We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little secret hiding place”
Review of Americana Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Americana Village
Ranked #8 of 65 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 29, 2012

I was in Lake Tahoe this past weekend and I'm a timeshare owner at Americana Village but have never stayed here. I purchased timeshare sight unseen because I knew of the location. Walking distance to everything during the busy summer months. So me and the wife decided to check out what mistake we must of made, but to our pleasant surprise we checked out a newly refurbished studio unit that sleeps 4. The studio units are more suited for 2, but if you have to have 4, then all is good. When we opened the door, we were shocked. A small living area with sofa sleeper, flat screen tv, then up a flight of two steps is a king size bed and for some reason another flat screen tv, then down a set of stairs is a kitchenette with mini fridge, wet bar, microwave, granite countertops and bathroom. The studio units are nice and cozy.

Onsite was quite a few other surprises, a swimming pool with hot tub, plenty of bbq grills with picnic tables throughout the property. In the back of the property we find a game room, more of a social room. If you are in need of sleds or snow items they are complimentary, in need of bikes, they are here, complimentary, free continental breakfast a few days during the week they tell me also in this room. Kids need games to play, check them out free of charge. Play volleyball, there's volleyball area and ping pong tables. Want to read a book or watch a complimentary dvd, simply check them out. We didn't check out the 1br or 2br units, so can't say at this time the look of refurbishment. Overall, the staff was friendly as they took time to answer questions... Forgot to mention free parking.

The small resort is on Pioneer Trail and the sister property is the Stardust which is located on S. Lake Tahoe Blvd and you can use their facilities also.

Room Tip: Location during the summer time is perfect. You can walk, ride a bike to all south shore locations n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank team2win
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda A, Manager at Americana Village, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2012

" We are thrilled to hear that you had such a wonderful stay with us.
We sincerely hope this is just the first of many enjoyable visits to the Americana Village. Don't be strangers, and come back soon!"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (414)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

357 - 363 of 414 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2012

We stayed in a studio unit for 6 nights. It was small, but well laid out and had been very nicely updated. The staff were very friendly and we were able to borrow snowshoes for the day for free. Wireless access was free and reliable (for normal web browsing). One downside was the outdoor jacuzzi was extremely small and foamy, so we did not use it.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms may not be updated yet. Ask for a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tamara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda A, Manager at Americana Village, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2012

So glad you enjoyed your stay with and we do hope you return soon. We can't enlarge the jacuzzi, and its true, it is cozy. However, any time you find any of our facilities not looking ready to use, please let us know, it will be corrected immediately.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2012

...but I just had to share how wonderful a stay we had at Americana Village. We booked a studio, which was beautifully renovated to what I can describe as "sophisticated modern-rustic". The king-sized bed was perfect for a great night's rest after a full day on the slopes. Our room had two flat screen TVs and an amazing kitchen filled with all your needs--dishware, cookware, blender, toaster, coffee maker, hot plates (no stove), salad bowl (yes, you can toss your salad in this well-equipped kitchen). The new bathroom with dual shower heads and heating timer is just what you need to warm up from the cold. We were not familiar with the area, so we asked Taylor at the front desk for some tips and advice on where to enjoy time off our snowboards. He was so very professional, approachable, and helpful in guiding us in the direction of Heavenly Village, Harrah's, and various restaurants just about 5-10 minutes walking distance from the Americana. I wish I caught the names of the employees that we came across because they all deserve special mention for being extremely friendly and accommodating (slight mix-up with our reservation but quickly resolved beyond our expectations). At the end of the day, you can rent a DVD or a book, grab some popcorn or tea on your way out, and enjoy a quiet night. Needless to say, we were floored by the high standard of their room, amenities, and staff. Thank you Americana Village!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LArachelCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda A, Manager at Americana Village, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2012

Thank you for sharing your secret! We know many others will enjoy their visit with us as much as you have. Hope you will come and see us again when you next visit South Lake Tahoe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

It had been approx. two years since last stay. (big mistake) The Americana is still the best deal in South Lake Tahoe. I do not only speak of the price but what you actually get for the buck...
Its like you have left your home but arrive into the comfort of the home of a relative. Yes, you are treated like part of the family.. When I arrive I did not see any of the old faces so of course you look for the bad.. There was no bad, Patrick Spence was a great host in every way..
From this point on my family & I will only stay at the Americana Village even if this means a 100 mile drive out of the way....
And by the way, The nicest and cleanest rooms in Lake Tahoe...

Sam & Nora Hernandez room 439

Room Tip: All room are great - You should not stay anywhere else...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Italian-Caper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda A, Manager at Americana Village, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2012

We do strive for you to feel as though this is your little "home away from home" with each visit. Don't stay away so long, and come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2012

Spent 10 days here on our honeymoon, a fantastic location being so close to heavenly village. Shops, cafe's and snowboarding only 10 minutes walk away!! The rooms were very nice with all the essentials provided. Service at the front desk was top notch, always helpful and friendly to deal with. Also some great perks with donuts each morning, popcorn/tea/coffee/hot chocolate anytime, big selection of free dvd's to watch on the big screen tv's in each room, free snowshoe/sled use, discounted tickets for local attractions, heated pool and jucuzzi, plus a workout room with the basic equipment (treadmill, excercycle, step machine, weight station).
Highly recommended!!

Room Tip: Try to get a refurbished room, preferably close to the pool in winter...so you don't freeze afte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JMPowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda A, Manager at Americana Village, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2012

What an honor to have you stay with us for your honeymoon! Best wishes for a long and happy life together. Hope this is just the beginning of many wonderful family visits to Americana Village for you both.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2012

I really can not praise Americana & its staff enough. Stayed here for 2 weeks. The rooms are clean, spacious and really a great home away from home. The staff are very friendly and helpful, we left our passports behind and the staff went above and beyond to organise and ensure they were express mailed to us at our next destination. This was our second stay at Americana and surely not the last, the location (near Stateline) is excellant with a bus stop (for ski buses) right outside the front door. The heated pool and hot tub is also a welcome treat after a long day skiing. Definate recommend. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nomad401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda A, Manager at Americana Village, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2012

We always strive to provide all our guests with wonderful service, very pleased to hear that we met the mark with you. We will be looking forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2012

This is a return trip primarily for skiing. The location is good, the staff has always been helpful and friendly, and the rooms have been clean and well serviced. There are a variety of perks such as free modest breakfast, activities for each day, large selection of free videos to borrow, heated pool and hot tub, and convenient parking. These are, I believe, converted motel rooms, which means it is not a new facility and thus my 4 rating. But the two remodeled units we've used are way more than motel rooms: large kitchen, modern bath room, comfortable beds, etc. We would certainly return in the future.

Room Tip: Get a remodeled room if available. Also the studio is not to bad if that is all that is left, but t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
0Resort-Manager0, Manager at Americana Village, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2012

I am so glad you visited us again, and that you enjoyed our activities, movies, breakfast and pool. As you mentioned, we are in the process of remodeling our rooms, and the rooms are all being met with rave reviews. Since consistently updating our property is a top priority, even our oldest rooms have been remodeled within five years. I truly appreciate your kind words about the resort and I hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
1 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#10 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,159 reviews
0.4 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#6 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
529 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#11 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#5 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,199 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#7 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
926 reviews
0.6 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americana Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americana Village

Address: 3845 Pioneer Trl, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-8805
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#6 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range: $121 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Americana Village 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tahoe is the ultimate year around playground! Every season has adventure to offer and we’d like to to make sure you have a place to crash after your adventurous day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Americana Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americana Village Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Americana Vacation Hotel
Americana Vacation Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing