We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little gem!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lazy S Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in South Lake Tahoe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lazy S Lodge
Ranked #51 of 68 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
San Jose, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great little gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

We had a last minute change in our weekend plans and wanted to stay another night in Lake Tahoe before heading back home (San Jose). By chance we called and spoke with Kirk. He was great and offered us a cottage or a studio, both at great prices. We chose #104, the cottage. We had a really great stay and felt very welcomed from hello to goodbye. We will definitely stay at Lazy S Lodge on our next trip! Thanks for a great time!

Room Tip: The cottages are closer to the road, so try to get one that's further back if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Patti D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    17
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
13
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

When I was growing up we had a family of 7 and stayed there every summer and to this day my siblings along with their kids as well as my own daughter her family and many of my friends because it is still a wonderful place to stay with very reasonable prices.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bar1angel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

We've stayed for 3-4 nights at a time on at least a dozen occasions in the past six years. The location is perfect: near various beaches and trail heads, and close enough to the casinos without being in the thick of the South Lake Tahoe/ Stateline area.

The studio rooms have a counter with a sink, next to a microwave and fridge. We actually prefer these rooms to the ones with kitchenette. The latter include a stovetop (which makes for less counter space) and oven, and are equipped with dishes, but we just bring a few dishes and use the microwave.

The Lazy S resembles other motor lodges, but instead of looking out your front window at a parking lot, you park behind the unit and look out at a lawn and swimming pool (with a hot tub, great after a day of hiking). Each unit has a screen door looking out onto this area. There are barbecues and picnic tables on the lawn. Families often commandeer these tables for the length of their stay, but everything is mellow and everyone stops making noise by 9:00 or 10:00 pm (at the very latest). We've never had trouble getting a good night's sleep before an early morning hike.

You might want to bring extra shampoo so that you don't have to go to the office to ask for more if the maid forgets to replenish your toiletries. We once had to go ask for coffee packets, and once to ask that the wifi be reset. The owner and workers have always been very pleasant and low-key.

Don't try to make a reservation online, and don't leave a phone message. If there is no answer when you call, simply call again later. It's worth it!!!

Room Tip: Suites near the highway will have more traffic noise. All of the studios and one-room w/ kitchenette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

If ever in the South Lake Tahoe area please make plans to stay at this location! It is a true wonderful place! Very rustic, rooms are very spacious, has everything a family, couple or single person would need. Beautiful pool with tables and bbq pits for grilling! Very close to everything a person would like to do. The surrounding huge pine trees were beautiful!! Enjoyed my morning visit with the little chipmunk!!! Great value for the stay!!! Highly recommended!!!!

Room Tip: Any room there is wonderful!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank txgirl247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
250 reviews
154 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights on cabin 104. Bed was very comfortable. Away from the hustle and bustle of the casino areas. Not fancy but very clean!! Used the BBQ grills at night. Refrigerator and cook top was convenient. Bathroom is very small and the shower head is very low. Great water pressure and plenty of hot water. The location is close to the road so there is road noise.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bandit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

Stayed here over Thanksgiving. The place was very comfortable and homey. It was very nice having a separate room for the kids and the kitchenette for meals. That saves a lot with a family of four. Will be staying here again. My biggest complaint would be the shower. This would be the cheapest update to do by simply installing an "S" shower arm to raise the height and then add a better shower head.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank autorot8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojai
Level Contributor
116 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Good location off the road away from the congestion of S. Lake Tahoe. Only 15 minutes to Emerald Bay. Nice grounds: lawn and pool. Large room. Tiny bathroom with dated fixtures; could use more towel bars. Suited our purpose.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Lake Tahoe
0.3 mi away
Emerald Bay Lodge
Emerald Bay Lodge
#49 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
3.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
1.1 mi away
Matterhorn Motel
Matterhorn Motel
#30 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
1.3 mi away
Apex Inn
Apex Inn
#48 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Manzanita Lodge
#10 of 17 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
1.2 mi away
Tahoe Valley Lodge
Tahoe Valley Lodge
#39 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tahoe Keys Resort
Tahoe Keys Resort
#92 of 122 in Lake Tahoe (California)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lazy S Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazy S Lodge

Property: Lazy S Lodge
Address: 609 Emerald Bay Rd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6504
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 68 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Lazy s Hotel South Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing