We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Basecamp South Lake Tahoe
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Azure(South Lake Tahoe)(Great Value!)
$251
$244
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel(South Lake Tahoe)(Great Value!)
$189
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $176/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe(South Lake Tahoe)(Great Value!)
$182
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
3 Peaks Resort & Beach Club(South Lake Tahoe)(Great Value!)
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe(South Lake Tahoe)(Great Value!)
$429
$349
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa(South Lake Tahoe)(Great Value!)
$259
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe(South Lake Tahoe)(Great Value!)
$269
$207
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Landing Resort & Spa(South Lake Tahoe)
$329
$299
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of $365/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Marriott's Timber Lodge(South Lake Tahoe)(Great Value!)
$349
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$230
$186
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 54% below average rates

The price you found is 54% lower than this hotel's average rate of $401/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1,290)
Filter reviews
1,290 results
Traveler rating
646
352
171
79
42
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
646
352
171
79
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeer gardenbase campfire pitgranolahot tubcool placefun hoteladirondack chairsbunk bedsping pongceiling fanbagelsboutique hotelheavenly villagecomplimentary breakfasthappy houracross the street
Filter
Updating list...
1,138 - 1,143 of 1,290 reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed at Basecamp for 3 nights with my 2 kids and they had an awesome time!! We had the queen room with the bunkbeds and everyone had their own bed. It was so nice to be able to spread out! It was a very short distance to the casino and major shopping and the ski lifts...just across the street. Breakfast was yummy and had a very good selection. My kids loved to roast s'mores after dark. If you're a family on a budget...this is the place!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

With a special rate and a special friend, I recently spent 2 nights at this hotel - it is practically ON "Stateline" in South Lake Tahoe, minutes to walk either into Gambling Hotels in Nevada or shops and restaurants in the nicely upgraded new town center. The room looked as if it was remodeled recently - very clean, 2 very comfortable queen beds, very entertaining wall décor, and lots of nice little perks (breakfast included in a rustic breakfast room; s'mores in the evenings outside and more). The staff is super friendly and helpful, even if sometimes only one person is around. We had a very relaxing time, and consider going back very soon

Room Tip: Higher floors may not have children's pitter-patter over your head ...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MuttiB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

I chose to stay here while on a recent ski trip tacked on to some business travel in SF + Vegas. What a fantastic hotel. The staff are great (thanks Dan in particular), the rooms are spot on for my style of accom, and the whole feeling of the place is chilled but kind of funky! Very convenient to the Heavenly Gondola, and right next to Harveys which is very handy if you are getting a shuttle from Reno, or catching the bus to Kirkwood or Northstar. Breakfast is simple but well executed and the bar has some interesting beers + wines. The hot tub is great after a days skiing, and you can follow that with a quiet red or two around the firepit after you have come back from dinner. Deserving of its 5 star rating.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DickyKnees63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

I stayed at Basecamp during my birthday weekend this past Feb. I had a great stay and I was thoroughly impressed for the following reasons:

1) Comfort: management did an excellent job of refurbishing the rooms for a very comfy feeling. After a long day of riding, I always want to come back to a pleasant room, take a hot shower and relax until it's time to hit the town - Basecamp definitely provided this feeling. I came with 2 buddies so we had the room with two queen beds and two twin bunk beds on top (room sleeps 4 people). There was plenty of room and everyone was quite comfortable - no complaints on comfort and space.

2) Proximity: Basecamp is a very short walk away to the gondola to Heavenly.. The hotel is also right next door to Harvey's, so it was great to be able to be in indoors no time given how frigid it was outside. Location is ideal.

3) Staff/Amenities: from the time I checked in, the staff made me feel right at home. They provided great recs for dinner and nightlife. Also has complimentary breakfast and a cool little bar in the lobby - great way to meet others in the hotel (along with the hot tub!)

In all, Basecamp is a great experience at an affordable price. This is definitely my go to spot if I plan to ride Heavenly for the weekend!

p.s. the decor in the rooms and all around the hotel is AWESOME. Definitely a fan of the orange theme.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amf222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Visited Lake Tahoe the last weekend of February to celebrate a friend's birthday, and stayed at Basecamp.

A classy, updated, boutique-motel, its reception area has a very warm, ski lodge/cabin vibe feel to it, which was perfect as the weather was pretty frigid. The manager was very friendly, and took time to actually hang out and talk to us when nobody was at the counter. The space is very conducive to socializing as well, with a long table and benches for eating, and two large couches facing each other for hanging out. There is also a small bar area where you can sit on stools and watch whatever game is on while having a beer. They include a continental breakfast with your stay which was perfect before hitting the slopes.

Rooms were great, with modern furniture and bathrooms. The decor was done very tastefully and matches the feel of the establishment well. We had a very comfortable stay. There is a hot-tub on the second floor which I did not get to check out, but hopefully next time.

Location. Can't say enough about this. Heavenly Village is literally a 5 minute walk across the street, as are Harrah's and Harvey's casinos. We didn't need to drive or take a taxi even once during our stay.

We had a great time here, and when I return to Tahoe I plan to stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fsa526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews