We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Great South Lake Tahoe Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Basecamp South Lake Tahoe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Basecamp South Lake Tahoe
Ranked #12 of 72 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
Fairfield, California
1 review
“Great South Lake Tahoe Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I have stayed here twice - both for business. Staff is excellent with the guests. The morning breakfast (coffee, tea, juice, pastry, granola) is a great feature and a great opportunity to chat with other guests. I have stayed in a balcony room both times (great for sitting with your morning coffee or evening beer). The rooms are neat, very clean and the decorations put you in the mood to enjoy the outdoors. Very quiet. If you enjoy the casino action, the hotel is a one minute walk to Harvey's back door. I also ate at their new Beach House Restaurant - had a delicious prawn appetizer and a couple of beers. Fantastic view, great service, wine list and food. I will be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DeCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    177
    69
    26
    8
See reviews for
201
264
30
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
106 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We actually decided to go to South Lake Tahoe to specifically stay at Basecamp. With our experiences staying at hostels in other countries, we were eager to see how this place compared. We were thrilled. There are different options for staying such as kings/pets/dorm style/bunk beds etc. All are styled with awesome "outdoorsy" artwork. The cozy feel of the lounge area and deck are perfect. S'mores and bonfire every night on the deck. Spa is available too. Breakfast every morning is free and everything is locally brought in. Happy hour in the afternoons and a dinner is available for pay. Games available in lounge area. Location to shops and food is walkable. Beach is down the street. The staff is awesome!
Note: no fridge in room and no communal kitchen. The hotel also opened an outdoor restaurant on the beach-be sure to check it out!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dpeshl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Scored a great deal via Living Social and had the most awesome stay! Very comfy beds, excellent staff that were super helpful and friendly, guests that were easy to chat with and such a convenient location to spring off from! (Totally helped that mother nature decided to throw in some fantastic weather June 1st making it even more fabulous!) I loved all the details... total hipster vibe with decor, "Earthy-recyceled-clever" aethestic. Think of it like Portlandia meets NorCal but without the confused angst of mellow humoristic drama! I will definitely be back. GREAT place for families and dogs too! Breakfast was yummy from the hand package baggies to the yummy yogurt, granola, bagels and pastries. (Loved the whipped cream... very "whipped"!) And... GOOD COFFEE!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Basecamp is a fabulous hotel! Set amid South Tahoe-Tahoeness, this hotel offers a respite with clean, modern design, warm accommodating staff, incredibly comfy beds, broad balconies, with a healthy, locally/produced breakfast. A knowledgeable front desk can direct you to a world class hike, ski, beach, cycle route or view. It is, as the name suggests, base camp. But it is so wonderful you may just never leave!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maine1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Stayed here recently for one night. Hotel/motel has well designed public areas that are welcoming. Quirky/cool use of color/textiles in rooms. Bathroom has terrific shower. Rooms are very clean with comfortable beds. Walls are very thin, though, and for me that's an issue that would prevent me from returning. Continental breakfast is included in the rate (bagels, cereals, muffins, coffee, juice, and such). Basecamp is dog friendly, as South Lake Tahoe seems to be, which gave the place a very relaxed, homey feel.

Conceptually cool, Basecamp is well done aesthetically, and has terrific staff, but falls short in an area a hotel guest expects: namely not hearing people chatting a little too clearly in the room next to you. The hotel is well located and within walking distance of restaurants, casinos, and a short drive to areas of exquisite beauty.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachmusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Stayed here two nights in mid-May as part of a week-long trip through Northern California. Great location. Super clean rooms. Good, competitive rates. The staff were super friendly and clearly take pride in working for a fun and unique establishment. This place has a great vibe so you'll likely meet fun-loving people either in the hot tub, sipping wine on the deck, or roasting marshmallows over the fire pit. Very short walk to lake shore, casinos, shopping and dining.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cpags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

During a West Coast Tour we stayed for 3 nights at the Basecamp Hotel and we loved it. It was special, superfriendly and modern. Even a Hut Tub existed. Breakfast was great with FRESH Orange juice!!! We did not have that even in 5Star Hotels on our trip. Rooms were lovely and the whole Basecamp style was totally ours! We will definately book it again!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Saskija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 789 reviews
1.5 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#15 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 664 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#6 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 944 reviews
1.0 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#7 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 311 reviews
1.3 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
5.0 of 5 stars 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Basecamp South Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basecamp South Lake Tahoe

Property: Basecamp South Lake Tahoe
Address: 4143 Cedar Ave, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6952 (Formerly Basecamp Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#7 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#8 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#12 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Basecamp South Lake Tahoe 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Basecamp South Lake Tahoe is a hotel built for exploring the incredible lakes, trails and mountains that the Lake Tahoe Basin has to offer. Basecamp combines the comforts of a great hotel with the sense of adventure and community found at a an expedition base camp. Basecamp is located in the heart of South Lake Tahoe, steps from the mountain and minutes walk from the lake. Become an instant local at Basecamp. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Expedia, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Basecamp South Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Block Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Block Hotel Lake Tahoe
Block Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing