We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Stay Here If You Need Any Sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe
Ranked #22 of 65 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I will not stay here again. The outdoor lights were on all night long. The light came through the blinds. They do not have drapes covering the windows. We had a leaky toilet that would leak then shut off itself off, then back on. This happened all night long. The room needed some major upgrades. The carpet was tearing in spots.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RozieCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben Z, Guest Relations Manager at Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Hi,

We are very sorry that you were not satisfied with your room. We work very hard everyday to make this hotel a great place to stay.

Please give us a second chance!

Thanks for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (506)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

277 - 283 of 506 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2013

This place is great for the price and location. Everything was clean and comfortable. The staff was courteous and helpful. The location is great - 2 blocks from Stateline and almost across the street from the Heavenly tram. The room had a fridge and coffee maker. It's an older place, so it can be a little loud, but really not a problem. The continental breakfast is very simple, but you won't starve. All in all it was great and I'll go back. Don't forget to ask for the beach pass if you're there in summer. It's free and the beach is an easy 7-10 minute walk.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DMillerLaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben Z, Public Relations Manager at Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Hi,

Thank you so much for your business and support.

Please come back soon!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The place was very nice, in a great location for walking to places to eat and play. The staff was a young girl that could have been more helpful and friendly. The other girl must have noticed her coldness and chimed in to tell us to enjoy our stay. I will stay there again, if in the area, nice location.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben Z, Guest Relations Manager at Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Hi,

Thank you, thank you, thank you!!!

Please come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

My family and I stayed the first week in June this year. It was wonderful and perfect. The laundry room across the parking lot from our rooms #139 and #140 was very convenient. Our room was wonderfully equipt with all the comforts of home. The only thing that was a disappointment was when I called days before our arrival, I asked if the pool would be open and it wasn't. It did however open the day we were going to leave. so we stayed an extra day. The staff was very helpful and warm. We are defiantly staying again next year.

Room Tip: I now have a map of the motel thats a good thing to look at before booking a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miah Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben Z, Public Relations Manager at Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Hi,

We truly appreciate your feedback and support.

Please come back soon!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

I love staying here when we go into Tahoe. Clean room, great front desk staff, room had a kitchen and a fireplace, comfortable bed. And they recently remodeled the bathrooms and it had one of those big waterfall showerheads. Overall I loved the room for the price (around $45.00) and will stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Celb1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben Z, Public Relations Manager at Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Hi,

Thanks for your business and support. We are here because of you!

Please come back soon!

Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

the place was a nice surprise, first because the room was much bigger than we expected, and had a little kitchen and a small dining area and also- a fireplace. the lamp needed fixing and we needed a bit of guidance with the fireplace (coming form Israel wen a fireplace is something you see only in movies :) ) but the staff was very helpful and reacted imidiatly to our every call.

The location is not the most central one, but it's great of you're coming with a car and there is parking on the spot. Breakfast is basic and nice.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inbar O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben Z, Guest Relations Manager at Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Hi,

Thank you, thank you, thank you!!!

Please come back soon!

Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

On the plus side the beds were very comfortable and the basics (sheets, towels, bathroom) clean. However, the room is overall quite dirty (especially the carpet, lampshades, ac, wallpaper) and in desperate need of renovation. Some of the bathroom fixings are rusted. Breakfast is very limited. Overall not recommended.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Aliki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben Z, Public Relations Manager at Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Hi,

We are very sorry that you had a bad experience at our hotel. We work very hard to improve our hotel and to keep our customers very satisfied.

Your feedback is truly appreciated.

Please email me so i can get a free stay weekend

Cordially,
Ruben Z
Admin@thebigpines.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.1 mi away
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
#23 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
231 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#5 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,136 reviews
0.6 mi away
Americana Village
Americana Village
#6 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Avalon Lodge
Avalon Lodge
#47 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
185 reviews
1.4 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#11 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,118 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
#33 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe

Address: 4083 Cedar Ave, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6979 (Formerly Viking Motor Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#6 Best Value Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range: $49 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Big Pines Mountain House is conveniently located in the center of South Lake Tahoe, within walking distance to major attractions - Heavenly Ski resort, the casinos and the Lake itself. We offer clean, comfortable and affordable rooms. Free wi-fi, complimentary breakfast, heated seasonal pool and the location make us the best value in town. Do not leave your pets behind, we will be happy to accept them in our hotel. Come visit us! Our friendly staff is always here to help you to make your Tahoe getaway simply fun! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Pines Mountain House Of Tahoe Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Big Pines Mountain Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing