We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis in South Lake Tahoe”
Review of Black Bear Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Black Bear Lodge
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This is a superb bed and breakfast which is a delightful retreat from the general crowds and chaos of South Lake Tahoe. There are several lodge rooms and three or four cottages. We again stayed in the same cottage we did several years ago and it was as enjoyable and peaceful now as it was then. The grounds are beautiful and immaculate, and the included breakfasts are creative, healthy and delicious. This is the best bed and breakfast we have stayed at in the U.S.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lysippos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (159)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 159 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed at this bed and breakfastfor two nights.The owners were very friendly and helpful after our late arrival after a flight delay..We stayed in the main lodge.It was decorated like a rustic western cabin.the grounds were beautiful.breakfast was excellent..

Room Tip: we stayed on the ground floor which in the lodge with a view of the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rebelwebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We spent some time at the lake and rented a huge suite at the Black Bear Inn which was a short drive from the lake.
Amazing guest house.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trshacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

My wife and I decided to stay at this great place for our honeymoon week and it definitely lived up to all the very positive reviews. It was the tail end of the ski season and was not crowded at all. Because of this, Jerry gave us the option of an upgrade to a cabin from one of the lodge rooms. Every morning at breakfast we were greeted to a fire, nice music, and great food. At times, we were even brought cheese and juice (substitute wine if you drink!) in the afternoon. The cabin was cozy and very warm, especially when the fire was going! The hot tub is set to the side of the lot with a roof and is mostly enclosed and very relaxing. They also have an ever-expanding dvd collection you can borrow from (unlimited amount). This was an amazing, romantic retreat. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Off-setting properties are hardly noticeable and were quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2012

We chose where to stay on Lake Tahoe solely on the basis of other reviews and we were not disappointed.
The Black Bear Inn is simply the best accomodation in the area by far!
Our room, Fallen Leaf, was very well appointed and immaculately clean. The restaurant and lounge were beautiful and had a great atmosphere. We loved cheese and wine by the fire in the main lodge. Breakfast and dinner were delicious.
Everyone working at the Black Bear Inn was incredibly helpful and accomodating. We were made to feel welcome all through our stay. Warm and professional at the same time. This place is definitely special.
As for skiing, Heavenly Resort is just a five minute ride on the shuttle, which stops just outside the Black Bear Inn.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jacob_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2011

We came back to Lake Tahoe where we were married 25 yes ago and we stayed at the Black Bear Inn. It was our first time at a bed and breakfast and I'm afraid nothing will ever compare to the BBI. This place was amazing! The grounds were just beautiful, the Inn was breathtaking, the staff was friendly and very accommodating. We stayed in the Senaca room and it was perfect. We had dinner in the restaurant our first night and even though it was pricey, it was a great experience and the food was delicious. Breakfast didn't disappoint either. We have nothing be great things to say about the BBI. Pictures on their website don't do it justice. Can't wait to stay here again on our next visit to Lake Tahoe!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tamlbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

My husband and I stayed two nights at the Black Bear Inn in Lake Tahoe. When we arrived we were greeted by a lovely young woman named Elise. She knew who I was and made us feel immediatly welcome. She was very helpful through our entire stay with suggestions for eating and hiking. She seems to love her job.
We chose to stay in the "duplex" unit just behind the main lodge. When we stepped outside to walk the short distance to our cabin I was blown away by the beauty of the grounds. Beautiful trees, amazing flowers, green grass and a lovely herb/veg garden that is used is the food prep on premise. There are several great wood sculptures and a beautiful water garden. I could have spent my entire visit just sitting and relaxing in the gardens. I could not get enough of the beauty. I can only imagine what it looks like covered in a blanket of snow with the 34 ft. stone fireplace emblazened. I hope I can go back for ski season.
Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable. It was also very private and quiet.

We dined at the in house resturant one night. The food was wonderful and the staff was charming. I believe they were under staffed on our night as the service was a bit slow though the food is individually prepared by the chef and served by his lovely wife and we knew it was not a quick meal. I know thew will work out the kinks and I suggest a meal at this establishment as the chef is talented and the food was creative and delicious.

Our breakfasts were lovingly prepared by the propriotors of Black Bear Inn. We ate the first morning at our lovely garden table and the next in the main lodge. Both were excellant and served by two very attentive and freindly owners.
Each evening, 5-6 they have a lovely assortment of cheeses and wines to enjoy. Very nice to sit and enjoy all the books, magazine, pictures and artifacts that adorn the main lodge while eating cheese and sipping delicious wine.

We will be back when we visit Lake Tahoe next time. I would recommend this establishment to anyone who enjoys quality lodging and friendly service. The location is great too, shops, coffee, great resturants and an amazing view of the lake within walking distance.

The owners have created something very special.

Room Tip: They have rooms in main lodge, a
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank liztiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
1.1 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#8 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
912 reviews
0.1 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
488 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#13 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#11 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,128 reviews
1.2 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,100 reviews
1.1 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#5 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Bear Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Bear Lodge

Address: 1202 Ski Run Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-8514
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 Specialty Lodging in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range: $180 - $475 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Black Bear Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Black Bear Lodge is a unique lodging experience in the heart of South Lake Tahoe. With five guest rooms in the main lodge and four spacious cabins, our accommodations are perfect for a romantic getaway or a family reunion. We are ideally located just moments from the shores of beautiful Lake Tahoe and the slopes of Heavenly Mountain – walking distance to some of the best restaurants in town. No expense was spared during the construction of the property. Hand hewn logs and meticulously crafted river rock gas fireplaces highlight every room. The one-acre property is fully landscaped with flower gardens and Tahoe’s famous pine trees. We’ll make sure you leave fueled for your day with fresh baked pastries, organic yogurt bar and locally roasted coffee – included with every reservation. After a day skiing, biking, hiking, kayaking, parasailing enjoy a soak in our in-ground spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Black Bear Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Bear Hotel South Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing