We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Girls Getaway to a great spot.”
Review of Americana Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Americana Village
Ranked #6 of 65 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 3, 2013

My three friends and I chose to stay at the Americana because of the reviews, and we weren't disappointed. The beds were comfortable, the rooms were clean and quiet, and they have have bikes that you can use. We enjoyed the free popcorn and the movies that were offered to check out. The grounds are beautiful. We never had time to take a swim, but I was happy to see that it was a comfortable temperature. The hot tub is very small and was always filled with kids, so we didn't use that, and the breakfast catered more to kids. Overall, I would say we were all very happy with our stay. I'm hoping to bring my husband back on our next visit. Beverly H.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gypsygirl56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda A, Manager at Americana Village, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Beverly, It is great to hear that you and your friends had such a good time here. We do appreciate your taking the time to post a review. Hope to see you again the next time you are in Tahoe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (405)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

289 - 295 of 405 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2013

This a great place, and I'd go back again, but it might not be the first place I look to go to. We travel as a couple and like places that are quiet, we never really eat breakfast in a hotel/motel or use many of their facilities, so the free breakfast (mostly donuts which we don't touch) doesn't help, nor do the free DVD's ,and organized family activities. That is a great touch for families though. What we like is a quiet room, nice pool and ideally a nice place to sit and drink a glass of wine outside of our room. So with regard the Americana Village, it was a quiet room, but we were lucky and got a room right at the back of the Village and had nice neighbours. Even so, it did seem a quiet place even with lots of families. What we didn't have was anywhere to sit outside of the room that didn't have lots of children running around. The pool (although it seems nice) was not a place we would go to, as it and the hot tub were full of many children jumping and screaming. Great to see them having fun, but not relaxing for us. The place is perfect for familiies, and the rooms are clean, well thought out, and the bed is quite comfy. The location is also well within walking distance to great places to eat. In all, not a bad choice, but more a family place.

Room Tip: Go to the back of the property upstairs. Avoid rooms near the pool. Children in their playing loud...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Devon124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda A, Manager at Americana Village, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

July is indeed the peak of "family time" here at the Americana, and in South Lake Tahoe for that matter. There are many other times of the year where we really can be a quiet get a way spot for you. If you do consider giving us another try, feel free to give us a call in advance to get a feel for how that time be. We would love to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

The Americana Village folks really know the needs of their customers: upgraded and super clean bathrooms, small/well-appointed kitchenettes, thoughtful placement of technology (plenty of plugs for everyone's electronics!), portable door screens for those of us who love the cool mountain air, comfy beds, and all the extra amenities (like free DVD move rentals and books/coffee and popcorn in the lobby/nice pool) that made our stay feel like it was personalized just for us! Good location for walking to restaurants, shopping, and casinos. We especially liked the pass to the private beach. Very family friendly with great staff. Thanks for a wonderful visit! We'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: We were in a room right next to the stairs, but we didn't hear a thing! Good insulation!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda A, Manager at Americana Village, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Donna, Thank you for taking the time to share with others your wonderful feedback. i do apologize for my delay in responding, it has indeed been an amazingly busy summer. Guests like you make our jobs here even more fun! Can't wait for your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

This place is perfect for families. They have a lot to offer. They have free bike rentals, free dvds to take back to your room,chairs and umbrellas to take to the beach, volleyball, tetherball, horseshoes, ping pong, to BBQ pits to make up your own dinner. Our room was very clean and had everything you would need. Everyone we met on staff was extremely pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda A, Manager at Americana Village, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Thanks so much, Lisa! We do love the fun seeking energy that families bring along with them! Hope you and the family will come see us again soon, Fall is glorious up here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We found this place by chance, just stopping by. A great little hotel with old school family spirit. Low rates, friendly service at its best (personnel always reminding you the free amenities and servuces you can enjoy: bikes, beach chairs, umbrellas, breakfast, beach access, hundreds of dvds...). Nice pool, small gym, 2 washers, 2 dryers (which came up very helpful in the middle of a 2 weeks road trip around California for a family of 5). No AC but not needed, even in July, thanks to the cool nights.
Beside the amenities for the kids (playground, ping pong table, tether ball, wii,...) they even have activities for tge kids organized every day by the staff.
I really recommend this place for a non luxury stay in a family friendly environment.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda A, Manager at Americana Village, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

So great that you stumbled upon us! It sounds like you and your family were able to enjoy the best of all we offer. Hope you see you and your gang again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

I was very happy that we stayed at the Americana Village Hotel in July 2013. It is an older hotel that has been renovated, and they did a great job. Someone paid attention to the small details, such as putting box fans in the rooms, equipping the doors for screens (to leave your door open), and stocking the kitchen with enough supplies to make it easy to cook. The facility has a playground, ping pong, and a huge areas with all sizes of bikes to use. The movie library was extensive, and everyone was super friendly. There were activities all day, every day for adults and kids. The location is excellent, an easy walk to the Gondola and shopping. We will stay here again. The only drawback is a typical Tahoe drawback... no AC in the rooms. The ceiling fans helped, but it was a bit warm at night.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank erinautical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda A, Manager at Americana Village, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

We do appreciate your taking the time to post a review. Wonderful comments like yours really do help future travelers to find us. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Booked Americana Village based on TA reviews for two nights. Called in advanced to reserve an upgraded room and pack and play but didn't receive either. However, we did check in very late so my assumption is all the upgraded rooms were gone. We never received our pack and play even though we asked about it again the second day. This was our first "motel" type stay in Lake Tahoe so we didn't really know what to expect. The first night for us was pretty horrible because we were very hot but that was since we didn't open the windows to let the cool air in (as is instructed in their informational guest book). We had a studio suite for my spouse and two young children, which was just enough room but I think if you stayed more than 2 nights it would feel cramped for a family of 4.

It may sound like my experience was pretty bad, but aside from the points above, my family and I had a pleasant and relaxing stay. I enjoyed the quiet environment during the day and the kids enjoyed the nearby amenities of the playground and grassy area. The interior furnishings were older but not worn. They do an excellent job of keeping things very clean on the grounds as well as in the room. We took advantage of the complimentary donuts, popcorn, wifi and movie rental. Wish we could've taken advantage of the bike rental and swimming pool as well. Since this is a popular place and we went during a peak time, there was one night where we had to park our car on the street but that wasn't a problem. I enjoyed the dual head and heights showers especially when it came to the kids' baths the lower height made it easier. Although I would have to say the next time I would bring my own towels as theirs are a little on the worn and thin side. Overall a pleasant experience and would love to return, (possibly to a bigger room to accommodate my family and fingers crossed an upgraded room!).

Room Tip: ask for an upgraded room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank form2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda A, Manager at Americana Village, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Thank you for posting your honest and frank review. It hurts me to hear that we let you down on the Pack 'n Play, there is no excuse for that, a very simple request. You sound like such positive and fun loving travelers, I hope you will give us a chance to make things right on your next visit. Please give me a call directly and I will see to it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.5 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#5 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,150 reviews
1.0 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#11 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,128 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#8 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#7 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
508 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#13 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
219 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
#17 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americana Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americana Village

Address: 3845 Pioneer Trl, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-8805
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#4 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#6 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range: $121 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Americana Village 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tahoe is the ultimate year around playground! Every season has adventure to offer and we’d like to to make sure you have a place to crash after your adventurous day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Americana Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americana Village Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Americana Vacation Hotel
Americana Vacation Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing