We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A new favorite hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Basecamp South Lake Tahoe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Basecamp South Lake Tahoe to your Saves list
Basecamp South Lake Tahoe
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4143 Cedar Avenue, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150 (Formerly Basecamp Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 72 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
Kansas City
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A new favorite hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

If you like great hospitality, a unique experience and meeting people then this is the place for you. The hotel feels like a cross between a boutique hotel and a hostel. Room was great, simple and clean but a little edgy. The worst case scenario handbook instead of a bible was pretty cool. Loved the commons area. A small on site bar with good beer and wine, tasty breakfast, and the ability to chat it up with travelers from all over. Can't wait to see more of these hotels in the future!

Room Tip: They have a variety of rooms and layouts. Pick one that suits you. We had 210 which was nice, but la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jcamis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    144
    57
    20
    5
See reviews for
156
223
26
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento,CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

This is an updated 1960's vintage motel. Nice rooms with a great theme. No microwaves, A/C, or elevators to the third level. All rooms overlook the parking lot.There is a great deal of light pollution.
Don't stay in a room near the fire pit which is attached to the office. Although this is a nice gathering area, management allows folks to party here well into the late night. I tried closing the window, but with the lack of A/C the room was very stuffy making sleep difficult at best. With the window open, the roar of the folks on the deck made sleep impossible. I figured they would close the area by 10:00 PM - boy was I wrong. I finally called the front desk at 11:45 PM and requested that they ask the folks on the deck to quiet down so we could sleep.
I do believe the next time I stay in South Lake Tahoe - It will not be at the Basecamp Hotel

Room Tip: Stay far away from the office/fire pit area if you want to be away from the lights and noise of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Consultant_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

It was a delight to be one of the first staying at this newly renovated motel. We enjoyed the very clean, pristine newness of everything!

There are so many unique details that make this motel special. We liked the silk screened canvas hanging by the beds and the original framed artwork on the walls. We LOVED the shower amenities of the pump bottles with separate shampoo, conditioner and body wash. Rather than the usual 3-ring binder that provides hotel information, they use a personalized clipboard with pages of information about restaurants and activities. A small cooler is provided as the ice “bucket” for the room and there is plenty of ice for all the guests.

The screened porch entrance and ceiling fan cooled the room nicely so we did not miss air conditioning during this unusually hot summer. Speaking of the porch, we lost track of time chatting on the private balcony while reclining in the Adirondack chairs. The beds were very comfortable and cozy and I don’t know why one review says the pillows were flat, because ours were not. The spa was very soothing after using the free beach pass to enjoy Lake Tahoe.

The s’mores are the best deal in town for dessert. For just $2.00 at the front desk, you get the roasting stick (must be returned, of course) and a bag containing ingredients for two s’mores. We chose to use the downstairs gas fire pit, but there is a second one upstairs near the spa.

The photos on the website do not do justice to the well designed/furnished lobby and eating area. The continental breakfast is given a “homey” feel by the use of ceramic dishware and real utensils. Choices included oatmeal, granola, bagels, blueberry bread (think BEST blueberry muffin in a loaf), coffee, orange juice, jams, peanut butter, cream cheese and yogurt. DELICIOUS!

Our only complaint is that we don’t have vacation coming soon enough to go back right away!

Room Tip: Request/upgrade to a balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Corgiegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We bought the Living Social voucher for our first time to Tahoe and didn't really know what to expect when we arrived. Upon arriving, I was a little wary of the "motel" look of the hotel, but any misgivings I might have had were immediately gone after check-in. The lobby area is a great meeting area with a very modern, minimalistic feel about it -- the leather couches are ridiculously comfortable and the decor sets the mood perfectly for a woodsy adventure.

Our room smelled clean and we were pleasantly surprised to find that the bed was like sleeping on a cloud -- I am unable to sleep without a wall of pillows around me and the housekeeper brought me extra pillows as soon as I asked. Another reviewer negatively mentioned that there was no air conditioning, and while that was true, we found that it was perfectly fine to leave our balcony door open with the screen door and curtains shut and our room stayed pretty cool throughout our stay. The room was very large and had plenty of room -- there was free Wi-Fi (a real perk these days), which was absolutely necessary for me as I had to take a conference call for work in the morning. Our room had a partial view of the mountain and while it was unfortunate that there is construction across the street, we still felt like we were in serene surroundings.

On our first night, we came back to the hotel after exploring around town and were greeted by Robbie and Dan in the lobby. They immediately engaged us in conversation and offered us s'mores for the firepit outside and a few bottles of beer to make up for not having their bar installed yet (we weren't even expecting a bar, so we were stoked about the free beer!). Dan gave us some great suggestions for less tourist-y beaches and where we could find a good rum bar on the beach. While we were outside at the fire pit, we were able to chat with other hotel guests and Dan even came out to hang out for a bit when there was some downtime.

We were so impressed with the service and hotel amenities that we decided to stay an extra night on top of our two-night Living Social deal. We were fully expecting to pay full price for the extra night, but Christian, the manager, was kind enough to give us a 20% discount as a "Returning Guests" -- I think we may have been the quickest Return Guests that they'd ever seen!

The continental breakfast was quite tasty and Kelly makes a mean soy latte at the coffee bar. The entire staff of the Basecamp Hotel was delightful in every way possible, and we were so impressed from the beginning through the end of our stay by their continual commitment to providing outstanding service to all of their guests. There was some trouble with the hot tub while we were there, and Christian made sure to fix it so that we could use it and came up to check and make sure it was still working multiple times. It is people like this that truly make a vacation great -- thank you so much to Kelly, Christian, Dan and Robbie for the phenomenal stay!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ashley40207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

For those Tahoe travelers looking for a big hotel/spa experience, this is not the place for you. However, for those looking for a retro Tahoe motel experience, this place is perfect. The hosts, including Kelly and Christian, are friendly and helpful at all times. Our room was spotless and nicely updated, with a big comfortable bed. The continental breakfast was tasty and coffee drinks are great. Don't hesitate toa ask the staff for local knowledge, they have it and will share.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelQQQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

I went here for an unforgettable 4th of July girls getaway. This place was great. Full of thoughtful design details (and I'm picky). The staff were super friendly. They gave us good tips on where to eat in town and what beach to escape to. I say escape because every beach nearby was jam packed for the holiday. During the winter this would be the perfect place to come back to after hitting the slopes. The lobby is cozy and the showers are just how I like them. Hot and strong!

Room Tip: Hey they have bunk beds. If you are a kid or want to feel like one again then definitely go for thos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coulis007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Hill, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Just stayed at the Basecamp Hotel...and it was a great experience. Rooms are decorated with style. Everything is new and fresh-paint, carpet, bedding. The lobby is a fun place to hang out and enjoy their complimentary continental breakfast. The staff was friendly and helpful. Would definitely return on my next trip up to Tahoe!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
1.5 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#15 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 591 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#8 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 773 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#4 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#6 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 287 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#9 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 923 reviews
1.8 mi away
Inn by the Lake
Inn by the Lake
#17 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Basecamp South Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basecamp South Lake Tahoe

Property: Basecamp South Lake Tahoe
Address: 4143 Cedar Avenue, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150 (Formerly Basecamp Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#7 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#8 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#12 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Basecamp South Lake Tahoe 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Basecamp South Lake Tahoe is a hotel built for exploring the incredible lakes, trails and mountains that the Lake Tahoe Basin has to offer. Basecamp combines the comforts of a great hotel with the sense of adventure and community found at a an expedition base camp. Basecamp is located in the heart of South Lake Tahoe, steps from the mountain and minutes walk from the lake. Become an instant local at Basecamp. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Basecamp South Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Block Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Block Hotel Lake Tahoe
Block Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing