We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$128
View deal
Expedia.com
$128
View deal
FindHotel
$75
View deal
Hotels.com$128
Traveluro$139
getaroom.com$161
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (614)
Filter reviews
614 results
Traveler rating
135
237
124
59
59
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
135
237
124
59
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviews heavenly village motel tahoe kitchenette fireplace
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
202 - 207 of 614 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2016

This is not a particularly nice place to say. The building itself looks a bit dilapidated with paint peeling off and such. The room was okay, but the air conditioner was loud enough to keep even the sound sleeper awake all night. Oh yes, and the bath tub had a bunch of rust spots that hard had been obviously painted over.

This place seems like the kind of hotel where a bunch of young people might want to stay if they are interested in coming to ski in Tahoe for a really cheap price. If you are interested in having like 4 people hare a room, and you plan to be out of the hotel all day, then this hotel make sense. It is conveniently located like 2 blocks from Heavenly village and the Heavenly Gondola can take you right to the summit where you have your choice of ski runs.

But if you are looking for a nice hotel where you can unwind and enjoy the hotel's amenities, then I would look elsewhere.

Room tip: convenient location, No lake view for any room, no elevator--so first floor rooms easier for bags.
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Krishna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben Z, Manager at Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2016

Hi Krishna,

Thanks for your business and support, we will keep improving until we gain your full satisfaction!

Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2016

Having booked this some months in advance and then reading later reviews on Trip Advisor we were a little apprehensive. However, we needn't have been worried as for what we paid, Big Pines was clean and comfortable and in a good location just minutes on foot from both the lake and the attractions of South Lake Tahoe - including the Heavenly Gondola. The stateline is also minutes away.

Yes, the room was little dated and the bathroom could probably do with a refit and repaint, but overall it was fine for the three nights we stayed. Reception staff were friendly and welcoming. Good swimming pool which was always quiet when we used it - couldn't keep our daughter out - pool towels provided!

The free breakfast is basic but was sufficient for us - cereals and bagels, coffee and juice.

Would recommend Big Pines although there were also a number of other similar motels in the area.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob121618
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben Z, Manager at Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2016

Hi Rob,

Thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2016

people here helpful and nice- location was excellent close to beach, casinos, great food and shopping BUT just stayed in the 2 room "suite" nothing sweet about it! very outdated and old- nosiy room- frig made loud noise all night- no real big window so it was very hot and stuffy and only 1 small "air" conditoner in only one of the bedrooms so very loud also- one of the bathrooms was big -room with bunk bed (which was not told was in room when reserved) had no ladder to climb up to and only one sheet on bed- so glad we didn't have to spend much time in there. and we paid $220 for one night on a friday! wow- so many more much better places and choices out there.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Devra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben Z, Manager at Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2016

Hi Devra,

Thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2016

We enjoyed the quiet location with easy access to walk to restaurants and shopping. Parking is limited and traveling with bikes made for a challenge leaving the hotel. You drive under the hotel out the back and on to the street behind the hotel. Parking lot is one way in and oneway out.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank M5656DUbrucem
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben Z, Manager at Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2016

Hi Bruce,

Thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2016

Definitely a skip! When I saw that the hotel had wrongly charged me for an extra adult as we were checking in, Jose at the front desk just shrugged and said that he could do nothing about it before booking us into a windowless, airless room. Questionable cleanliness, toilet continued making noises all evening. There are just so many reasonably priced places in South Lake Tahoe to stay- let this one pass you by.

Room tip: be sure to specifically ask for a room with a window
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kfultronic
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben Z, Manager at Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2016

We’re sorry you were unhappy - we’ll work hard to fix the issue you experienced. Thanks for letting us know.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews