We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Making of a great base camp...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Camp Richardson Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in South Lake Tahoe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Camp Richardson Resort
Ranked #28 of 68 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Bay Area, CA
Level Contributor
118 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Making of a great base camp...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

Went in May. Not cold anymore and definitely not warm yet. Stayed in a cabin for two nights. I've camped there before and I didn't want to feel squished together with other campers. Camp sites werent open yet anyway.

I had a two bedroom, which would have been interesting with 4+ people. The main room had a full size bed. It had been a while since i've slept in a full. Its overflowing, not full. Pretty comfy though. THese cabins are very basic and that works for me. The view of the lake from the windows remind me why I didnt stay in a hotel. If you go during the off season youll save some $$.

That said, there wasn't a whole lot to do. Water was very cold and the weathe isnt warm enough to hang out on the beach. No snow. I should probably learn some trails.

I love Tahoe in summer. CR is a great spot for it.

When we got bored, we went to the typical places, casino's shops etc. Groceries were not far away.

Front desk folks are nice. Not much interaction otherwise.

I'm rambling. Had a good time. Peace!

Room Tip: closer to the water, the better. sunbeam was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    61
    25
    14
    23
See reviews for
77
38
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

I was looking for a cabin that was not too expensive for some solitude for a few days, actually had been looking for just this place on 2 different month long road trips. I finally found it at camp Richardson. I know it's a different story during high season but right now, it's perfect.

My cabin has a separate bedroom with a nice living/kitchen/dining area. And a view of Lake Tahoe just a short walk away. The cabin was spotless, full size fridge and stove/oven. And a little gas wood stove for heating. Sitting out at my picnic table the sweet smell of pines and the breeze swishing thru the trees, made this one of the most relaxing places I've been. Now it's time to take my chair down to the empty beach and sit in the sun. Perfect.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

We came up to Tahoe for an overnighter. Room was awesome, weather was great for this part of year, no one was around. Very Quiet for this area, the summers are packed as it should be. We stayed at the rooms near the water, very nice, pine trees and lake views from room. Rates very reasonable for off season. Next stay will be in one of the cabins for longer that one night. Thanks to staff for their courteous service!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank do_that_again
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
112 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

Our Family, Sr. mother and father, adult son and wife and 2 young children, and single adult son stayed in the two bedroom T-Bird Cabin. Great view of Lake Tahoe. Cabin was well furnished. It was warm in 30 degree weather. A gas fireplace added to the wintertime ambience The kitchen had all needed dishes and equipment. Hot water for showers.

Room Tip: The T-Bird cabin seems to be closest wintertime cabin to the Lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rpassmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Our family wanted a little getaway to celebrate two birthdays. We decided to spend a long weekend at Historic Camp Richardson cabins. We rented two cabins that faced beautiful Lake Tahoe. The cabins were ready when we arrived which made the grand children very happy. These cabins are rustic but very clean and equipped with everything you need to have a very enjoyable time. The two cabins we rented were Tbird and Willy's knight. These two cabins were close to each other which made it very easy for the ten of us to travel between cabins. You can check Richardson's website for room configurations. Our family had a amazing time making memories while enjoying the beautiful surroundings.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christitay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed there for two nights on Christmas Eve and Day. We had 7 people, so we rented one of the large cabins. It was awesome! It had a living room with a fireplace, kitchen with supplies, and two smaller rooms with beds. Overall, very clean, very warm, and a great experience.

Warning: Snow is big in the winter. Your driveway may be no more.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights and we had a blast. Octoberfest and the Salmon Festival was within walking distance. The staff there were friendly and informative. The campsites were very clean. The bathrooms when we first arrived were very clean but as the weekend went on they seemed to get more "campground bathroom" status. But was doable. We slept in our car because I was affraid of the bears, but we didn't see any or hear any. We kept all our stuff in the bear locker and didn't have any problems. Next time we will sleep in the tent. They have a fence around the campground, and even though that won't stop a hungry bear, it made me feel alittle better. We had site # 360 in the Badgers Den area. This sand #361 would be perfect for large group. You can fit 5 big tents easily. Only room for 1 car at each site.

Room Tip: We had site # 360 in the Badgers Den area. This sand #361 would be perfect for large group. You can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TarrFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
4.0 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#13 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
3.8 mi away
Inn by the Lake
Inn by the Lake
#16 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
4.2 mi away
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
#20 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Beachcomber Inn
Beachcomber Inn
#5 of 17 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
2.7 mi away
Matterhorn Motel
Matterhorn Motel
#29 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
2.0 mi away
Emerald Bay Lodge
Emerald Bay Lodge
#49 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
3.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camp Richardson Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camp Richardson Resort

Property: Camp Richardson Resort
Address: 1900 Jameson Beach Rd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic year-round resort secluded in old-growth forest on 125 acres adjacent to Lake Tahoe's longest stretch of sandy beach, features 26 hotel rooms, 7 motel rooms, 43 cabins (19 year-round), the 7-bedroom Richardson House, 100 RV sites and 200 tent campsites. Property amenities include a General Store & Cafe, the Beacon Bar & Grill lakeside restaurant, Mountain Sports Center (bicycling in summer, X-C skiing & snowshoeing in winter), as well as seasonal full-service Marina, Ice Cream Parlor and Coffee & Confectionery shop. Horseback riding is available 0.2 miles north. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Camp Richardson Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Camp Richardson Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing