We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What is camping to you?”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in South Lake Tahoe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Camp Richardson Resort
Ranked #28 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Rohnert Park, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“What is camping to you?”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

I have been camping at Camp Richardson for over 40 years and I have to tell you it gets worse and worse each year. Camp Richardson does live up to the rules it has posted when you drive in.
Years back camping meant a peaceful time in the forest. Now it is a zoo. Quiet hours are posted and ten o'clock p.m. is when the campground should quiet down. Well, that is just when the party is starting. The music is so loud and it is like this generation does not get that you go there to enjoy yourself, but they make it miserable for so many families with children. They overbook the campground so that you are standing in line to use the bathrooms. The new bathrooms on the Eagles Nest side are not great. The showers are terrible. Very little water comes out. I love the resort as a whole, but the management is poor for the campgrounds. People come in with their dogs and they give them a slap on the wrist instead of kicking the owners out of the campground.
It's posted "absolutely no dogs" and yet they do nothing about it. I feel it is all about the money.
So disappointed with the management of this place. Another thing I don't like is when I stayed in the hotel they allow people to bring their dogs and sleep in the rooms. I have a dog and I never bring him into a hotel room. I questioned the management about this and I told them dogs can leave ticks in the room. I find this absolutely disgusting. Too much partying going on in these campgrounds and they need to put their foot down and stop it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    65
    26
    15
    24
See reviews for
82
41
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Redding, California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

This hotel is quaint which I usually appreciate but the experience was not my best. The lack of air conditioning on one of the hottest weeks of the year could be part of my dissastifaction however, the noise on from traffic takes away the feeling of being at a camp. When we asked for ice we were told they could not find the key. These were just a few of the items that made this trip less than ideal.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gnomite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these South Lake Tahoe hotels

San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

This review is for the Resort & campground.

The Good:
1. You can't beat the location - right on the lake or half a mile out if you're on the far side of the campground.
2. A coffee shop, ice cream parlor AND general store here - yay
3. Great bear containers - use them
4. Great bathrooms if you use the new one at Eagle's Nest (there are 2 at least - one old, one new)
5. Safe - had no worries about letting my kids run amuck - even the main road that runs through the property is pretty safe because there's a crosswalk and folks are really great about stopping for everyone to cross the street
6. Staff seemed great - never had a problem with them

The not-so-good:
1. Plumbing - seems to be an issue here - there are no sinks to wash your dishes in - you have to use a hose on the ground by the bathrooms. Plus, after 4 attempts to get shower tokens, I finally got a few, took a shower (very nice showers i must say in the New facilities at Eagle's Nest) but they have some sort of water-saving plan I'm guessing because you get one minute of hot water and one minute of cold - for the entire 15 minute shower! Weird. Luckily - the older shower/bath facilities in Eagle's Nest did not have that 'problem' - but the facilities were much poorer. Plus - the only place to get water is near the bathrooms there - no other spickets spotted.
2. Other people: seems to me, campgrounds should start placing you according to your level of camping experience. Rookies nearby at any campground can really affect you when camping (see #3)
3. Bears! I almost didn't book here because of the bears - they totally have them. Plus, I asked for a site furthest from the road which means we would be closer to the bear territory AND the group sites (see #2 above). We had zero problems until the nearby rookies moved in on Night 3 and decided there was one cooler they didn't need to put into the bear container and thus, the yelling, screaming and bear patrol arrived. With people screaming at bears in the middle of the night when a simple clang-clang-clang of some pots & pans will do - its hard to sleep and unnerving as these nice folks basically panic, making it all sound much worse than it is. When I asked the kind young man what it was the bear was doing every night for two nights in a row to warrant such swearing, panic, and car horns, he replied "nothing" - " just standing there". Granted, this is an issue at any resort in Tahoe most likely as you can't control who your neighbors are when camping so my 4 stars versus 5 is really due to the plumbing not the bears.

Overall, I would stay here again but not in a tent. Although am not sure that there hotel or cabin prices are worth the extra money just for the location but I didn't go in them so can't really review those. Either way - have fun & please respect the 10p quiet hour folks!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SFBayMommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburg, CA
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Went camping with the family at Camp Richardson in Tahoe. The family loved this campground! It’s so close to so many amenities! You could drive to one of many nearby restaurants or even the casinos! No need to cook at your campsite, which is good because the bears do come by and visit every so often. We had (2) cubs and a Mama bear visit the campgrounds twice while we were there.
Camp Richardson has a café, general store, ice cream parlor and deli! This is the lazy family’s campground! You can’t even call it camping anymore with all these nearby amenities, LOL.
Some sites are small and you don’t get a lot of privacy, this is truly a “Tent City” campsite, but it beats paying $100+ for a hotel room and you get to roast S’mores at night!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joel1316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

My son left his new windbreaker in the General Store. We had already driven half way back to San Fran for our flight home. The manager of the store took my name and address, and walked the jacket and information over to the lost and found and we have received it safe and sound back in NC. We are grateful for the excellent customer service.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LSHTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

This review is for the Camp Richardson RV park. If you like camping in the dirt (there is NO grass here, all night parties with no oversight or rules enforcement, bugs in the showers (literally climbing up the walls in the stalls), sloped sites (almost every one), traffic noise, crowds-crowds-crowds of drunk people then this is the place for you. We will not stay here again. If you are young and into partying, this place will give you a spot to hoot and howl all night with no manager bothering you to stop. There was even a drunk guy getting sick all over the already disgusting bathroom early one morning. A poorly maintained, poorly managed party paradise if you're into that sort of thing, we are not. Beware if you have kids too as there is a lot of lewd behavior going on around the campground/RV park.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Koobeeny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny Bournemouth
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Im sorry but this place simply doesn't care about its clientele unless they ate spending money at their very good, Beacon Grill or at the Marina.

The RV park for our family was the worst we visited on our tour of California. It is a dust bowl with poor facilities, no washing/ cleaning( Laundry) which on this park is essential as there is so much dust and dirt. It gets everywhere.

Camp Richardson is such a good spot, but poorly managed and maintained. The Management probably don't need to work at improvements as the location and excellent beachfront team make up for the poor camping & RV experience. It could be so much smarter, more family orientated rather than just big groups squeezing as many tents on their pitches as they can and they could charge more as a result. Take heed CR team.

A great location and beachfront set up, undermined by poor management, poor park facilities and over- loading of numbers.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SkidudeDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
4.0 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#12 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
933 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#15 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
856 reviews
4.2 mi away
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
#18 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Emerald Bay Lodge
Emerald Bay Lodge
#49 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
34 reviews
3.5 mi away
Beachcomber Inn
Beachcomber Inn
#5 of 17 in South Lake Tahoe
12 reviews
2.8 mi away
Motel 6 South Lake Tahoe
Motel 6 South Lake Tahoe
#52 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camp Richardson Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camp Richardson Resort

Property: Camp Richardson Resort
Address: 1900 Jameson Beach Rd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Hotel Class:3 star — Camp Richardson Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic year-round resort secluded in old-growth forest on 125 acres adjacent to Lake Tahoe's longest stretch of sandy beach, features 26 hotel rooms, 7 motel rooms, 43 cabins (19 year-round), the 7-bedroom Richardson House, 100 RV sites and 200 tent campsites. Property amenities include a General Store & Cafe, the Beacon Bar & Grill lakeside restaurant, Mountain Sports Center (bicycling in summer, X-C skiing & snowshoeing in winter), as well as seasonal full-service Marina, Ice Cream Parlor and Coffee & Confectionery shop. Horseback riding is available 0.2 miles north. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Camp Richardson Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Camp Richardson Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing