We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yuk”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe
Ranked #23 of 65 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed June 25, 2014

The sheets and towels were very grey with holes. The mirror in the bathroom had a large crack, and there were large scuff marks on the wall (which could have been washed off or repainted). And woe betide if you get noisy neighbours. Our room had an adjoining door and we could have joined in their conversation and listened to their TV.
The breakfast room was just the reception area and the seat cushions were dirty. Also, there was no commitment by the staff.
The only good thing was a washing machine and easy access to a precinct/mall for food.
Unfortunately there was a building site opposite which didn't help especially as they started work at 6.30am. It was like stepping back to the 1950s.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathryn w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben Z, Manager at Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Hi Kathryn,

We are very sorry that we did not meet your expectations, please accept our apologies. We work very hard to gain your business, and comments like your will make us work harder until we can gain your patronage again.

Thanks for your review.

Cordially,
Ruben Z
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (511)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

246 - 252 of 511 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

I usually stay at big name places so this was somewhat of a first for me. We stayed here because the pictures online (which are somewhat deceiving) and the price and location. Its located right off the main road, in front of the gondola. Great place for shopping, staying awhile and dining. Having said that you would think the place would be a little nicer. .

Upon first arriving the room is small, I've lived in a studio that was bigger than this room. There are absolutely no free plugs to charge your phones or computer. I love taking pictures and going back and uploading, make sure your equipment is charged prior to coming because you won't have a plug in available.

The bed is something that reminds me of the 80s. Its hard, can feel every coil in the mattress and slept like a wet newspaper. Our AC which is a tiny cheap wall unit was on 60* the whole weekend and it never got below 74* in the room. Our toilet handle was broken, you had to fix it every time you flushed. The shower is very VERY old. I wouldn't be surprised if it were original.

You can definitely hear every whisper from your neighbors and those walking above you sound like elephants even though they're probably walking softly. Its just a very old, never updated place that at night looks a little seedy.

Staff was clueless, I asked why it was so busy here. She blamed it on "Summer in Tahoe". No, there was a soccer tournament, art show and many other events in town that some people might have enjoyed had they been told by a knowledgeable person about their own town.

In summary, my stay was cheap and now I know why. I most likely will never return.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
3  Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben Z, General Manager at Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Hi Sam,

I appreciate you review, and the fact that you posted something similar on YELP, however, and as I stated on Yelp. we guarantee our product, please call me to get this situation resolved. For your information, summers in Tahoe are busy, the population fluctuates from 48,000 people during the winter to 200,000 in the summer, and one more fact, Lake Tahoe hosts more than 100 weddings every year, which keeps our town in business, I am pretty sure that you understand how hard is to own a family business nowadays, we are not a chain and I am pretty sure we are much better than what you describe. I personally apologize for any inconvenience and I am here to help.

Please email me, I want to me sure you are happy and satisfied with our product and service.

Cordially,
Ruben Z
Admin@thebigpines.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

This place is over our expectation. We booked two rooms one for the in-laws, they gave us connected rooms which is so convenient for us. The rooms and facility are very clean and maintained very well. It is walking distance to shopping and Heavenly Village. We stayed five nights here, definitely will come back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank C Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben Z, Manager at Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Hi,

We appreciate your review and support!

Thanks!

Please come back soon.

Cordially,
Ruben Z

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

We spent two nights at this hotel. We were disappointed to find out it was more like a motel setting. We had inter connected room. Personally I did not like the setting of the room. It was dark. Even the bed covers were also dark. The price was too low that was the reason why we booked that hotel, but i would not want to stay there for second time.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank 44Sam44_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben Z, General Manager at Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Hi Sam,

Thank you for your review, people like you make us think how to improve daily. We truly appreciate your feedback.

Please give us a second chance to prove you that we are better than that, our family takes pride in our Hotel.

Thanks.

Cordially,
Ruben Z
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I've stayed here many, many times and it's always great, the location is great the rooms are always clean and the staff friendly! You will be hard pressed to find such a great place to stay so close to all of the casino's.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeannie41289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben Z, Manager at Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Hi Jeannie,

We appreciate your business and support.

Thank you for your review!

Please come back soon.

Cordially,
Ruben Z
G.M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Right across the road from Heavenly Mountain. Although it was raining the whole night/morning we were here, it was still a decent stay. The room included a microwave and refrigerator, and within walking distance to a lot of places as it is right in town. The shower was old and could be replaced, however for the price we paid I didn't have a problem. Parking right in front of the door. The internet did not work too well but since we were only here for one night I wasn't too concerned. Room was clean also.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RyanL10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben Z, Manager at Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2014

Hi Ryan,

Thanks for your business and support!

Your feedback is truly appreciated, we'll work on the showers and the internet signal.

Please come back soon!

Cordially,
Ruben Z

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

We enjoyed the room. It was clean and the kitchenette was nice. The staff was friendly and the location is relally good. The pizza place they had a flyer for "Vinnny's" was really good new york style pizza. Overall we enjoyed our stay very much!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MRpolite01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben Z, Manager at Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2014

Hi,

Thank you very much for your business and support!

Please come back soon!

And yes, that pizza from Vinny's is really good.

Thanks again!

Cordially,
Ruben Z

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.1 mi away
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
#22 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
234 reviews
1.4 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#11 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,131 reviews
0.6 mi away
Americana Village
Americana Village
#6 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Avalon Lodge
Avalon Lodge
#47 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
186 reviews
1.3 mi away
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
#17 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
526 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#13 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe

Address: 4083 Cedar Ave, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6979 (Formerly Viking Motor Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range: $48 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe has over 70 comfortable rooms, private beach access, outdoor heated swimming pool, coin laundry, continental breakfast and our Meeting Room available for groups, gatherings and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Pines Mountain House Of Tahoe Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Big Pines Mountain Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing