We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Boutique Motel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Basecamp South Lake Tahoe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Basecamp South Lake Tahoe
Ranked #12 of 72 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
New York, NY
1 review
“Great Boutique Motel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Visited Lake Tahoe the last weekend of February to celebrate a friend's birthday, and stayed at Basecamp.

A classy, updated, boutique-motel, its reception area has a very warm, ski lodge/cabin vibe feel to it, which was perfect as the weather was pretty frigid. The manager was very friendly, and took time to actually hang out and talk to us when nobody was at the counter. The space is very conducive to socializing as well, with a long table and benches for eating, and two large couches facing each other for hanging out. There is also a small bar area where you can sit on stools and watch whatever game is on while having a beer. They include a continental breakfast with your stay which was perfect before hitting the slopes.

Rooms were great, with modern furniture and bathrooms. The decor was done very tastefully and matches the feel of the establishment well. We had a very comfortable stay. There is a hot-tub on the second floor which I did not get to check out, but hopefully next time.

Location. Can't say enough about this. Heavenly Village is literally a 5 minute walk across the street, as are Harrah's and Harvey's casinos. We didn't need to drive or take a taxi even once during our stay.

We had a great time here, and when I return to Tahoe I plan to stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fsa526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    177
    69
    26
    8
See reviews for
201
264
30
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I recently spent a long weekend in tahoe for a nice spring ski trip. It seems that south tahoe really only has 3 types of properties: the high end Gondola resorts, the casinos and road side motels. We opted for 2 nights at harveys and 2 nights at basecamp hotel. Although basecamp is in Harvey's shadow, they are like night and day. Basecamp was reasonably priced, very clean, and has a great location within walking distance of the gondola village, the casinos and the lake. The staff was very respectful and accommodating, which is very refreshing. They have a small bar with a great happy hour along with some fantastic and inexpensive homemade snacks. It was also fun to chat with all the other guests about their hometown and the ski report. The fire pit with the "s'mores kit" was a great way to end a relaxing trip.

If I could have changed anything, I would have tried not to use the heater after we went to bed. As mentioned, it's quite noisy. Also, it can get noisy -at least where we stayed on the first floor near the steps. The hot tub was a little smaller than I would have liked, but we had no problem enjoying a few minutes in the hot tub at night watching the snow cat lights go up and down the mountain.

I definitely reccomend Basecamp hotel to anyone staying in SLT. It seems there aren't many places like this hotel in SLT, let alone anywhere else in the USA!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank savemyfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
122 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

It was our first stay, but definitely not our last. The rooms were cute and clean. Hotel staff were friendly and knowledgable about the area. It was centrally located in South Lake Tahoe and we were easily able to walk to the Heavenly Gondola. Loved the outside fire pits and wished we had brought suits to enjoy the hot tub. Only complaint would be that the walls were a little thin and my husband was annoyed to hear our neighbors come home at 3am.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lurasf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed here after purchasing an online deal for Basecamp through another company. We booked for a particular weekend in December, then realized we already had plans, and called to change our reservation to the weekend following. When we arrived, it turned out our reservation had never been changed in their booking system and they had marked us as a "no-show". Even though we booked at a discounted price through another company, the desk attendant was very empathetic and eager to help. She spent a few minutes problem-solving and talking to her manager, and then offered us a free upgrade to their awesome "Great Indoors" room. (There is a tent over the bed, a faux fire pit, etc.) We loved the room and the service-they even sent us up some sparkling wine as another apology for the mix up. We also thoroughly enjoyed the group dinner. They offer fondue & a daily special (both delicious!) around a large table with other guests. We enjoyed chatting with the young crowd--it had a cozy, authentic mountain feel. Their complimentary breakfast is good and the large leather couches by the fire place are a great place to relax. Did I mention it's walking distance to the Heavenly Gondola? The hot tub could use some upgrading & more heat in the bathrooms would be nice, but overall it is a fun, unique spot for a ski weekend. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank canusatravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We have stayed here twice already this ski season and both times had a perfect stay. As new comers to Tahoe we really appreciated the friendly staff, keen to share their love and knowledge of the area - whether it is how many layers to wear on the slopes or the best runs on Kirkwood. Nicely designed, comfy log fire lounge, less than 10 min walk (in ski boots) to Heavenly gondola and the tastiest breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacifica, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

My 10 year old said, "mom why can't we stay in a regular hotel?" If you are looking for a hotel that you can find in any town anywhere, than this may not be the best place for you. This place is fun, unique and inspiring. It's clean, modern, staffed with helpful knowledgeable people. One of my favorite parts is that almost half of the people I met did not come from the US; France, New Zealand, UK. It has a lodge-y feel with all the comforts, very reasonably priced good beer and wine at a small bar. Large couches to spend the evening reading. An outdoor fire pit with s'mores available. On Saturday night we had dinner and it was excellent. Raclette, fondue, and stew!

We're definitely planning a trip back, no Holiday Inn Express for us. We told our 10-year old, when she's a grown up she can choose her own hotel, we'll stick with Basecamp.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank setsinthewest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monza
Level Contributor
100 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

All you need for you ski trip is here. Location close enough to the ski resort, comfortable rooms, pleasant breakfast and personnel always available for advice. We tried also the heated pool on the roof, very nice.
One small remark only: the heating system is a real thunderstorm as it turnes on: we heated the room, and then turned it off for the night

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maxandcoMonza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 789 reviews
1.5 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#15 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 664 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#6 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 946 reviews
1.0 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#7 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 312 reviews
1.3 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
5.0 of 5 stars 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Basecamp South Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basecamp South Lake Tahoe

Property: Basecamp South Lake Tahoe
Address: 4143 Cedar Ave, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6952 (Formerly Basecamp Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#7 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#8 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#12 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Basecamp South Lake Tahoe 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Basecamp South Lake Tahoe is a hotel built for exploring the incredible lakes, trails and mountains that the Lake Tahoe Basin has to offer. Basecamp combines the comforts of a great hotel with the sense of adventure and community found at a an expedition base camp. Basecamp is located in the heart of South Lake Tahoe, steps from the mountain and minutes walk from the lake. Become an instant local at Basecamp. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Expedia so you can book your Basecamp South Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Block Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Block Hotel Lake Tahoe
Block Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing