We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Let me add to the throng...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Basecamp South Lake Tahoe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Basecamp South Lake Tahoe
Ranked #11 of 68 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide
Level Contributor
246 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Let me add to the throng...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

I chose to stay here while on a recent ski trip tacked on to some business travel in SF + Vegas. What a fantastic hotel. The staff are great (thanks Dan in particular), the rooms are spot on for my style of accom, and the whole feeling of the place is chilled but kind of funky! Very convenient to the Heavenly Gondola, and right next to Harveys which is very handy if you are getting a shuttle from Reno, or catching the bus to Kirkwood or Northstar. Breakfast is simple but well executed and the bar has some interesting beers + wines. The hot tub is great after a days skiing, and you can follow that with a quiet red or two around the firepit after you have come back from dinner. Deserving of its 5 star rating.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DickyKnees63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

793 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    454
    209
    87
    33
    10
See reviews for
237
321
35
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

I stayed at Basecamp during my birthday weekend this past Feb. I had a great stay and I was thoroughly impressed for the following reasons:

1) Comfort: management did an excellent job of refurbishing the rooms for a very comfy feeling. After a long day of riding, I always want to come back to a pleasant room, take a hot shower and relax until it's time to hit the town - Basecamp definitely provided this feeling. I came with 2 buddies so we had the room with two queen beds and two twin bunk beds on top (room sleeps 4 people). There was plenty of room and everyone was quite comfortable - no complaints on comfort and space.

2) Proximity: Basecamp is a very short walk away to the gondola to Heavenly.. The hotel is also right next door to Harvey's, so it was great to be able to be in indoors no time given how frigid it was outside. Location is ideal.

3) Staff/Amenities: from the time I checked in, the staff made me feel right at home. They provided great recs for dinner and nightlife. Also has complimentary breakfast and a cool little bar in the lobby - great way to meet others in the hotel (along with the hot tub!)

In all, Basecamp is a great experience at an affordable price. This is definitely my go to spot if I plan to ride Heavenly for the weekend!

p.s. the decor in the rooms and all around the hotel is AWESOME. Definitely a fan of the orange theme.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amf222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Visited Lake Tahoe the last weekend of February to celebrate a friend's birthday, and stayed at Basecamp.

A classy, updated, boutique-motel, its reception area has a very warm, ski lodge/cabin vibe feel to it, which was perfect as the weather was pretty frigid. The manager was very friendly, and took time to actually hang out and talk to us when nobody was at the counter. The space is very conducive to socializing as well, with a long table and benches for eating, and two large couches facing each other for hanging out. There is also a small bar area where you can sit on stools and watch whatever game is on while having a beer. They include a continental breakfast with your stay which was perfect before hitting the slopes.

Rooms were great, with modern furniture and bathrooms. The decor was done very tastefully and matches the feel of the establishment well. We had a very comfortable stay. There is a hot-tub on the second floor which I did not get to check out, but hopefully next time.

Location. Can't say enough about this. Heavenly Village is literally a 5 minute walk across the street, as are Harrah's and Harvey's casinos. We didn't need to drive or take a taxi even once during our stay.

We had a great time here, and when I return to Tahoe I plan to stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fsa526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I recently spent a long weekend in tahoe for a nice spring ski trip. It seems that south tahoe really only has 3 types of properties: the high end Gondola resorts, the casinos and road side motels. We opted for 2 nights at harveys and 2 nights at basecamp hotel. Although basecamp is in Harvey's shadow, they are like night and day. Basecamp was reasonably priced, very clean, and has a great location within walking distance of the gondola village, the casinos and the lake. The staff was very respectful and accommodating, which is very refreshing. They have a small bar with a great happy hour along with some fantastic and inexpensive homemade snacks. It was also fun to chat with all the other guests about their hometown and the ski report. The fire pit with the "s'mores kit" was a great way to end a relaxing trip.

If I could have changed anything, I would have tried not to use the heater after we went to bed. As mentioned, it's quite noisy. Also, it can get noisy -at least where we stayed on the first floor near the steps. The hot tub was a little smaller than I would have liked, but we had no problem enjoying a few minutes in the hot tub at night watching the snow cat lights go up and down the mountain.

I definitely reccomend Basecamp hotel to anyone staying in SLT. It seems there aren't many places like this hotel in SLT, let alone anywhere else in the USA!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank savemyfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
124 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

It was our first stay, but definitely not our last. The rooms were cute and clean. Hotel staff were friendly and knowledgable about the area. It was centrally located in South Lake Tahoe and we were easily able to walk to the Heavenly Gondola. Loved the outside fire pits and wished we had brought suits to enjoy the hot tub. Only complaint would be that the walls were a little thin and my husband was annoyed to hear our neighbors come home at 3am.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lurasf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed here after purchasing an online deal for Basecamp through another company. We booked for a particular weekend in December, then realized we already had plans, and called to change our reservation to the weekend following. When we arrived, it turned out our reservation had never been changed in their booking system and they had marked us as a "no-show". Even though we booked at a discounted price through another company, the desk attendant was very empathetic and eager to help. She spent a few minutes problem-solving and talking to her manager, and then offered us a free upgrade to their awesome "Great Indoors" room. (There is a tent over the bed, a faux fire pit, etc.) We loved the room and the service-they even sent us up some sparkling wine as another apology for the mix up. We also thoroughly enjoyed the group dinner. They offer fondue & a daily special (both delicious!) around a large table with other guests. We enjoyed chatting with the young crowd--it had a cozy, authentic mountain feel. Their complimentary breakfast is good and the large leather couches by the fire place are a great place to relax. Did I mention it's walking distance to the Heavenly Gondola? The hot tub could use some upgrading & more heat in the bathrooms would be nice, but overall it is a fun, unique spot for a ski weekend. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank canusatravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

We have stayed here twice already this ski season and both times had a perfect stay. As new comers to Tahoe we really appreciated the friendly staff, keen to share their love and knowledge of the area - whether it is how many layers to wear on the slopes or the best runs on Kirkwood. Nicely designed, comfy log fire lounge, less than 10 min walk (in ski boots) to Heavenly gondola and the tastiest breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#10 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
1.5 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#14 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#9 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
1.0 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#8 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#5 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Basecamp South Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basecamp South Lake Tahoe

Property: Basecamp South Lake Tahoe
Address: 4143 Cedar Ave, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6952 (Formerly Basecamp Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#7 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#8 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#12 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Basecamp South Lake Tahoe 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Basecamp South Lake Tahoe is a hotel built for exploring the incredible lakes, trails and mountains that the Lake Tahoe Basin has to offer. Basecamp combines the comforts of a great hotel with the sense of adventure and community found at a an expedition base camp. Basecamp is located in the heart of South Lake Tahoe, steps from the mountain and minutes walk from the lake. Become an instant local at Basecamp. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Basecamp South Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Block Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Block Hotel Lake Tahoe
Block Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing