We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice suite” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mark Twain Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mark Twain Lodge
Ranked #29 of 68 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice suite”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

My buddies and I stayed in the suite on our motorcycle ride and the room was just right for us to pick up a care package from STATELINE BREWING and hangout after a long day o f riding. The owners were even offered us their own covered parking spot for our bikes.

Room Tip: If coming in late call ahead and ask them to open up the room, ours took a while to cool down. AC is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DINKS33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    15
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
18
15
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
san francisco
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

an older motel that has some updates, but wish I had known that my room didn't have A/C ahead of time. The staff was very helpful and brought me a fan. Tahoe is cool at night but I needed the fan since I'm from a cooler place. Also, my TV was really old and didn't work. might have just been the batteries in the remote or my ignorance, but just watched on my iPhone instead. Bed was hard and not modern. In spite of these issues, bathroom was updated, very clean, and room was cheap!
Perfect for someone who wants a clean close room to casino's and beach.

Room Tip: most rooms have a/c, but not mine (accessible)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank N G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

I booked the Deluxe room with 2 beds. It was very nice and clean. It had a built in fire place. Great bathroom. Nice microwave and fridge. Above all, walking distance to Heavenly Village / Gondola. Highly recommend it !

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Prasad V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

I've stayed here twice now and both times, I have been very satisfied with the rates that I have payed and the quality of the rooms. The staff is always friendly and welcoming, the rooms are clean and spacious. Best of all, they're set up in such a way that you feel like you're staying in a cozy cabin instead of a huge commercial hotel - right in the heart of South Lake Tahoe!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

Generally, when I visit Lake Tahoe, I am with a large family group that stays at Harrah's. I have been a guest at Harrah's at least 10 separate visits. So this review must be tempered by this fact. Anyways, this visit, only my 13 year old son and I were making the trip. I figured that paying up for the Casino was not probably necessary and a change of venue might freshen the Lake Tahoe visit. Our main goal was to ski Heavenly, and ski all day every day. We arrived on Saturday, December 21st. We used Lakeshore Taxi Service from Reno. We bunked in Room 7. This room had 2 Full beds, a night stand and a small bar with a sink. On this bar was a 4 cup coffee maker and a microwave. There was plenty of cabinets to put our clothes. The bathroom was a 3 piece bathroom. The room was very clean and did not have a bad odor. The room had an interesting fireplace heating system that worked great. The shower had fluctuating temperatures and the faucets needed constant adjustment during the shower to avoid freezing or scalding water (Harrah's has the same problem, by the way). We did not run out of hot water during our visit of 5 nights. The bed was so so. Not the best mattress and the pillows were not high quality. Noise from upstairs and neighboring units occurred but this did not disturb our slumber. Each day the room was thoroughly cleaned and fresh towels were provided; no complaints here! The Mark Twain Lodge is very nicely located and only a 3 minute walk to Stateline Blvd. and a 5 minute walk (at most) to the Gondola to access Heavenly. It is closer to the Gondola than Harrah's but you need to cross Stateline Blvd. with a traffic light and pedestrian crossing. There are plenty of restaurants close by and the casinos are easily walkable.
Overall, the Mark Twain was adequate, reasonably priced, very clean and conveniently located to Heavenly Ski. Too bad the snow conditions were not very good and only a small percentage of the mountain was open for skiing. Every day was sunny and I made some great pictures even though the Face was unavailable for a daily workout.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Hill, CA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

We booked several rooms for a family get together and had a fantastic stay. The suites are wonderful and all of the rooms were clean and updated. Loved that we could visit and prepare meals within the suites and outdoor cooking area. The pool area is also really nice. It's a great location with just a short walk to the casinos, shopping areas and beach. We had a perfect weekend and would definitely go back and highly recommend.

Room Tip: If you're there with another couple or kids, the suite is perfect as it has two bedrooms with th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinez, CA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

This is the only hotel I will stay at in South Lake Tahoe. The rooms are super CLEAN and are updated. The hotel is in a great location. You are walking distance to the casinos, shopping and beach. The pool is great for use in the summer time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.0 mi away
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
#31 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.0 mi away
Best Choice Inn South Lake Tahoe
Best Choice Inn South Lake Tahoe
#43 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#5 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Americana Village
Americana Village
#7 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
#35 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.1 mi away
Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe
Big Pines Mountain House of Taho...
#27 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mark Twain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mark Twain Lodge

Property: Mark Twain Lodge
Address: 947 Park Ave., South Lake Tahoe, CA 91650
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Mark Twain Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
14 Room motel including 4 - 3 room suites. Most rooms have fireplaces. Close to Heavenly Ski Gondola, casinos, and private beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mark Twain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mark Twain Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Mark Twain Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing