens to make up the sofabed in the living room, they too were stained, falling apart and disgusting. Kudos to the housekeeping staff, however, for immediately bringing us clean linens. The master bath was small, the furniture throughout the unit old and worn. We had to move the dining room table to one side of the living room as best we could as it was just in the way and we were running into it constantly. At the Hyatt we had over 1,000 square feet. Here it felt like less than half that. Don't recommened this place at all, sorry ...

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pkparker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Lake Tahoe
0.1 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
870 reviews
1.6 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#13 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
883 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#4 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
395 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
#1 of 9 in Stateline
3,180 reviews
23.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Timber Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Timber Lodge

Property: Marriott's Timber Lodge
Address: 4100 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6965
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#14 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's Timber Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 264
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Vacatia, Marriott, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Marriott's Timber Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Timber Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Marriotts Lake Tahoe
Marriotts Timber Hotel
Marriott Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing