We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Affordable even near Christmas” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe
Ranked #26 of 72 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
GreenLeadersBronze level
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Affordable even near Christmas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I stayed here on three different occasions in the Winter of 2011. I've never had a problem with the room, it was clean and the heater worked magically. We personally didn't have much interaction with the staff but things seemed to be running smoothly.Additionally the rooms were often full, yet we were never disturbed by loud guests.

The location is also great. Its steps from the Nevada border and the big Casinos and a short drive from both Heavenly Resort entrances. Heavenly Village right next to the casinos, on the California side, is a small shopping area that often has entertainment and a miniature outdoor iceskating rink. There is also a tiny taco stand right around the corner, open at unknown times, that I quite recommend.

The could improve is the breakfast. Only stale bagels and tasteless fruit were available(but it looks like the staff have been working on that). Big Pine usually has good rates available on their website and in addition there tend to be Groupon and/or Zozi deals active. I've always gotten good value for my money and I'd stay here again

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank schmoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben Z, Guest Relations Manager at Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Hi,

Thanks so much for your business and feedback!

We will keep improving our breakfast!

Please come back soon!

Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    167
    66
    36
    26
See reviews for
105
161
32
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

One of the first things that stood out was the long list of DOs and DON'Ts on signs and in the paperwork... I suspect they get their share of party people who need a reminder of the rules. There's a small outdoor pool aside the parking lot (we didn't swim there though). To use the beach they give you a private beach pass (the beach is private and the passes used by many motels) and it's a fairly quick walk (5 min drive) to get there. The motel's breakfast area is small and fills up very fast on the weekend. The buffet was basic but adequate. Overall decent value.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jay m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben Z, Guest Relations Manager at Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Hi Jay,

Thanks for your business and your feedback.

We are glad that you were here, we work very hard to make your stay nice and affordable. We will keep improving our breakfast.

Please come back soon!

Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We spent 5 days here just last month. I found this motel via the internet and it sounded pretty nice. We were not disappointed. The room was larger than several other places we have stayed, and the housekeeping was first rate. This motel must be doing something right; it was either full or very close to that each night we were there! And yet, it was amazingly quiet at night. There is a nice deck with tables, chairs and umbrellas - perfect for playing our continuous domino tournament and just enjoying the sunshine.

The only drawbacks are:
The 'breakfast; - it was really poor; after the first morning we fended for ourselves!
The towels - often VERY thin and stained, which we sure didn't expect!

All in all, the Big Pines is a nice place to stay, within walking distance of the shops, casinos, and private beach. Too bad the 'war zone', as we call it, is right across the street, but that is no fault of the motel. I guess it will be there forever, since the developers/backers have reportedly gone bankrupt.

We plan to stay at Big Pines again next summer on our annual sojourn to Tahoe.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank goldilocksSanJoseCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben Z, Public Relations Manager at Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Hi,

We thank you very much for your review and feedback.

We work very hard to make your stay nice and affordable, thanks to customers like you we can improve and be motivated by this great review.

Please come back soon and tell a friend about us!

Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Great experience from check in to leaving, clean room, friendly staff. The uncommon extra mile effort was when Nicole assisted me to take care of an important, time sensitive business matter which required the use of the office computer and fax. I inquired where i might find a Kinko's and without hesitation Nicole offered her technology resources. This took place after i had already checked out! From time to time people need a helping hand but in my experience it is uncommon to find folks who will offer it. Big Pines Mountain House is the exception, thank you for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank froiesman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben Z, Guest Relations Manager at Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Hi,

Thanks you, thank you, thank you. Your review and your business are truly appreciated.

Having friendly and helpful staff is always our goal, Nichole is one of our best clerks.

Thanks again.

Please come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite Bay
Level Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed at The Big Pines Mountain House for 3 nights in August to get away from the heat in the valley. Our room #131 had 2 queen beds and was of adequate size. The room had a microwave, a refrigerator, a safe an iron and ironing board and coffee maker. The sink was outside the bathroom which is always a plus. The beds were fine with plenty of pillows. We were on the first floor and as this is an old building the floor above squeaked every time a footstep was taken in the room above as it did from the hallways. The walls are very thin and every plumbing noise made in rooms above or adjacent was very loud. The pool was supposedly heated but even on the very warm days we were there the water was very cold.The beach which is shared with several motels is 5 blocks away and is very nice with rental equipment and food. The continental breakfast was very poor . The oatmeal cooked in a crockpot was terrible. There was no bread for toast,only bagels with no cream cheese and some granola. If you go the price is good, but stay on the top floor,plan breakfast out and go in the pool if you are a polar bear.

Room Tip: There is no elevator, but go for the top floor only
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Saturday8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben Z, Public Relations Manager at Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Hi,

Thank you very much for your business and your feedback.

We are a family owned business that works very hard to make your stay nice and affordable.

Thanks for letting us know the areas we need to improve on, we promise we will make it better until we get it perfect for you.

Thanks again!

We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porterville, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Great first visit to Big Pines Mountain house, we enjoyed our stay and we had no trouble at all, room was clean, beds were great, kitchen perfect, noise did not hear any staff great. price was good also. would stay again and plan to make do so soon. and my dog liked it to.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoAnn Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben Z, Public Relations Manager at Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Hi Joann,

We are so glad that you liked your stay at the Big Pines.

Please come back soon!

Thanks so much for your business and feedback!!!!

Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

I really liked the staff here. Don't expect luxury, but the sleeping is fine and the hotel is close to everything. And the price is very good. When I wanted to change rooms I was helped right away and they put me in a much nicer room. But no views of the lake, just trees and parked cars. And it is loud. This place is great for families and those who need to save money.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 254 - had to change. It's behind the stairs with a bright light shining in all night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flenart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonh R, Public Relations Manager at Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Hi,

Thanks so much for your business and feedback.

We are very glad to know that we met your expectations.

Please come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
1.7 mi away
Inn by the Lake
Inn by the Lake
#17 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 638 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
#31 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 stars 182 reviews
1.3 mi away
Howard Johnson South Lake Tahoe
Howard Johnson South Lake Tahoe
#42 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 stars 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Americana Village
Americana Village
#7 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 308 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#5 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 780 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
#35 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 stars 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe

Property: Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe
Address: 4083 Cedar Ave, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150 (Formerly Viking Motor Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Big Pines Mountain House is conveniently located in the center of South Lake Tahoe, within walking distance to major attractions - Heavenly Ski resort, the casinos and the Lake itself. We offer clean, comfortable and affordable rooms. Free wi-fi, complimentary breakfast, heated seasonal pool and the location make us the best value in town. Do not leave your pets behind, we will be happy to accept them in our hotel. Come visit us! Our friendly staff is always here to help you to make your Tahoe getaway simply fun! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Pines Mountain House Of Tahoe Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Big Pines Mountain Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing