We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Deceptively Nice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Americana Village

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Americana Village
Ranked #7 of 68 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Deceptively Nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Stayed for a week in September 2013, and was pleasantly surprised by the beauty and comfort of the recently updated suites. Staff was extremely kind, accommodating and professional. Rooms were clean and well-appointed, and the facility was nice and close to area attractions & gambling. There was a little too much street noise, and the neighborhood looks a little low-rent.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda A, Manager at Americana Village, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Thank you Jill for taking the time to post a review. That road construction is all finished now, thank goodness, things are much quieter now. Hope you will come see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    109
    19
    9
    1
See reviews for
146
122
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Just got back from a stay end of August, early September. The place looks like a well kept motel. There is no luxury or air conditioning. It was HOT, but they do have screens on door and windows and there is a ceiling fan and a free standing fan. We stayed in a studio that has not been remodeled yet, The furniture was very worn and the wall paper was peeling off the walls. The refurbished rooms looked nice. The area surrounding the place is a little seedy. It is a neighborhood of older homes and apartments. I wouldn't want to walk around at night. On the positive side, the staff goes all out offering activities that are family friendly. There is always free popcorn available , free coffee and free videos for your room. We participated in the $7.00 taco night dinner and the $ 7.00 hot dog & hamburger dinner. We enjoyed the musical entertainment of Fabrizio. We used the free bikes. They also have fishing poles and many other things. You will enjoy your stay if you are not expecting luxury and the weather isn't too hot! They are experimenting with letting you bring small pets. This is a first. If interested, you have to call the resort directly as RCI doesn't seem to know much about this.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alikes2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda A, Manager at Americana Village, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Thank you for your honest feedback, hope you can come back and experience one of our remodeled units in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san antonio texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed here 3 nights in August. Location is fantastic. Rooms are nice but a little dated. No A/C. Evenings were OK, but room was hot during the day. Had a little trouble getting Wi-Fi connection. Front desk very helpful

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sanderson55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda A, Manager at Americana Village, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pauma Valley, CA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed in an upstairs unit July 26-29. Room was hot and stuffy but there are fans. Older decor but kitchen and bath had been remodeled. Yes a studio is small, we had 3 and it was quite comfortable. If you like a more relaxed accommodation, family friendly with grounds to walk or just to chill, free movie rentals, free bike rentals and an activity center, this is the place for you. If you need room service and a fancy hotel, this is not. The office staff was very helpful and friendly, they will book activities for you. Check in and out was fast and easy. Keep in mind that this is a timeshare property, I imagine room preference is given to owners, so the newer remodeled rooms are given to them first. The other rooms are perfectly fine, clean and acceptable. They do have access to a private beach, did not go so cannot comment. We will stay here again when we visit Lake Tahoe.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank neecee23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda A, Manager at Americana Village, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Great to hear that you and your family had such a good time. Hope you can all come back and enjoy some great snow this year! We are busy planning some fun winter activities for the kids.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a week in August and were very disappointed. Upon arrival front desk staff rushed us through all the paperwork. Studios are EXTREMELY small -they say can sleep 4 -but we were cramped with 2. Very old decor . Clean though. We had 3 bear sitings in 2days - one was walking right in the resort to the unsecured garbage cans on the Americana grounds. Because we are not accustomed to being close to bears I approached a staff member to ask about info on bears. She kinda looked at me as if I was weird and said something like "this is Tahoe and there are beards here". She referred me to the Internet and told me she lives with bears sleeping on her grass-she doesn't bother them and other don't bother her. I was very disappointed in her lack of concern-again where we are from one does not see bears close up at all ever! Parking is also a real issue at tis resort. If you aren't in bed by 10pm and arrive back later you may not get a spot. This happened to us one night and we had to park alongside the pool which actually made it so others wold not tight to back out in the morning. When I informed the staff, she told me there was overflow in the lot next door. I suggested they tell us that when we check in. By the way, the overflow"lot" was a gravelly construction lot - which looked rather unsafe to me especially late at night. (The resort is not n the nicest neighbourhood). All in all Tahoe is a beautiful place where there are lots of things to do and we will return for sure but will not stay at Americana Village again.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Miabos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

Were in Lake Tahoe for a wedding recently and stayed at the Americana. The recently renovated rooms were very tastefully redone, well equipped and really comfortable. What stood out most was the service and staff. Like all weddings, there were a few points of confusion (ours) when we arrived, but Anna and Linda at the front patiently helped us through everything. Anything we needed during the 3 night stay was quickly and warmly taken care of by the staff. The hospitality, service and professionalism was impressive to say the least.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda A, Manager at Americana Village, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Wonderful to hear that you all had such a great time. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

We go to Lake Tahoe twice a year (once each winter and summer) and usually stay in our timeshare. However when it's not available we enjoy staying at different establishments around SLT. This summer we stayed at Americana Village and I'm pretty confident we won't stay anywhere else. We loved it! Very well-maintained, plenty of parking, the free DVDs, books, bikes and beach pass was outstanding. We played ping-pong, tetherball and love walking around the grounds. The staff was wicked helpful and did not hesitate to assist us with anything we needed. The room was great for the three of us; great floorplan, love the kitchen and the bath was recently remodeled. We had anticipated on eating out our entire trip but when we saw the grounds with the BBQs and picnic tables, we couldn't help but hop on the bikes they rent out for free and bike on over to Raleys for some hot dogs and burgers to BBQ in the evenings. After dinner a short walk to the hot tub was the perfect way to end our days there. The only thing that some might consider a con is that the property is older as the decor isn't up to date. I personally think the decor is charming but if you are expecting modern decor a la Marriott, you will be disappointed. Overall, our trip was OUTSTANDING and we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brads_Wifey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda A, Manager at Americana Village, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Wonderful to hear that you had a great time! Do hope we will see you for your winter trip this year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
1.0 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#14 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#10 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
0.5 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#5 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#9 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
0.6 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.4 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#8 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americana Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americana Village

Property: Americana Village
Address: 3845 Pioneer Trl, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-8805
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#4 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#6 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Americana Village 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tahoe is the ultimate year around playground! Every season has adventure to offer and we’d like to to make sure you have a place to crash after your adventurous day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Americana Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americana Village Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Americana Vacation Hotel
Americana Vacation Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing