We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marvelous renovation of a classic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Basecamp South Lake Tahoe
Ranked #14 of 65 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 10, 2012

The crew behind Basecamp have taken an old-school motel, and upgraded it into the stratosphere. The detail and the design of everything from the firepit to the room numbers and color scheme shine though, and the same attention is shown to their service. At every point, the staff went out of their way to make sure our group was taken care of, right down to providing s'mores ingredients in the evening!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pete W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,217)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,135 - 1,141 of 1,217 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2012

I stayed at Basecamp on a company retreat and we couldn't have picked a better place. The hotel is walking distance to the best of what South Lake has to offer and rooms were well appointed with one of the most comfortable beds of any hotel I've ever stayed in. When it came to getting recommendations of what to do the staff was super knowledgeable and helped us figure out a killer mountain biking trail. They even went one step further and hooked us up with a discount at a local bike rental shop who got us all setup for the ride. Having a jacuzzi to relax in at the end of the day and breakfast ready in the morning was an extra bonus!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russell C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Staying at Basecamp hotel is alone worth the trip to South Lake Tahoe.

The rooms are beautiful and the attention to details throughout the whole hotel is amazing. Well done!
The staff is really helpful and nice, the location is great and the rooftop jacuzzi is a welcome bonus after a long day of activities. Be aware it closes at 10pm.

I will definitely come back to stay at Basecamp.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cathrine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

This is my second stay at Basecamp after staying shortly after their opening. I loved it the first time but it has got even better. The reception area has received some excellent finishing touches like a lamp made from an old ordnance survey telescope and an operating hot tub with views of the mountain.

However the best thing was the introduction of smokes at the firepit. This gave me a chance to mingle with some of the other guests and have a really fun evening.

The artwork is amazing and quirky too.

However the most impressive part was the staff who are completely versed in all the activities that south lake has to offer. They are super friendly and gave me a bespoke itinerary for my week long stay which included mountain biking, fly fishing and water skiing.

Quite simple this place is fantastic.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kobaiyoshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Basecamp was great, we got upgraded for free to the suite at the front of the building because they had run out of double rooms, it was huge and had a massive bath that I imagine would be really welcome during ski seasons. The place had everything you would want, and was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kreader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed here over Labor Day Weekend with another couple. We both stayed in separate rooms and were both impressed by how clean and comfortable the rooms are. This hotel is a stones throw away from Harveys. If you are going there to see a concert, then this is one of the best places to stay. They are litteraly a 1 minute walk to the outdoor arena.

Room is clean and comfortable. Bed super soft and plush. No A/C in any of the rooms but it is Tahoe so you don't normally need it. There are ceiling fans in each room and the hotel has standing fans you can borrow.

Staff is very friendly. Hot tub is upstairs above the checkin office. There are also a few places on 1st and 2nd floors with picnic tables and outdoor couches with firepits.

All in all a very nice stay and we will definitely be going back!!!

Room Tip: Some rooms have little outdoor balconies just big enough for a few people to sit down and relax on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JBrisgel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Great find in the South Lake Tahoe area. A hip little hotel with tons of charm. Cool decor, great staff and excellent location. You can sit by the fire pits at night and make smores and grab a drink from their small bar. Make sure you ask for a room with a deck so you can chill in the adirondack chairs. Rent one of their beach cruisers and explore the area. Their morning breakfast is delicious, strong coffee and yummy treats. Love this place, will definitely go back.

Room Tip: get a room with a deck, for sure. no ac, but the ceiling fan combined with leaving the slider open...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank servingyoursoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
1.8 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#13 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
238 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#8 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
918 reviews
1.5 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#11 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#6 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
521 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#9 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,109 reviews
1.3 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Basecamp South Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basecamp South Lake Tahoe

Address: 4143 Cedar Ave, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6952 (Formerly Basecamp Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#7 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#8 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range: $113 - $292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Basecamp South Lake Tahoe 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Basecamp South Lake Tahoe is a hotel built for exploring the incredible lakes, trails and mountains that the Lake Tahoe Basin has to offer. Basecamp combines the comforts of a great hotel with the sense of adventure and community found at a an expedition base camp. Basecamp is located in the heart of South Lake Tahoe, steps from the mountain and minutes walk from the lake. Become an instant local at Basecamp. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Basecamp South Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Block Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Block Hotel Lake Tahoe
Block Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing