We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable and close to the action!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe
Ranked #22 of 65 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 1, 2013

With so many hotels/motels in this area, it's hard to choose one! We came up earlier then planned and were looking for a cheap place to stay. We were pleasantly surprised with Big Pines Mountain House since there are a lot of sketchy and or broken down motels in the area! This was an amazing deal! The rooms were simple yet large, and very clean! The beds were comfortable and they left clean towels for us. Although It is tucked away from the Main Street, all of the main attractions are within reasonable walking distance! I wish we stayed here the whole trip, we would have saved a bunch of money and it was better then the fancier more expensive hotel down e street!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mariss2311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben Z, Guest Relations Manager at Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Hi,

Thank you very much for your review and support!

Please come back again!

Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (515)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

296 - 302 of 515 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

This hotel ticked all the boxes for me. Location, price and the beds were the most comfortable I slept in on my whole trip (over a dozen hotels). The woman at reception gave us good directions and recommended a place to eat (stateline brewery), which we really enjoyed. Overall a nice stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danika9288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben Z, Public Relations Manager at Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Hi Danika,

Thank you very much for your review and business.

Please come back soon!

Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Let's get the negative out of the way. If you're looking for posh and elegant, you're looking in the wrong place. It can also be a little noisy from outside noise and the room air conditioner. Although, not enough to cause us any distress (and we were next to a stairway and the pool). That being said, if you're looking for basic accommodations at a great value, you've found it.
My wife and I come for the beauty and fun of Lake Tahoe, not to hang out in the room. While, in need of updating (and an interior decorator) the room was clean and comfortable. It even passed my wife's critical inspection for dust, dirt, and uninvited guests (critters great and small). There's attention to detail (how about a box of baking soda in the fridge). The shower is basic stand-up, but there's PLENTY of hot water at an intensity of your choosing (see Kramer at the end of the "low flow shower head" Seinfeld episode). The TV works well and the bed is comfortable.
The location is perfect... Only two blocks from casinos, yet only 3-4 from the lake. It has a rustic, woodsy feel while being within walking distance of all the amenities.
Because of it's basic nature, I can only give it an overall rating of 4. But, to my wife and I, it was a 5 and we'd return in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Judging by the pictures here on Trip Advisor, there are better rooms than the one we had. Also, for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PapaT256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben Z, Public Relations Manager at Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Hi,

Thank you very much for your feedback and support.

We are a family business that works very hard to make this hotel a nice and affordable choice.

Thanks again!

Please come back soon!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights in june. The roomrate was what brought us here and it's good value for money. Room is big enough, nice little pool and only 5 minute walk to the beach or heavenly area. Only downside is the ceilings are very thin so you can hear your upstairs neighbour walking all the time. All in all a good enjoyable hotel/motel

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveltype31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben Z, Guest Relations Manager at Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Hi,

Thank you very much for your feedback and business.

Please come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed here for one night on our road trip in May. We were very impressed with our room. It was huge! We were able to park close to the room and it contained everything we needed. Location was good and easy to find. This room was the best value for money on our whole trip.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neebydub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben Z, Public Relations Manager at Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Hi,

Thank you so much for your support!

Please come back soon!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

This motel seems generally under-rated for just how nice it is. The rooms are well-kept and large enough to use the fridge and microwave. The furnishings and design were carefully chosen, not deluxe but very nice for a cheap motel.

The staff is really nice, they were sincerely helpful with whatever I needed. And breakfast was a real treat... I've never had a motel breakfast that was healthy and not made of processed food before ever. There were sliced bagels, huge bowls of serve-yourself high quality yogurt and granola, and a jar of honey with a dipper. Plus hot real oatmeal, hot chocolate mix that wasn't chemically, and the usual coffee tea juice.

The only downside was that I heard every footstep from overhead even though they were treading lightly.

This motel was a great find for an afficionado of cheap motels!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tamaraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben Z, Guest Relations Manager at Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Hi,

Thank you very much for support and business!!

Please come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

The room was nicely designed. Spacious showers, clean and nice beds. Nice fire place and the kitchen came with dishes, pots, etc. Very nice inn and the best was its location. Walking distance to the shops and casinos. Also there is a pet sitting place 5 minutes away from the inn so it was perfect

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LTtype350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben Z, Guest Relations Manager at Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Hi,

Thank you, thank you, thank you...

Please come bcack soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.1 mi away
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
#24 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
237 reviews
1.4 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#11 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,148 reviews
0.6 mi away
Americana Village
Americana Village
#7 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#13 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
238 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avalon Lodge
Avalon Lodge
#48 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
187 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#5 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe

Address: 4083 Cedar Ave, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6979 (Formerly Viking Motor Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range: $57 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe has over 70 comfortable rooms, private beach access, outdoor heated swimming pool, coin laundry, continental breakfast and our Meeting Room available for groups, gatherings and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Pines Mountain House Of Tahoe Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Big Pines Mountain Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing