We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family tradition”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Americana Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Americana Village
Ranked #7 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Family tradition”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

My family and I have been coming here since before I was born. The great location right by state line and heavenly cannot be beat. The staff is friendly and always was so kind to our children. We hadn't been back since my youngest left for college but I was happy to find it still had the charm we fell in love with so long ago. Tons of activities on sight and they offer more through tours and suggestions. This is a great place for a family vacation or even a couples getaway. I highly recommend trying this place for at least a few days on your next trip to south shore. Oh and they have private beach access just a couple miles away for the warm summer months!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelbug3221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    114
    19
    9
    1
See reviews for
159
126
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

Staff very friendly and helpful. Rooms good size with Seating area and facilities to cook. Even limited seating to sit outside to enjoy the weather and relax, most unusual away from the pool area. Really enjoyed our five nights here, beautiful location. Would recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool can be a little noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Americana Village, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Heather, we are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us last week. I do hope you will consider us again on your next visit up to South Lake. Thank your for your comments, and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lapeer, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

Our experience @ Americana Village was totally enjoyable. The room we had was modern and kept exceptionally clean. The staff was courteous, outgoing and attentive to the needs of the guests. I would equate our experience to that of being on a cruise- without the ship and the gluttony : ) Would recommend this establishment to everyone without equivocation.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darwinlapeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Americana Village, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
So glad to hear you enjoyed your visit with us again this year! Sure hope you come back again next year too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

Great Value! Great Location! We came up here for an our annual South Lake Tahoe Geocaching event. We found this place by accident last year as it was one of the event stops. Cute ambiance. Kind of makes y ou feel like you are in a little village.

What makes this place so great is that the staff is really nice. The reservation process was easy as well as the check in. Everyone seemed pretty friendly. They have a DVD library of over 500 DVDs for guests to check out. There is also a free breakfast which includes donuts, bananas, hardboiled eggs with juice and/or coffee. They also have activities for the guests.

We weren't lucky enough to get one of the remodeled rooms; it was nice enough and suited our needs. Very clean!!!!!

Room Tip: 2nd floor is best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Patricia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Americana Village, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are thrilled that you had such a great visit with us, and hope you have plans to come again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

The location was great because it was just a block from the "tourist area!" The hospitality of the front desk was wonderful and very pleasant! Our room was not ready, but they gave us Room 244 and WOW! The room was recently refurbished and it was very modern with the Tahoe atmosphere!
The pool and spa were clean, the entire property was well maintained. The staff was pleasant and helpful with their knowledge of the area to our many questions.
When we were leaving we met with Linda, Resort Manager, and she was very friendly and made sure we had a comfortable and pleasant stay....our family did and we will return to Americana Village - S. Lake Tahoe!

Room Tip: They are in the process of refurbishing their rooms, ask for one of them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Americana Village, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Thank you Anna! We appreciate the fact that it takes time to write a review online, how nice of you do so. Hope you will give us a call the next time you are coming up to South Lake Tahoe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

Upon my first sight of the hotel, I was instantly stricken with how dated the exterior of the hotel ways. Although it's not decrepit or anything, its style is straight from an earlier era, which I did not like. My room appeared to be updated very recently, however, there were multiple things wrong with it. First of all, my room was located right next to the activity center, which was temporarily located next to my room. There were loud thumps on the wall; it sounded like somebody was thrown against it. Next, although the room advertises itself as sleeping 5 people, it really doesn't. There's one bed in a separate room (with a door that doesn't lock, by the way), and two sofa-beds in the main room. However, they are positioned in such a way that only one can open, and after asking the staff if it was possible to move it around, they said no. So two people could sleep in the bed, two people could sleep in the sofa-bed, and one person has to sleep on the couch. Being the odd-man out in my family, I was forced to spend a night on probably the most uncomfortable couch that has ever been made. The hotel's website did not make it clear that the 5th person would have to sleep on the couch. Third, the room looked like it was put together in a rush. Outlets, light switches, and even the flat-screen TV were all crooked and looked bad. Upon arrival, one of the ceiling fans wasn't working, and we had to call maintenance to fix it. The hotel also has a pool, which is located practically in the parking lot, which is weird. The hot tub is very small. It could probably fit 3 people, at most. In the morning, it appeared as though they were cleaning the pool, so if I wanted to go swimming I couldn't. During my visit, they were in the process of paving the parking lot, so half of the parking lot was closed one day, and the other half was closed the other day. Unfortunately, half of the parking lot wasn't enough or all of the cars, which, obviously, was a problem. The breakfast was pretty basic: eggs, donuts, and fruit. I did not try the eggs, but the donuts did not taste very fresh, and neither did the fruit.

Overall, I was not very impressed with this hotel and would not stay here again.

Room Tip: There is a hotel that looks much nicer across the street. Perhaps you should get a room there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jared S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Americana Village, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed account of your stay. There is indeed a place in the room for a 5th person to sleep without being on the couch. For any future stay, please contact the Front Desk, as we would have happily fixed all of these issues. We strive to offer superior rooms and we will work tirelessly until all of our guests feel we have exceeded their expectations. I invite you to call me or any member of our management team to discuss this stay further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

From the outside, the Americana Village doesn't look like much. Quite honestly, it looks like a 2 star motel like the 6 or 8 variety. That's what I thought the past few times I drove by it when I stayed in Tahoe. I was thoroughly impressed with the accommodations here.
First, check-in was easy. I exchanged through RCI for a week but only stayed part of it. They called to confirm my stay and I let them know my plans. Upon check-in, the young lady at the front desk was very nice. She gathered all the pertinent information, gave me maps, schedules of events, and told me about different things to do in the area. As it was late morning, they still had some donuts and juice from the breakfast spread that she offered up and told me when they served it. Popcorn is available all day in the lobby.
When I got to the room, it was very spacious. I got a studio unit that had a large bed, there was sitting area with a couch that folds out to a bed, and a kitchen area with a full size fridge, blender. They did not have a stove but hot plates were available upon request. What got me was there were two large (possibly 42") TVs mounted on the wall. That was a bit much as the room wasn't that big but I guess if you have two shows/games on at the same time, you could watch both.
They have a recreational room with a computer and printer for guests to use. They also host different events like wii and bingo over here. The resort has a lot of things to do to keep you busy if you wanted to, or you could stay in your room and veg. The pool looked clean, and there was a small hot tub, but I did not try them out. Vending is available at the pool as well. There was a laundry room on site but I did not use it. A little construction was going on but the noise did not interfere with my sleep or anything. Quite honestly, unless you walked by where they were doing the work, you probably wouldn't have noticed it.
As for the location, it was great. Walking distance to the lake, casinos, restaurants, etc. This would be a great place to stay in the summer and just walk everywhere.
Overall, I was very happy with the Americana Village, nice staff, great amenities, free internet (good internet too!). They was always a smiling face to help you out if you had any questions. Totally would stay here again. Thanks for having me!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group

Helpful?
1 Thank crzydvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.5 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#4 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,044 reviews
1.0 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#13 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
0.4 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#8 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
0.6 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
0.6 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americana Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americana Village

Property: Americana Village
Address: 3845 Pioneer Trl, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-8805
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#4 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#6 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Americana Village 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tahoe is the ultimate year around playground! Every season has adventure to offer and we’d like to to make sure you have a place to crash after your adventurous day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Americana Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americana Village Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Americana Vacation Hotel
Americana Vacation Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing