We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect base for Tahoe adventures”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Basecamp South Lake Tahoe
Ranked #15 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect base for Tahoe adventures”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

A friend and I spent a recent summer weekend in South Lake. Just as the name suggests, Basecamp is the perfect spot for launching adventures. We went mountain biking, hiking and paddle boarding, all within a short distance from the hotel. The owner, Christian, was extremely attentive and helped us to find some sweet local spots. Our room didn't have a balcony, and we enjoyed hanging out on the common deck with other travelers. As for the hotel's design, the attention to detail was incredible - it was a real pleasure to see how much thought went into making this a welcoming spot for travelers with an adventurous spirit.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PalindromeSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,086 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    568
    291
    133
    63
    31
See reviews for
356
421
46
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eldorado Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

My sister and I spent one night here on our way to the North Shore for the Tahoe Rim Trail Race. It was the perfect place for us to rest and get some solid sleep a couple nights before the race and definitely lived up to its claim as a great place for adventure seekers—we only wish we had more time there.

We were warmly welcomed upon our arrival (even though it was nearly midnight, the owner was still up and greeting guests along with his staff) and crashed in our room which was clean, thoughtfully designed and decorated, and super comfortable. The hotel hired artist Wendy MacNaughton to create prints and original works throughout the rooms and common spaces — even the "Do No Disturb" sign featured one of her drawings (full disclosure: I was already a fan of Wendy and her work so these details were an easy win for me).

We enjoyed cool, fresh air on our little deck with bright green Adirondack chairs when we woke, and got to see more of the space when we ventured down for breakfast. The homemade granola, yogurt, fruit and good coffee (and free wifi!) we found waiting for us were exactly what we needed to fuel up before heading out. The deck and common spaces for eating are clean, casual and inviting, and like the rest of the place, very comfortable.

I can't say enough good things about Basecamp—as a gateway to an incredible adventure and a place I totally fell in love with, it felt like a home away from home.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sldistin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

This was truly the best hotel experience I have had. My wife and I stayed for two nights and had high expectations based on the press this hotel has been receiving. Here are the highlights:
1. Beautiful design both in the rooms and common areas. Unique, hip, cool but not over the top. The art in the rooms and in the bar is incredible and very original. The vibe is like no other hotel ive ever stayed at.
2. Beds and linens were unbelievable! We read some people had issues with the no AC, which I cant seem to understand. The temperature was around 60 degrees in the evening outside, so we just opened a window and turned on the fan. Slept like a rock. My wife loved the soap and shampoo stuff.
3. Staff (Christian and Robbie) were super friendly, young, and even had a smore with us by the firepit. fun experience having a beer, smores and hanging out with a few of the other guests.
4. Location: walking distance (like three blocks) from the lake, near the casinos (which we didn’t really hang out in much), and in the winter, will be about a couple minute walk to the heavenly gondola.

For the people looking for a ritz carlton, this isn’t your place. For those looking for a hotel with soul and attention to detail, bam, here it is. And the guests we met were cool, into hiking and mountain biking. We will most definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Pros:
New hotel, (renovated)
Close to bunch of activities.
Close to Stateline, Harrah's, Harvey's
2 queen beds are nice
Front desk people go out of the way to check on your activities and contacting the companies.
Private beach covered.
40% off on kayak, canoe etc
25% on lakeside grill
Continental breakfast
Campfire @ night
Surprisingly body wash soap was good, gingery.


Cons:
found some bugs in bed, told front desk, he said nothing.
Hair conditioner was not coming out of bottle, again front desk same reaction.
No pool
Very small hot tub.
No AC, but working fan.

Overall, still good.

Room Tip: Don't get room on the top floor, becomes very hot during summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TripsiloveTotake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

If you like great hospitality, a unique experience and meeting people then this is the place for you. The hotel feels like a cross between a boutique hotel and a hostel. Room was great, simple and clean but a little edgy. The worst case scenario handbook instead of a bible was pretty cool. Loved the commons area. A small on site bar with good beer and wine, tasty breakfast, and the ability to chat it up with travelers from all over. Can't wait to see more of these hotels in the future!

Room Tip: They have a variety of rooms and layouts. Pick one that suits you. We had 210 which was nice, but la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jcamis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento,CA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

This is an updated 1960's vintage motel. Nice rooms with a great theme. No microwaves, A/C, or elevators to the third level. All rooms overlook the parking lot.There is a great deal of light pollution.
Don't stay in a room near the fire pit which is attached to the office. Although this is a nice gathering area, management allows folks to party here well into the late night. I tried closing the window, but with the lack of A/C the room was very stuffy making sleep difficult at best. With the window open, the roar of the folks on the deck made sleep impossible. I figured they would close the area by 10:00 PM - boy was I wrong. I finally called the front desk at 11:45 PM and requested that they ask the folks on the deck to quiet down so we could sleep.
I do believe the next time I stay in South Lake Tahoe - It will not be at the Basecamp Hotel

Room Tip: Stay far away from the office/fire pit area if you want to be away from the lights and noise of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Consultant_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

It was a delight to be one of the first staying at this newly renovated motel. We enjoyed the very clean, pristine newness of everything!

There are so many unique details that make this motel special. We liked the silk screened canvas hanging by the beds and the original framed artwork on the walls. We LOVED the shower amenities of the pump bottles with separate shampoo, conditioner and body wash. Rather than the usual 3-ring binder that provides hotel information, they use a personalized clipboard with pages of information about restaurants and activities. A small cooler is provided as the ice “bucket” for the room and there is plenty of ice for all the guests.

The screened porch entrance and ceiling fan cooled the room nicely so we did not miss air conditioning during this unusually hot summer. Speaking of the porch, we lost track of time chatting on the private balcony while reclining in the Adirondack chairs. The beds were very comfortable and cozy and I don’t know why one review says the pillows were flat, because ours were not. The spa was very soothing after using the free beach pass to enjoy Lake Tahoe.

The s’mores are the best deal in town for dessert. For just $2.00 at the front desk, you get the roasting stick (must be returned, of course) and a bag containing ingredients for two s’mores. We chose to use the downstairs gas fire pit, but there is a second one upstairs near the spa.

The photos on the website do not do justice to the well designed/furnished lobby and eating area. The continental breakfast is given a “homey” feel by the use of ceramic dishware and real utensils. Choices included oatmeal, granola, bagels, blueberry bread (think BEST blueberry muffin in a loaf), coffee, orange juice, jams, peanut butter, cream cheese and yogurt. DELICIOUS!

Our only complaint is that we don’t have vacation coming soon enough to go back right away!

Room Tip: Request/upgrade to a balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Corgiegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
1.5 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#11 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,001 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
888 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#5 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#13 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
879 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,084 reviews
1.3 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Basecamp South Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basecamp South Lake Tahoe

Property: Basecamp South Lake Tahoe
Address: 4143 Cedar Ave, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6952 (Formerly Basecamp Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#7 On the Beach Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#8 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#12 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Basecamp South Lake Tahoe 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Basecamp South Lake Tahoe is a hotel built for exploring the incredible lakes, trails and mountains that the Lake Tahoe Basin has to offer. Basecamp combines the comforts of a great hotel with the sense of adventure and community found at a an expedition base camp. Basecamp is located in the heart of South Lake Tahoe, steps from the mountain and minutes walk from the lake. Become an instant local at Basecamp. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Basecamp South Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Block Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Block Hotel Lake Tahoe
Block Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing