We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Great Indoors!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Basecamp South Lake Tahoe
Ranked #14 of 65 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Basecamp is an excellent option for a visit to Lake Tahoe. Upon check-in, I found myself in a themed room called The Great Indoors. It had a feel of camping in the beautiful Tahoe wilderness with with modern luxuries of a hotel. The bed had a canvass tent over it and the walls were wallpapered with wilderness landscapes. There was a fire pit (fake) to give that extra camping feel. The room was clean, comfortable and provided a great complement to my trip. The staff was very welcoming and attended to every need. The lobby bar was very cozy and the property is walking distance to all the major Tahoe attractions. My next visit to Lake Tahoe will definitely bring me back to Basecamp Hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fellowtraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,187)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,077 - 1,083 of 1,188 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2012

Basecamp Hotel rocks. Great service, comfortable and clean rooms (with funky touches), yummy breakfast snacks, and great leather couches to sprawl out in! Highly recommended, especially if you're looking for a real mountain experience with the comforts of home.

Room Tip: If you want to feel like you're camping in the great outdoors, ask for the room with the tent ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Just got back from staying at BaseCamp for a work retreat. It was amazing! The owner/employees are super friendly and helpful, and the hotel itself is wonderful. Great decor, nice rooms, and a hot-tub. AND they provided us with S'mores supplies. Great trip! Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dani V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

What a wonderful experience. The Basecamp team has really stepped up the level of quality hotels in Tahoe. I loved the look and feel and the staff was always there to take care of anything you needed. They have some fun "themed" rooms and the location of the hotel is a 5 min walk to the Heavenly gondola as well the beach. If you're not staying at Basecamp you're not at the right place.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoeDiazAFAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

enjoyed a few days at base camp. loved the vibe. one of the most comfortable beds i've enjoyed in a long while. simple and well done. i will return and will send friends. was bummed they were out of the cool t-shirts.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank majorcaribtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Myself and my other half recently returned from a 9 day stay at this hotel during October and I can honestly say it was one of the most memorable stays I have ever had at a hotel in the United States, we really did love everything about this place!

First of all the staff seemed very enthusiastic about the hotel. They were also very keen to help in any way they could and were knowledgeable about things to do in the area.

The lodging itself is in the style of a motel and is very well suited to those people on outdoor based trips such as skiing due to the external access corridors to rooms and racks to store skis outside the rooms. The décor is stylish and has an extremely relaxed, modern and cozy feel to it.

Our room was spacious, spotlessly presented and the décor fun. The bed was comfortable and the heater in the room ensured we were never cold (a big deal when it’s -11 outside). There was also plenty of room to store and hang all of our clothing and a coat rack which also proved to be useful. Our room had a balcony with Adirondack chairs and was a pleasant area to spend time.

Other amenities in the room included digital clock with ipod adapter, cable television, a small cooler for traveling and a small kettle. The bathroom also ticked all the boxes for us with a nice hot shower and plenty of towels, including a face towel specifically for makeup removal. There was also a hairdryer and shampoo, shower gel and conditioner dispensers were provided in the shower.

Breakfast each morning consisted of granola and several varieties of oatmeal, bagels, cream cheese, yoghurt, dried fruit and their own fantastic orange frosted pastries which we found addictive as well as teas, coffee and orange juice.

The lobby of the hotel was very cozy with a small bar, two large sofas and TV screens. We ended up spending several nights here having local ales in their small bar instead of heading to the other bars in town. There is a rooftop hot tub and outdoor fire pit and s’more kits are available at reception, however we unfortunately never took advantage of these facilities.
The location of the hotel is very convenient with the casinos and heavenly village/ski gondola being a less than 5 minute walk.

Overall, a fantastic experience and somewhere we would highly recommend!! Can’t wait to return at some stage! :-)

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kirstine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

So since I used tripadvisor to book my stay at Basecamp it made sense for me to do a review about this charming place. My husband and I went for my birthday weekend just for a night...I wish we could have stayed a couple more. I'm not sure exactly why (I think there may have been an issue with the dates for the room) but we got an upgrade to the Penthouse for no additional cost. =) The customer service was amazing, the whole vibe of the place was charming and comfortable. Plus, the bed was super comfy...the room was exceptionally clean...the shower stayed hot forever and we loved the location. It was a very nice change to stay there than at a casino or other hotel. This will for sure be the place we stay anytime we're in Tahoe.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
1.8 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#13 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
225 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#8 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
915 reviews
1.5 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#10 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#9 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,103 reviews
1 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#7 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
516 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
#16 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Basecamp South Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basecamp South Lake Tahoe

Address: 4143 Cedar Ave, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6952 (Formerly Basecamp Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#7 On the Beach Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#8 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range: $101 - $419 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Basecamp South Lake Tahoe 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Basecamp South Lake Tahoe is a hotel built for exploring the incredible lakes, trails and mountains that the Lake Tahoe Basin has to offer. Basecamp combines the comforts of a great hotel with the sense of adventure and community found at a an expedition base camp. Basecamp is located in the heart of South Lake Tahoe, steps from the mountain and minutes walk from the lake. Become an instant local at Basecamp. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Basecamp South Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Block Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Block Hotel Lake Tahoe
Block Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing