We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here - even for one night”
Review of Blue Jay Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blue Jay Lodge
Ranked #47 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Don't stay here - even for one night”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

I figured that this place would be a little rough based on the reviews, and I was okay with that for a one night stop-over. However this place was by far the worst place I've ever stayed (and I've stayed in some interesting motels!). The room entrance was kind of in the back alley, and it didn't feel like the safest area. Once inside the room, all we could do was laugh. Very old, musty, and filthy. Glad it was only for a night! Please spend a couple more bucks and stay somewhere else - you'll be thankful you did.

Room Tip: No good rooms that I know of.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Angie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    56
    55
    25
    28
See reviews for
44
62
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

The Lodge is well positioned for skiing gondola to Heavenly as well as Bars etc for nightlife. Clean and warm and plenty of hot water. We received a good welcome and Ande was very helpful with our booking. Breakfast ok and overall a good stay at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard195418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlingame, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

AWFUL...JUST AWFUL!!!


- They had just repainted one wall pale blue for some reason (the other walls were white), and the paint fumes were SO strong. I think it shortened our lifespans by a few years breathing it in overnight. When our friends who were staying in the room for another additional night (so sorry guys) complained about it the next day, they didn't give them any type of refund, but gave them a candle.
- The heater was broken when we arrived. Someone had to come and fix it.
- The phone was broken. No dial tone.
- Both the lamps weren't working. The switches were broken off or wouldn't turn. The only light was from one ceiling bulb, so the room was very dim.
- The beds were old and hard, with 1 thin fleece blanket, 1 sheet, and 1 rough, thin quilt.
- Old, small boxy tv.
- The carpet was really thick and old and musty, and just gave me the creeps. And there was a lot of it as far as your eye could see, because the room was really spacious, with no furniture.
- Everything (tacky curtains, small tiny table - the only piece of furniture in the room besides the TV shelf) looked dirty.
- Popcorn ceiling.
- The bathroom had a small shower with a flimsy curtain, plastic countertop, tiles.
- Hot water took a while to start working each time the faucet was turned on.
- We did not want to try their continental breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Renfril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these South Lake Tahoe hotels

Provo, Utah
1 review
Reviewed January 15, 2014

This place was a great location for accessing the surrounding Lake Tahoe area. We liked the rooms, but the free continental breakfast was not satisfying. It was not very nutritious and the milk was probably almond milk.

Also, one day the housekeeping came, and we were in the room and they said they would come back, but they didn't.

Overall, it was a cozy place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MKP813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

Ok where to begin. We booked the hotel through Hotwire, the pricing was probably too good to be true for a 2 star and I have learned my lesson in that and I won't be believing the hotwire ratings or their link on customer satisfaction to trip advisor.

We booked for 2 adults and a child, should have bed. A room with two queen beds but there was only one, but that was the least if the problem.

The room was very poor, there was one towel between three of us, the pillows were grimy, the room smelled of damp a stale smell.

I went to reception to complain but they seemed to have had this issue before and the sign said under new ownership, so I checked out without spending the night and paid again to stay at the holiday inn.

My advice to anyone is steer clear unless you have no other budget and no other option to get a different place.

I have been measure in my review and always try to review fairly but I do feel that travellers should be aware.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waikoloa, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We had a very enjoyable stay at the BJL. We had two rooms which connected and the accommodations were just fine. The bathrooms were clean, everything worked - the location was great - walking distance to the clubs, the lake (which had a playground for our three year old) and restaurants. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the continental breakfast was fine. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joannsmiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Booked this online with Expedia, a spur of the moment trip we decided to take on the Veteran's Day weekend. Was the cheapest, and after our arrival we understood why. Is an older lodge type facility, obviously family-run. Very friendly desk personnel, even gave us a greater discount than advertised as we had to wait a little bit to check in(they had some computer issues). Very dingy accommodations, wrinkled sheets, curtains, etc. Clean, to a point...the carpets were ancient, and the furnishings were from the 60s or 70s. For $27 a night, I really wasn't expecting much. Had a nice functioning mini fridge and microwave in the room. Had some safety issues in that the outlet under the headboard was missing the outlet cover (had to use it to plug in something as outlets were sparse). The breakfast was sad, only cereal and donuts, and no staff in the area.

If I were to return to the area I would stay elsewhere, and there are TONS of places to chose from (it was our first, but not last trip to Lake Tahoe).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank collinsml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.2 mi away
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
#27 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
216 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
#33 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
257 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Choice Inn South Lake Tahoe
Best Choice Inn South Lake Tahoe
#46 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Alpine Inn & Spa
Alpine Inn & Spa
#35 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
133 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ambassador Motor Lodge
Ambassador Motor Lodge
#57 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
93 reviews
0.1 mi away
Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe
Big Pines Mountain House of Taho...
#22 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Jay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Jay Lodge

Property: Blue Jay Lodge
Address: 4133 Cedar Ave, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6952
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Blue Jay Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Blue Jay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Jay Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Blue Jay Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing