We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family, homey, dog friendly place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe
Ranked #22 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed November 6, 2013

If you are looking for the Ritz-Carlton, keep on trucking. This is a well located, dog friendly, family oriented older motel that is well kept. It is a low frills, basic, motel that has spacious rooms and a nice staff. Yes, the walls are thin, so keep that in mind. Top floor, corner room for you light sleepers! The staff is pleasant and helpful. The location is fabulous, behind the major casinos. Close to the gondola, lake and the state line. It is kept clean by an honest and productive cleaning staff. During winter, you will have a the lodge feel to a degree, based on the wood siding and dark green coloring. I usually stay in more upscale, expensive places, but when I come to Tahoe, I will never stay anywhere else. It does the trick and they do it well. Thanks for providing my family and pooch a wonderful place to relax and enjoy some down time!

Room Tip: Upstairs in the corner for light sleepers!
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank happyvacmom01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben Z, Guest Relations Manager at Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Hi,

You've made our day!

Thank you!

Please come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (497)
There are newer reviews for Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

255 - 261 of 497 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

We were put on the bottom floor and couldn't sleep a wink because of the super thin walls and ceiling. Every noise our neighbors made in any direction - upstairs or next door - was clearly heard AND felt. All night long we endured the shaking walls, treading footsteps and people walking by the room and managed to sleep not one wink.
The hotel is well located, has a pleasant front desk and is clean, but not sleeping at night is not worth the great price. Never staying here ever again.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Sudha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben Z, Guest Relations Manager at Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Hi,

We are very sorry about your experience at the Hotel, please accept my apologies.

We truly appreciate your comments and we'll use it to improve our beloved Hotel.

Please give us a second chance.

Please contact me for any questions.

Thanks!

Cordially,
Ruben Z

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

This is a very nice hotel, with nice people and good services. It is located near the casinos where you have food courts with cheap options. Very good breakfast, with a microwave in the room, fridge, coffee maker, etc. Quiet people. We really enjoyed our stay there.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank pepichka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben Z, Public Relations Manager at Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Hi,

Thank you very much for your review and support, our family works very hard to make this Hotel a nice and affordable option for all.

Thanks again.

Cordially,
Ruben Z

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed here for one night when the smoke was there. The room was very large had everything you could need. The only complaint is you can hear the room next door. We turned on the air and it drowned it out. It would be fun to stay a few nights. It would be fun for kids also.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelenHaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben Z, Public Relations Manager at Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Hi,

Thank you so much for your business and support!

Please come back soon!

Cordially,
Ruben Z

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

For light sleepers this is a "3 strikes and you're out" motel. Strike #1 was the badly worn and uncomfortable bed which had me tossing and turning for hours to find any position that would not lead to painful bed sores. Strike #2 was the venetian blinds which could not adequately block out the strong lights throughout the parking area adjacent to the rooms. Strike #3 was the persistent late night noise from the upstairs room which sounded like a sumo wrestling match with no victor. The other thing that must be mentioned is the dangerously slippery shower floor that has you feeling like you're entering a mine field where any movement of your feet or legs could be your last. I don't know how any senior citizen could stay on their feet in this shower since there is nothing to grab on to if you start to slip. On a less serious note, the pillows looked and felt like they just came from a Boy Scouts summer camp. The breakfast was even less worthy with plain bagels, yogurt and grits on display. I did not see anything else except milk, coffee and orange juice. The only reason why I rated this motel 3 stars and not 2 is because the motel is in a convenient location near shopping, grocery stores, casinos, beach etc. Also, the room rate was very competitive (but now I know why!).

Room Tip: Don't get a room on the first floor unless you are the type of person who can sleep through a hu...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben Z, Public Relations Manager at Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Hi Stan,

We are very sorry than we did not meet your expectations. We indeed thank you for your business; your feedback is truly appreciated because customers like you make us grow and improve our business.

Please come back and give us a secodn chance.

Cordially,
Ruben Z

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

I do not know why but only Lake Tahoe and Palm Springs offered decent accommodation as well as value for money. Everywhere else was overpriced. This place is a little gem. We stayed 3 nights At an average price of £36 a night for B & B for both of us. It is just off the main drag down a side street. It is designed like a motel as most US hotels are. No complaints at all, Breakfast was also good. Ok its simple porridge or cereal, fruit juice and toast and lovely strawberry jam with real strawberries in it-yummy, tea or coffee. however it is enough and no limit on how much you eat. Better than most places we stayed in California that offered room only for up to 4 x this price in places. I have only praise for this place. We climbed Mount Tallac one day and were tired and wanted a light meal so we used the microwave in the room. Unfortunately we found the turntable did not rotate. We reported it and within 2 minutes a maintenance man came and fitted a new part and got it working. Great service. Very clean throughout. I have only praise for this place and would stay again if in the area. Highly recommended to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geoffviking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben Z, Public Relations Manager at Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Hi,

Thank you, thank you, thank you!!!

Please come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Every year when we try to come up for our anniversary and I try to find someplace that is reasonably priced. I found this hotel on booking.com but also read tons of reviews and saw where the motel is located. It is located on a street that has alot of closed down properties but this one looks like it is going strong. We had an issue the first night, but the office took care of it right away and the rest of our stay is going well. We will be leaving for home tomorrow. But 2nd floor is the best place to be, I would think due to the thin walls. But we were able to get a good night sleep. Each room has a refrigerator and microwave which is great for snacks and leftovers. I am sure we will come back. Oh, there is also this nice little taco hole in the wall restaurant next door on Cedar that has the best tacos. I wish I tried them before today

Room Tip: Rooms all have microwaves and refrigerators.Quiet neighborhood even on the weekends.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GilroyBikerGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben Z, Guest Relations Manager at Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Hi,

Thank you for your business and support!

We truly appreciate your review and your feedback.

Please come back soon!

Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.1 mi away
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
#24 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
228 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#5 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,120 reviews
0.6 mi away
Americana Village
Americana Village
#6 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
#34 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
264 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avalon Lodge
Avalon Lodge
#43 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
183 reviews
1.4 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#11 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe

Address: 4083 Cedar Ave, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6979 (Formerly Viking Motor Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range: $45 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Big Pines Mountain House is conveniently located in the center of South Lake Tahoe, within walking distance to major attractions - Heavenly Ski resort, the casinos and the Lake itself. We offer clean, comfortable and affordable rooms. Free wi-fi, complimentary breakfast, heated seasonal pool and the location make us the best value in town. Do not leave your pets behind, we will be happy to accept them in our hotel. Come visit us! Our friendly staff is always here to help you to make your Tahoe getaway simply fun! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Pines Mountain House Of Tahoe Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Big Pines Mountain Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing