We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The value and location of Big Pines was excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe
Ranked #24 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sunny Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
117 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The value and location of Big Pines was excellent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2009

I was very unsure of staying at a strange location in a new city with no one to ask for recommendations, but the stay proved very well. From check in to check out the service was friendly, the people working at the site were helpful. I was surprised at the value of the location considering the proximity of walking distance to the gondola and downtown activities and casinos. This was a welcome surprise when you have additional family members and have more than 1 room expense. Because of the end of skiing season the rates were very reasonable and the rooms were in a nice clean and everything working manner.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Honda4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    190
    86
    39
    31
See reviews for
129
177
37
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
calif.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2009

We were pleasantly surprised to find such a treasure so conveniently pocated in Tahoe. The room was cozy and pleasant and had a fireplace. Coffee and warm goodies were served in the lobby. All the comforts of home. And a very pleasant staff. We will be back.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greensleves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2009

We found the prices to be very resonable:approximately $120.00 for two nights. The rooms were resonably clean. The staff was effective and civil. Morning complimentry food was tasteful. Location is in walking distance of casinos

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goodrocking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2009

Since a friend made reservations for us (for a birthday party gathering) we had no prior knowledge of this facility. We were a bit concerned as the price was such a bargain but truly had no need for concern. The room was large, clean, functionally well appointed with TV, microwave, mini-fridge, little coffee maker, table with two chairs, desk with chair, ironing board, fan and a comfy bed. The staff was friendly and helpful. The continental breakfast had a nice selection of teas and coffee. We would definitely go again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bwander3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2009

The staff at Big Pines are amazing. Very friendly atmosphere.
The location is close to the Heavenly Gondola, Casinos, Shops

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Snowboardgirlincali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2009

We booked Big Pines for an early ski break (9 nights) in December 2008 and, despite the lack of snow, we really enjoyed our stay.
We had a room in the extra wing on the side, which was nicely kept and clean, having a microwave, fridge and coffee maker was a real bonus!
We found the various staff we met at recpetion mostly very friendly and helpful - especially when it came to directions, helpful suggestions for other places to ski and places to eat.
Location wise, it was pretty perfect, only a couple of minutes walk to the only gondola lift in Heavenly and a walk away from bars, places to eat, supermarket, cinema and ice rink, so no complaints there!
Have to say, didn't really notice many issues with noise, but we were there early in the season and the hotel was reasonably quiet, especially in our part.
The breakfast, whilst not vast, offered various hot drinks and good American doughnuts.
For the price - very reasonable and less than the 3 nights we spent in San Francisco, despite being early ski season!
We loved Lake Tahoe and would like to visit again, both in the summer and to try the skiing agin - hopefully next time with a little more snow!
We would look at Big Pines again for somewhere to stay!

  • Liked — Location, location, location!!!!
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WakeyWake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stockton, ca
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2009

We specifically picked this motel for a three day ski trip to Heavenly because it was advertized as pet friendly. It is. The second floor room was a nice size and the shower was a good one. Each queen bed had 5 pillows, although they were foam bricks. The main negative was noise - I'm guessing from cheap/poor construction. You can hear guests in adjacent rooms, their doors slam loudly and when other guests walk by their steps on the deck boom into the room. It's walking distance to the Nevada Casinos, so it's a late crowd to some extent. The price was average/reasonable for this area.

  • Liked — pet friendly, room size, features, cleanliness
  • Disliked — rooms not sound resistant at all
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank doglovingskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these South Lake Tahoe hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.1 mi away
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
#27 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
#34 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
1.4 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#14 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#4 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,045 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#15 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
0.1 mi away
3 Peaks Resort & Beach Club
3 Peaks Resort & Beach Club
#18 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe

Property: Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe
Address: 4083 Cedar Ave, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6979 (Formerly Viking Motor Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Big Pines Mountain House is conveniently located in the center of South Lake Tahoe, within walking distance to major attractions - Heavenly Ski resort, the casinos and the Lake itself. We offer clean, comfortable and affordable rooms. Free wi-fi, complimentary breakfast, heated seasonal pool and the location make us the best value in town. Do not leave your pets behind, we will be happy to accept them in our hotel. Come visit us! Our friendly staff is always here to help you to make your Tahoe getaway simply fun! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Pines Mountain House Of Tahoe Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Big Pines Mountain Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing